Portrait photo of TUM alumna Samantha Cristoforetti.

TUM alumna Samantha Cristoforetti will begin her second mission on the ISS in April 2022 (Picture: ESA).

Alumni in Space
Training for the Most Challenging Workplace in the Universe
How astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti is preparing for her mission on the ISS.
21. Apr 2022
Reading time Min.
Her workplace is six hours away from Earth by rocket. It is 1,200 cubic meters in size, about the size of a small factory hall, and orbits the Earth once every 94 minutes. Here, unprecedented experiments are conducted under extreme conditions in zero gravity, thus advancing the knowledge of science bit by bit. In the spring of 2022, TUM Alumna and astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti will once again embark on a mission to the International Space Station (ISS).
To prepare for her mission on the ISS, Samantha Cristoforetti has to undergo two and a half years of rigorous training, simulating the various challenges that space has to offer on Earth. Therefore, in the past months, she has been training in a spacesuit and in space vehicles, but also underwater.

Spacewalks can for example be simulated at the bottom of the ocean and tool prototypes can be tested; in addition, the crew members also have to train how to survive in the water, in case they land in the ocean when returning back to Earth. This is grueling work, involving training missions around the globe, and is as much a part of an astronaut’s daily routine as the actual mission aboard the space station.

FROM DREAM TO REALITY

Ever since she was a child, Samantha Cristoforetti wanted to be an astronaut. Her room was full of posters of planets and Milky Ways. She was an avid reader of science fiction novels and non-fiction books about space. With her first flight to the ISS in 2014, she made her dream come true and at the same time set the first record for the longest uninterrupted space flight by a European astronaut.

To achieve her dream, Samantha Cristoforetti has worked hard for many years. She began her education by studying Mechanical Engineering at TUM and after graduating joined the Italian Air Force. Here, she became one of the first women to train as a fighter pilot. Although she was still in the challenging training at the Air Force Academy, Samantha Cristoforetti did not hesitate at all when the European Space Agency (ESA) announced a recruitment program for aspiring astronauts. The tough application process took more than a year and required a lot of patience, perseverance and assertiveness on her part.

The anticipation for my second trip is huge. The first time was emotionally overwhelming. Now I can witness everything more calmly and thus hopefully remember it better.

Samantha Cristoforetti

THE TOUGH ROAD TO BECOMING AN ASTRONAUT

In 2009 Samantha Cristoforetti, and 5 other Europeans, prevailed over more than 8400 competitors and were selected for the European Astronaut Corps. As soon as she had completed the basic training at the European Astronaut Centre in Cologne, she was suggested as a flight engineer on Mission Futura for the 42nd long-term crew of ISS.

She prepared for her first space mission for five years. She learned to fly the Soyuz spacecraft, familiarized herself with the space station systems, robotic control and extravehicular missions. After a two-week quarantine, she finally embarked on her flight to the international space laboratory from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan – as the first Italian woman in space.

OFF TO SPACE AGAIN

Eight years later, the second mission is now on the horizon: In spring 2022, Samantha Cristoforetti will travel to the International Space Station again. She will launch from Florida, USA, as a member of the so-called Crew-4 aboard a SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft, heading for the ISS. “The anticipation for my second trip is huge. The first time was emotionally overwhelming. Now I can witness everything more calmly and thus hopefully remember it better,” says Samantha Cristoforetti.

And there is something else that has changed: Samantha Cristoforetti is now a mother of two. While her one-year-old son doesn’t yet realize that his mother has a very exciting job, her daughter is proud: “She thinks it’s cool that her mom will soon be flying into space again.”

Despite the risks that always come with such a flight, Samantha Cristoforetti is not afraid. “I am familiar with the environment. I’m trained for this and I know what I have to do. Planes, spaceships and space are where I am comfortable.” She is looking forward to her new mission with excitement, “ISS is a highly specialized laboratory. Here, we do research that would not be possible on Earth because of gravity. In this way, we are contributing directly to getting important innovations off the ground. That’s incredibly motivating for me.”

Portrait image of TUM alumna Samantha Cristoforetti.

Picture: ESA/A. Conigli.

Samantha Cristoforetti

Diplom Aerospace Engineering 2001

 

From 1996 until 2001 Samantha Cristoforetti studied Mechanical Engineering with specializations in Aerospace Propulsion and Lightweight Structures at TUM. Through the European Union’s ERASMUS Program she also studied at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace in Toulouse and at the Mendeleev University of Chemical Technologies in Moscow. She completed a second degree in Aeronautical Sciences at the University of Naples Federico II in 2005. Between the years of 2001 and 2005 she received pilot training at the Italian Air Force Academy Pozzuoli and subsequently worked for the Italian Air Force until 2009. In 2006 she was trained as a fighter pilot at the Sheppard Air Force Base. In 2009 she was recruited for the European Space Agency’s (ESA) astronaut corps, in 2014 her first space mission as a flight engineer on the ISS Expedition 42 and 43 followed.

