Ehepaar Peither

Barbara and Thomas Peither srated off the IKOM career forum 30 years ago with their fellow students. Today they run a successful specialized publishing house for the pharmaceutical industry and have three children together (Photo: Private).

Social commitment

IKOM founders Barbara and Thomas Peither

“We were a fun bunch”

11. Apr 2019
Reading time Min.
It’s 30 years since a bold group of dedicated students called to life the firsts IKOM careers fair. TUM Alumnus Thomas Peither and his now wife Barbara were there at the beginning.
The initiative to organize a career fair came from a group of company representatives who wanted to implement their own concept. They had already done this with students in Aachen and Darmstadt – because without students they couldn’t get a foot in the door of the university. “But we wanted to make our own rules and in particular give local companies a chance,” Thomas Peither recalls (degree in Mechanical Engineering, 1990). “It was 1988. We were a fun bunch of students from the Mechanical Engineering faculty who were working to complete their studies and looking for perspectives for the future.” Many of them still know one another and meet today – his wife Barbara Peither, née Rothkopf (degree in Mechanical Engineering, 1990), was also involved in the organization.

26 EXHIBITORS AT THE FIRST IKOM

And so, a dozen or so student representatives got to work themselves. The organizers of that time are still networked well today, including Ursula Feulner, Brigitte Zipper, Hubert Aunkofer, Thorsten Schlicht, Markus Wächter, Peter Weber, Thomas Lang (all with degrees in Mechanical Engineering) and Christian Jarosch (degree in Architecture). They organized a location and booth builders, recruited companies, wrote invoices, took care of advertising, designed the logo, which is still recognizable today, and organized accompanying lecture series.

IKOM 1989

The title page of the catalog of the first IKOM from July 5, 1989 (picture: private).

With 26 exhibitors, Thomas Peither was able to open the 1st IKOM in 1989. “I had a dull feeling in my stomach when I was asked to speak the opening words”. The event in the foyer and on the 1st floor of the northern site on Theresienstrasse, where IKOM was held at the time, was a complete success right from the outset. Getting a look at the practical side of things was interesting and attracted hundreds of students. “More than anything else, I really liked the energy and imagination that the idea of this trade fair released in everyone,” says co-initiator and TUM Alumna Brigitte Zipper. “With a lot of effort, some personal contacts and a great deal of diligence, we put together a great trade fair. That made me personally very proud and happy”.

A VARIETY OF EXPERIENCES AT TUM

What advice would Thomas Peither give today’s students? “Don’t take yourself so seriously. Professional and private satisfaction is only possible in the right environment. Anyone who is grateful for their environment and help others to develop will rarely have to worry about their future. I am thankful that I was able to have a lot of extra-curricular experiences at TUM. That probably influenced my life just as much as lectures did”. After completing their studies, Barbara and Thomas Peither worked in different industrial companies before they set up a publisher together in 1999. Today it publishes the standard reference works for the pharmaceutical industry.

Today, 30 years later, around 100 TUM volunteer students organize four career fairs and other free events each year to promote personal contact between students, Alumni and companies. In addition to the large career fair, which takes place every June in the building of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering on the Garching campus, TUM also holds its own smaller fairs for jobs in the fields of construction and life sciences. Since last year, the students have also been awarding the IKOM Award to companies that have lived up to their corporate responsibility as future employers. First prize winner 2018: TUM Alumnus Andreas Duschl (degree in Electrical Engineering and IT, 2001) and his family business.

Barbara und Thomas Peither

Barbara und Thomas Peither (Foto: Privat).

Barbara and Thomas Peither

Both with a degree in Mechanical Engineering, 1990

 

Barbara Peither studied Mechanical Engineering at TUM from 1984 to 1990, specializing in Aerospace. Her first job after completing her studies was at the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering in Stuttgart. Her work focused on designing the organization of development projects in various medium-sized companies like Loewe and Fendt. After two and a half years, she switched to production planning at Vaillant – gas appliance manufacturer in Remscheid – working on interesting company-wide projects. After the birth of the couple’s first daughter and their move to Basel, she took on freelance projects in the area of quality assurance.

