TUM Emeritus of Excellence Franz Mayinger with Edmund Stoiber.

For his excellent scientific research Prof. Dr. Dr. E.h. mult. Franz Mayinger received several awards. In 2001 he was awarded the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science by the then Bavarian Prime Minister Edmund Stoiber (Image: Bayerische Staatskanzlei).

In memoriam
IN MEMORIAM: TUM Emeritus of Excellence Franz Mayinger
“I had a lot of freedom in my research“
07. Jun 2019
Reading time Min.
At TUM, Franz Mayinger received the education to become a specialist for Thermofluid Dynamics. As a highly esteemed expert for reactor design and safety, among other things, he was active in industry, research and as the chairman of the Federal Major Accidents Commission. He passed away in June 2021 at the age of 90.
“Actually, I wanted to become a physicist”, he said. “In my opinion, however, this profession was connected with teaching at grammar schools, which I did not like very much, and the possibilities of today’s Physics studies were unknown to me.” So he decided to study Mechanical Engineering at TUM, which was not too far away from his hometown Augsburg. In 1955 he completed his studies here. In 1961 a doctorate at the Chair of Thermodynamics followed.

Pragmatic schedule

Franz Mayinger’s career as one of the most distinguished minds in German engineering was already apparent during his studies and doctoral studies. While still a student, he was involved in a turbine construction project at TUM. In his professor’s office as a doctoral student he was chosen for a management position at MAN in Nuremberg. Even though his scientific career picked up speed quickly, he had planned neither his research focus nor his subsequent career. “My career was a chain of coincidences”, he said. “The only thing I had planned from the very beginning was to change my place of residence every seven to ten years.” Because the young researcher was dreading ay potential routine. When, at the end of the sixties, he was appointed to the newly created Chair of Process Engineering at the University of Hanover, he accepted it without further ado – because after seven years, it was time for a change of location anyway.

A passion for his profession

Franz Mayinger’s decision in favour of the university was initially due to his pragmatic plan for a rotational change of location, but this changed rapidly. He realised that, in contrast to working in the industry, he could now not only finally do what he wanted, but also that his academic responsibilities led him back to his great passion: Physics. As soon as laser technology was introduced, Franz Mayinger used it and developed his own optical measuring methods.

TUM offered me great freedom in my research.

Franz Mayinger

Due to his achievements in Hanover, Franz Mayinger was literally courted by companies and universities alike, but rejected all offers. He did however accept the call from Munich to his return to his alma mater in 1981. “This offer had a certain appeal,” he smiled. “I liked the fact that the apprentice would be able to return to his old workshop.” For eighteen years until his retirement in 1999, Franz Mayinger headed the Chair of Thermodynamics at TUM. “I had great freedom in my research”, he recalled.

With an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and great enthusiasm, Franz Mayinger conducted research at TUM in the fields of Thermofluid Dynamics, Combustion Technology, material properties and heat transfer phenomena, particularly in connection with multi-phase flows as they occur in reactors and process engineering apparatuses. Together with his team, he consistently expanded the Chair of Thermodynamics and quickly gained international renown.

Highest standards for nuclear reactor safety

In addition to his research, Franz Mayinger was also active in many committees, for example as a member of the Reactor Safety Commission at the Federal Ministry of the Interior for more than two decades and later at the Federal Ministry for the Environment. In 1983, 1984 and 1990, he also chaired the committee. Furthermore, from 1992 to 1995 he was Chairman of the Major Accidents Commission of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

Together with his doctoral supervisor, TUM professor and Thermodynamics pioneer Ernst Schmidt, and TUM professor Ulrich Grigull, Franz Mayinger was one of the only three German researchers to receive the renowned Max Jakob Memorial Award. In 1991, he received the coveted award for his pioneering achievements in the field of holographic interferometry and multiphase flow, as well as for his visionary leadership in establishing the highest safety standards for nuclear reactor safety. “I just wanted to do my job with curiosity”, he said modestly. “I have to admit that I have never seen my work as a profession, but as a hobby.”