Samantha Cristoforetti holds the Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic. She is fluent in five languages and now – in addition to her native tongue Italian, German, English, French and Russian, learns Chinese as her sixth language. In her limited free time she is passionate about diving, yoga and caving. Samantha Cristoforetti is an avid reader of science-fiction and is writing an online-log. As @astrosamantha she has thousands of followers on twitter. Whenever she is not traveling for work, Samantha lives with her partner Lionel and their two children near the ESA Astronaut Center in Cologne, Germany.

Porträtfoto von TUM Alumna Samantha Cristoforetti.

TUM Alumna Samantha Cristoforetti tritt im April 2022 ihre zweite Mission auf der ISS an (Bild: ESA).

Alumni im Weltraum
Training für den anspruchsvollsten Arbeitsplatz im Universum
Wie sich Astronautin Samantha Cristoforetti auf ihre Mission auf der ISS vorbereitet
21. Apr 2022
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Ihr Arbeitsplatz ist sechs Raketenflug-Stunden von der Erde entfernt, mit 1.200 Kubikmetern etwa so groß wie eine kleine Werkhalle und umkreist in rund 94 Minuten einmal die Erde. Hier werden unter Extrembedingungen noch nie dagewesene Experimente in der Schwerelosigkeit durchgeführt und die Wissenschaft damit Stück für Stück in ihren Erkenntnissen vorangebracht. TUM Alumna und Astronautin Samantha Cristoforetti wird im Frühling 2022 erneut eine Mission auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS antreten.
Um sich auf ihren Einsatz auf der ISS vorzubereiten, muss Samantha Cristoforetti ein zweieinhalb Jahre langes, intensives Training absolvieren und die unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen, die das Weltall zu bieten hat, auf der Erde simulieren. Daher hat sie in den vergangenen Monaten im Raumanzug und in Weltraumfahrzeugen, aber auch unter Wasser trainiert.

Auf dem Meeresgrund lassen sich zum Beispiel Weltraumspaziergänge simulieren und Werkzeug-Prototypen testen; darüber hinaus müssen die Crew-Mitglieder aber auch üben, im Wasser zu überleben, sollten Sie bei der Rückkehr auf die Erde im Ozean landen. Das ist knallharte Arbeit, mit Trainingseinsätzen rund um den Globus verbunden und gehört ebenso zum Alltag einer Astronautin wie die tatsächliche Mission auf der Raumstation.

VOM TRAUM ZUR REALITÄT

Seit ihrer Kindheit wollte Samantha Cristoforetti Astronautin werden. Ihr Zimmer war mit Postern von Planeten und Milchstraßen tapeziert. Begeistert las sie Science-Fiction-Romane und Sachbücher rund um das Thema Weltraum. Mit ihrem ersten Flug zur ISS verwirklichte sie sich 2014 einen Traum und stellte zugleich den Rekord für den zu dieser Zeit längsten ununterbrochenen Weltraumflug europäischer Astronauten auf.

Für ihren Traum hat Samantha Cristoforetti viele Jahre hart gearbeitet. Ihre Ausbildung begann sie mit einem Maschinenbaustudium an der TUM und ging nach ihrem Diplom zur italienischen Luftwaffe. Dort wurde sie als eine der ersten Frauen zur Kampfpilotin ausgebildet. Obwohl sie noch in der anspruchsvollen Ausbildung der Luftwaffenakademie steckte, zögerte Samantha Cristoforetti keinen Augenblick, als die Europäische Raumfahrtbehörde ESA ein Auswahlverfahren für Nachwuchsastronauten bekannt gab. Über ein Jahr dauerte der harte Bewerbungsprozess, der ihr viel Geduld, Durchhaltevermögen und Durchsetzungskraft abverlangte.

Die Vorfreude auf meinen zweiten Aufenthalt ist riesig. Das erste Mal war emotional überwältigend. Jetzt kann ich alles ruhiger beobachten und damit hoffentlich auch besser in Erinnerung behalten.