Thomas Peither studied Mechanical Engineering at the TUM from 1984 to 1990 with a focus on Manufacturing and Operating Technology. From 1990 to 1993 he worked for the company Stihl in Waiblingen in the area of assembly development, managing a project that introduced the continuous improvement process there in line with Kaizen ideas. In 1994 he joined a small management consultancy in Düsseldorf and worked his way into the field of quality assurance in the pharmaceutical industry (GMP = Good Manufacturing Practice). The topic has always stayed with him. Working on countless industrial projects, he developed to become a a GMP expert and initially went freelance in 1998.

In 1999, Barbara and Thomas Peither, founded the publishing company “Maas & Peither GMP-Verlag” together with Anita Maas in the Basel pharmaceutical region. Due to the early digitalization of many processes and products, which was driven by the two engineers, the publishing house today generates two thirds of its turnover with digital products. This year, the globally operating publishing house celebrates its 20th anniversary and employs more than 20 people. Barbara and Thomas Peither have three children.

Ehepaar Peither

Barbara und Thomas Peither haben vor 30 Jahren mit anderen Kommilitoninnen und Kommilitonen das Karriereforum IKOM ins Leben gerufen. Heute führen Sie einen erfolgreichen Fachverlag für die Pharmaindustrie und haben drei gemeinsame Kinder (Foto: Privat).

Gesellschaftliches Engagement

IKOM-Gründer Barbara und Thomas Peither

„Wir waren eine vergnügte Truppe“

11. Apr 2019
Lesezeit ca. Min.
30 Jahre ist es jetzt her, dass eine mutige Gruppe engagierter Studierender das erste IKOM Karriereforum ins Leben rief. Die TUM Alumni Thomas Peither und seine heutige Frau Barbara waren dabei.
Die Initiative, ein Karriereforum zu organisieren, wurde durch eine Gruppe von Firmenvertretern angestoßen, die ein eigenes Konzept umsetzen wollte. Dies hatten sie schon in Aachen und Darmstadt mit Studierenden realisiert – denn ohne Studierende bekam man keinen Fuß in die Tür der Universität. „Wir wollten aber lieber unsere eigenen Regeln machen und insbesondere lokalen Unternehmen eine Chance geben“, erinnert sich Thomas Peither (Diplom Maschinenwesen 1990). „Es war 1988. Wir waren eine vergnügte Truppe von Studierenden der Fachschaft Maschinenbau, die dem Ende des Studiums zustrebten und Perspektiven suchten“. Viele davon kennen und treffen sich heute noch – seine Frau Barbara Peither, geb. Rothkopf (Diplom Maschinenwesen 1990), war auch bei der Organisation dabei.

26 AUSSTELLER AUF DER ERSTEN IKOM

Und so packten rund ein Dutzend Fachschaftler selbst an. Die Organisatoren von damals sind heute immer noch gut vernetzt, darunter Ursula Feulner, Brigitte Zipper, Hubert Aunkofer, Thorsten Schlicht, Markus Wächter, Peter Weber, Thomas Lang (alle Diplom Maschinenwesen) und Christian Jarosch (Diplom Architektur). Sie organisierten Räume und Messebauer, warben Firmen an, schrieben Rechnungen, kümmerten sich um die Werbung, gestalteten das heute noch wiederzuerkennende Logo und organisierten begleitende Vortragsreihen.

IKOM 1989

Das Titelblatt des Katalogs der ersten IKOM vom 5. Juli 1989 (Foto: Privat).

Mit 26 Ausstellern konnte Thomas Peither die erste IKOM 1989 eröffnen: „Ich hatte schon ein flaues Gefühl im Magen, als ich die Eröffnungsworte sprechen sollte.“ Die Veranstaltung im Foyer und ersten Stock des Nordbaus an der Theresienstraße, wo die IKOM damals stattfand, war sofort ein voller Erfolg. Der Blick in die Praxis war interessant und zog Hunderte von Studierenden an. „Ich war vor allem davon begeistert, welche Energie und Phantasie die Idee dieses Karriereforums bei allen freigesetzt hat“, sagt Mit-Initiatorin und TUM Alumna Brigitte Zipper. „Wir haben mit viel Einsatz, einigen persönlichen Kontakten und viel Fleiß eine super Messe auf die Beine gestellt. Das hat mich persönlich sehr stolz und glücklich gemacht.“