Portrait of TUM Emeritus of Excellence Franz Mayinger.

Franz Mayinger (Image: Astrid Eckert, Andreas Heddergott/TUM).

Prof. Dr. Franz Mayinger

Degree Mechanical Engineering 1955, Doctorate 1961

 

From 1951 to 1955 Franz Mayinger studied Mechanical Engineering at TUM and then conducted research for a further six years at the Institute of Thermodynamics. In 1961 he completed his doctorate. From 1962 to 1969 he was Chief Engineer and Head of the Research Department for Nuclear and Process Engineering at MAN Nuremberg. From 1969 to 1981 he was Professor and Director of the Institute for Process Engineering at the University of Hanover. In 1981 he followed the call to return to his alma mater. For eighteen years until his retirement in 1999, he headed the Chair of Thermodynamics at TUM.

In 1989 Franz Mayinger created the Bavarian Research Association for Systems Engineering, in which research institutes and industrial companies cooperate closely. From 1995 to 1999 he was Founding Dean of the Faculty of Applied Natural Sciences at the University of Bayreuth, where he subsequently became Chairman of the University Council.

From 1998 to 2002 he was appointed the first Academic Director of the Bayerische EliteAkademie, which he initiated himself. Franz Mayinger was a member and Chairman of the Reactor Safety Commission, then Chairman of the Federal Ministry’s Major Accidents Commission. In addition to advising on reactor safety issues, he was involved in science policy consulting: he was a member of the Science Council and of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Board of the Bavarian State Government.

Franz Mayinger has received several awards for his excellent scientific research and his multifaceted commitment. In 1990 he was awarded the German Federal Cross of Merit 1st Class, the coveted Max Jakob Memorial Award, the Bavarian Order of Merit, the Bavarian Environmental Prize, and the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art. Franz Mayinger held an honorary doctorate from the University of Hanover and an honorary doctorate from the University of Bayreuth, where he was also an honorary senator. He was a member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences, the German Academy of Engineering Sciences (acatech) and the European Academy of Sciences and Art.

Franz Mayinger lived in Munich with his wife. He had three children, his youngest son has also studied Mechanical Engineering at TUM.

Professor Dr. Franz Mayinger was appointed TUM Emeritus of Excellence by TUM president Prof. Dr. Wolfgang A. Herrmann in 2007.

He passed away in June 2021 at the age of 90.

TUM Emeritus of Excellence Franz Mayinger mit Edmund Stoiber.

Für seine exzellente wissenschaftliche Forschung wurde Prof. Dr. Dr. E.h. mult. Franz Mayinger mehrfach ausgezeichnet. 2001 erhielt er vom damaligen bayerischen Ministerpräsidenten Edmund Stoiber den Bayerischen Maximiliansorden für Wissenschaft (Bild: Bayerische Staatskanzlei).

Alumni forschen
IN MEMORIAM: TUM Emeritus of Excellence Franz Mayinger
“Ich hatte große Freiheit in meiner Forschung“
07. Jun 2019
Lesezeit ca. Min.
An der TUM wurde Franz Mayinger zum Spezialisten für Thermofluiddynamik ausgebildet. Als hoch geschätzter Experte unter anderem für Reaktorgestaltung und -sicherheit war er in Industrie, Forschung sowie als Vorsitzender der Störfallkommission des Bundes tätig. Im Juni 2021 ist er im Alter von 90 Jahren verstorben.
Als Abiturient hätte sich Prof. Dr. Franz Mayinger nicht träumen lassen, dass er fast zeitlebens als Hochschulprofessor in der Forschung und Lehre tätig sein würde. „Eigentlich wollte ich Physiker werden“, sagt er. „Dieses Berufsbild war aber damals in meinen Augen mit dem von mir wenig geliebten Lehramt an Gymnasien verbunden und die Möglichkeiten des heutigen Physikstudiums waren mir unbekannt.“ So entschied er sich für das Studium des Maschinenwesens an der von seiner Heimatstadt Augsburg nicht allzu weit entfernten TUM. 1955 schloss er hier sein Studium ab, 1961 folgte die Promotion am Lehrstuhl für Thermodynamik.