Samantha Cristoforetti

DER HARTE WEG ZUR ASTRONAUTIN

Schließlich konnte sich Samantha Cristoforetti gegen mehr als 8.400 Bewerber durchsetzen und wurde 2009 mit fünf anderen Europäern für das Europäische Astronautenkorps ausgewählt. Kaum hatte sie ihre Grundausbildung am Europäischen Astronautenzentrum in Köln absolviert, wurde sie für die Mission Futura als Bordingenieurin für die 42. Langzeitbesatzung der ISS vorgeschlagen.

Damals dauerte die Vorbereitung fünf Jahre. Sie lernte die Sojus-Raumfahrzeuge fliegen, arbeitete sich in die Raumstationssysteme, die Robotersteuerung und die Außenbordeinsätze ein. Nach einer zweiwöchigen Quarantäne startete sie schließlich vom Kosmodrom Baikonur in Kasachstan aus ihren Flug zum internationalen Weltraumlabor – als erste Italienerin im All.

NUN GEHT ES WIEDER INS ALL

Acht Jahre später steht nun die zweite Mission an: Im Frühjahr 2022 wird Samantha Cristoforetti erneut zur Internationalen Raumstation reisen. Sie wird als Mitglied der sogenannten Crew-4 an Bord eines SpaceX-Crew-Dragon-Raumschiffs von Florida, USA, aus in Richtung ISS starten. „Die Vorfreude auf meinen zweiten Aufenthalt ist riesig. Das erste Mal war emotional überwältigend. Jetzt kann ich alles ruhiger beobachten und damit hoffentlich auch besser in Erinnerung behalten“, sagt Samantha Cristoforetti.

Und noch etwas Entscheidendes hat sich geändert: Mittlerweile ist Samantha Cristoforetti zweifache Mutter. Während ihr einjähriger Sohn noch nicht viel von dem aufregenden Job seiner Mama mitbekommt, ist ihre Tochter stolz: „Sie findet es cool, dass ihre Mama bald wieder ins Weltall fliegt.“

Trotz der Risiken, die immer mit einem solchen Flug einhergehen, hat Samantha Cristoforetti keine Angst. „Das Milieu ist mir vertraut. Ich bin dazu ausgebildet und weiß, was ich zu tun habe. Ich fühle mich einfach wohl in Flugzeugen, Raumschiffen und im Weltraum.“ Ihrer neuen Mission blickt sie voller Spannung entgegen: „Die ISS ist ein hochspezialisiertes Labor. Wir führen hier Forschung durch, die auf der Erde aufgrund der Schwerkraft nicht möglich wäre. Damit helfen wir direkt dabei mit, wichtige Innovationen auf den Weg zu bringen. Das ist für mich unheimlich motivierend.“

Porträtbild von TUM Alumna Samantha Cristoforetti.

Bild: ESA/A. Conigli.

Samantha Cristoforetti

Diplom Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik 2001

 

Von 1996 bis 2001 studierte Samantha Cristoforetti Maschinenbau mit Schwerpunkt Antriebe und Leichtbaustrukturen in der Luft- und Raumfahrt-Antrieb an der TUM. Im Rahmen des ERASMUS-Förderprogramms der Europäischen Union studierte sie auch an der Ecole Nationale Supérieure de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace in Toulouse und an der Mendeleev Universität für Chemische Technik in Moskau. Ihr Zweitstudium der Luftfahrtwissenschaften schloss sie 2005 an der Universität Neapel Federico II ab. In den Jahren von 2001 bis 2005 wurde sie an der Luftwaffenakademie Pozzuoli zur Pilotin der italienischen Luftwaffe ausgebildet, in deren Dienst sie bis 2009 stand. 2006 machte sie eine Ausbildung zur Kampfpilotin an der Sheppard Air Force Base. 2009 wurde sie für das Astronautenkorps der European Space Agency (ESA) rekrutiert, 2014 folgte ihre erste Weltraummission als Bordingenieurin der ISS-Expeditionen 42 und 43.

Samantha Cristoforetti ist Trägerin des Verdienstordens der Italienischen Republik. Sie spricht fünf Sprachen fließend, lernt neben ihrer Muttersprache Italienisch und Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Russisch nun auch Chinesisch als sechste Sprache. In ihrer knappen Freizeit begeistert sie sich für Tauchen, Yoga und Höhlenforschung. Samantha Cristoforetti ist leidenschaftliche Leserin von Science-Fiction Roman, schreibt für ihre Fans ein Internet-Logbuch und hält als @astrosamantha Tausende von Followern auf twitter auf dem Laufenden. Wenn sie mal nicht beruflich verreist, lebt Samantha mit ihrem Partner Lionel und ihren beiden Kindern in der Nähe des ESA-Astronautenzentrums in Köln, Deutschland.