VIELFÄLTIGE ERFAHRUNGEN AN DER TUM

Was würde Thomas Peither den Studierenden von heute mitgeben? „Sich selbst nicht so ernst nehmen. Berufliche und private Zufriedenheit ist nur in einem entsprechenden Umfeld möglich. Wer dankbar für dieses Umfeld ist und anderen dabei hilft sich zu entwickeln, wird sich über seine Zukunft seltener Gedanken machen müssen. Ich bin dankbar, dass ich an der TUM vielfältige Erfahrungen außerhalb des Lehrbetriebs sammeln durfte. Diese haben mein Leben wahrscheinlich ähnlich beeinflusst wie viele Vorlesungen.“ Nach ihrem Studium haben Barbara und Thomas Peither in verschiedenen Industrieunternehmen gearbeitet, bevor sie 1999 gemeinsam einen Verlag gründeten, der heute das Standard-Nachschlagewerk der Pharmaindustrie veröffentlicht.

Die IKOM übrigens ist nach den ersten vielversprechenden Anfängen mit dem Ehepaar Peither und den anderen Gründern eine richtige Erfolgsgeschichte geworden. Heute ist sie mit rund 100 (ehrenamtlichen!) TUM-Studierenden Münchens größte studentische Initiative und organisiert mit jährlich über 300 Unternehmen und rund 15.000 Besuchern das größte studentische Karriereforum Deutschlands. Ihr Ziel ist es wie von Beginn an immer noch, den Kontakt zwischen Studierenden, Alumni und Unternehmen zu fördern.

Neben der großen IKOM, die jeden Juni im Gebäude der Fakultät Maschinenwesen am Campus Garching stattfindet, werden auch kleinere Karriereforen für Jobs aus den Bereichen Bau, Consulting und Life Sciences durchgeführt. Seit letztem Jahr vergeben die Studierenden außerdem den IKOM Award an Unternehmen, welche sich durch gelebte unternehmerische Verantwortung als Zukunftsarbeitgeber auszeichnen. Einer der ersten Preisträger war 2018 ein TUM Alumnus: Andreas Duschl (Diplom Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik 2001) mit seinem Familienunternehmen.

Barbara und Thomas Peither

Barbara und Thomas Peither (Foto: Privat).

Barbara und Thomas Peither

Beide Diplom Maschinenwesen 1990

 

Barbara Peither studierte von 1984 bis 1990 an der TUM Maschinenbau mit Fachrichtung Luft- und Raumfahrt. Die erste Stelle nach dem Studium war am Fraunhofer-Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation in Stuttgart. Die Gestaltung der Projektorganisation von Entwicklungsprojekten in unterschiedlichsten mittelständischen Betrieben wie Loewe oder Fendt war ihr Arbeitsschwerpunkt. Nach zweieinhalb Jahren wechselte sie in die Fertigungsplanung bei Vaillant – Gasgerätehersteller in Remscheid, und arbeitete in interessanten unternehmensweiten Projekten. Nach der Geburt der ersten Tochter und den Umzug in die Nähe von Basel übernahm sie freiberufliche Projekte im Bereich der Qualitätssicherung.

Thomas Peither studierte von 1984 bis 1990 Maschinenbau mit Schwerpunkt Fertigungs- und Betriebstechnik an der TUM. Von 1990 bis 1993 war er bei der Firma Stihl in Waiblingen im Bereich der Montageentwicklung tätig und leitete unter anderem das Projekt zur Einführung des Kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozesses nach Kaizen-Ideen. 1994 begann er bei einer kleinen Unternehmensberatung in Düsseldorf und arbeitete sich in das Themenfeld der Qualitätssicherung in der Pharmaindustrie (GMP = Good Manufacturing Practice) ein. Das Thema ließ ihn nicht mehr los. In unzähligen Industrieprojekten entwickelte er sich um GMP-Experten und machte sich zunächst 1998 freiberuflich selbständig.

1999 gründeten Barbara und Thomas Peither zusammen mit Anita Maas den Maas & Peither GMP-Verlag in der Pharmaregion Basel. Durch die frühe Digitalisierung von vielen Prozessen und Produkten, die durch die beiden Ingenieure vorangetrieben wurde, macht der Verlag heute zwei Drittel des Umsatzes mit digitalen Produkten. Dieses Jahr feiert der global tätige Verlag sein 20-jähriges Bestehen und beschäftigt über 20 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Barbara und Thomas Peither haben drei gemeinsame Kinder.