Pragmatischer Zeitplan

Schon während des Studiums und der Promotionszeit zeichnete sich die Karriere von Franz Mayinger als einem der profiliertesten Köpfe des deutschen Ingenieurwesens ab. Noch als Student wirkte er bei einem Turbinenbau an der TUM mit. Als Doktorand wurde er im Büro seines Professors für einen Führungsposten bei MAN in Nürnberg besetzt. Auch wenn seine Wissenschaftskarriere schnell Fahrt aufnahm, geplant hatte er weder seine Forschungsschwerpunkte noch seine anschließenden beruflichen Stationen. „Meine Laufbahn war eine Kette von Zufällen“, konstatierte er. „Das Einzige, was ich mir von Anfang an vorgenommen hatte, war, alle sieben bis zehn Jahre den Wohnort zu wechseln.“ Denn drohende Routine war nichts für den jungen Forscher. Als er dann Ende der sechziger Jahre einen Ruf an den neu geschaffenen Lehrstuhl für Verfahrenstechnik der Universität Hannover erhielt, nahm er diesen kurzerhand an – nach sieben Jahren war die Zeit schließlich ohnehin reif für einen Ortswechsel.

Beruf aus Leidenschaft

War Franz Mayingers Entscheidung für die Hochschule zunächst seinem pragmatischen Plan eines turnusmäßigen Ortswechsels geschuldet, änderte sich dies rasch. Er erkannte, dass er nun im Gegensatz zur Industrie nicht nur endlich machen konnte, was er wollte, sondern dass seine akademischen Aufgabenfelder ihn zu seiner großen Leidenschaft, der Physik, zurückführten. Kaum wurde damals die Lastertechnik eingeführt, setzte sie Franz Mayinger schon ein und entwickelte eigene optische Messverfahren.

An der TUM hatte ich die große Freiheit in meiner Forschung.

Franz Mayinger

Aufgrund seiner Leistungen in Hannover wurde Franz Mayinger von Unternehmen und Universitäten regelrecht umworben, lehnte aber alle Angebote ab. Doch den Ruf aus München an seine Alma Mater nahm er 1981 an. „Dieses Angebot hatte einen gewissen Reiz“, schmunzelte er. „Dass der Lehrling in seine alte Werkstatt zurückkehren konnte, gefiel mir.“ Achtzehn Jahre lang bis zu seiner Emeritierung 1999 leitete Franz Mayinger den Lehrstuhl für Thermodynamik der TUM. „Ich hatte die große Freiheit in meiner Forschung“, erinnerte er sich.

Mit unstillbarem Wissensdurst und großer Begeisterung forschte Franz Mayinger an der TUM auf den Gebieten der Thermofluiddynamik, der Verbrennungstechnik, der Stoffwerte und Wärmeübertragungsphänomene vor allem im Zusammenhang mit mehrphasigen Strömungen, wie sie in Reaktoren und verfahrenstechnischen Apparaten vorkommen. Mit seinem Team baute er den Lehrstuhl für Thermodynamik konsequent aus und erlangte schnell internationales Renommee.

Höchste Standards für die Nuklearreaktorsicherheit

Neben seiner Forschungstätigkeit war Franz Mayinger auch in vielen Gremien aktiv, so über zwei Jahrzehnte als Mitglied der Reaktor-Sicherheitskommission beim Bundesminister des Inneren und später beim Bundesminister für Umwelt. In den Jahren 1983, 1984 und 1990 hatte er dabei auch den Vorsitz inne. Darüber hinaus war er von 1992 bis 1995 Vorsitzender der Störfallkommission des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit.

Mit seinem Doktorvater, TUM-Professor und Thermodynamik-Pionier Ernst Schmidt, und TUM-Professor Ulrich Grigull zählte Franz Mayinger zu den einzigen drei deutschen Forschern, die mit dem renommierten Max Jakob Memorial Award ausgezeichnet wurden. 1991 erhielt er die begehrte Auszeichnung für seine Pionierleistungen auf dem Gebiet der holografischen Interferometrie und des Mehrphasenflusses sowie für seine visionäre Führungsrolle bei der Etablierung höchster Sicherheitsstandards für die Nuklearreaktorsicherheit. „Ich habe ja nur mit Neugierde meiner Arbeit nachgehen wollen“, sagte er bescheiden. „Ich muss offen gestehen, ich habe meine Arbeit nie als Beruf gesehen, sondern als Hobby.“

Porträtbild von TUM Emeritus of Excellence Franz Mayinger.

Franz Mayinger (Bild: Astrid Eckert, Andreas Heddergott/TUM).

Prof. Dr. Franz Mayinger

Diplom Maschinenwesen 1955, Promotion 1961

 

Von 1951 bis 1955 studierte Franz Mayinger an der TUM Maschinenbau und forschte daraufhin für weitere sechs Jahre am Institut für Thermodynamik. 1961 schloss er seine Promotion ab.

Von 1962 bis 1969 war er Oberingenieur und Leiter der Forschungsabteilung für Kern- und Verfahrenstechnik der MAN Nürnberg, von 1969 bis 1981 war er Professor und Direktor des Instituts für Verfahrenstechnik der Universität Hannover. 1981 folgte er dem Ruf an seine Alma Mater. Achtzehn Jahre lang leitete er bis zu seiner Emeritierung im Jahr 1999 den Lehrstuhl für Thermodynamik der TUM.

1989 rief Franz Mayinger den Bayerischen Forschungsverbund Systemtechnik ins Leben, in dem Forschungsinstitute und Industrieunternehmen eng kooperieren. Von 1995 bis 1999 war er Gründungsdekan der Fakultät für Angewandte Naturwissenschaften der Universität Bayreuth und übernahm dort im Anschluss den Vorsitz des Hochschulrates.

In den Jahren von 1998 bis 2002 wurde er zum ersten Akademischen Leiter der Bayerischen EliteAkademie bestellt, die er selbst initialisiert hatte. Franz Mayinger war Mitglied und Vorsitzender der Reaktor-Sicherheitskommission, dann Vorsitzender der Störfallkommission des Bundesministeriums. Neben der Beratung zu Fragen der Reaktorsicherheit engagierte er sich in der wissenschaftspolitischen Beratung: Er war Mitglied des Wissenschaftsrates und Mitglied des Wissenschaftlich-Technischen Beirates der Bayerischen Staatsregierung.

Für seine exzellente wissenschaftliche Forschung und sein vielseitiges Engagement wurde Franz Mayinger mehrfach ausgezeichnet. So erhielt er unter anderem 1990 das Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse, den begehrten Max Jakob Memorial Award, den Bayerischen Verdienstorden, den Bayerischen Umweltpreis, den Bayerischen Maximiliansorden für Wissenschaft und Kunst. Franz Mayinger hielt die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Hannover und die Ehrendoktorwürde sowie die Ehrensenatorwürde der Universität Bayreuth. Er war unter anderem Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Deutschen Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech) und der European Academy of Sciences and Art.

Franz Mayinger lebte mit seiner Frau in München. Er hat drei Kinder, sein jüngster Sohn studierte ebenfalls Maschinenbau an der TUM.

Professor Dr. Franz Mayinger wurde 2007 von TUM-Präsident Prof. Dr. Wolfgang A. Herrmann in den Kreis der TUM Emeriti of Excellence aufgenommen.

Im Juni 2021 ist er im Alter von 90 Jahren verstorben.