TUM alumnus Javier Enciso with his daughter, Mariana Enciso.

As it happens, TUM alumnus Javier Enciso wanted to embark on doctoral study immediately after his Master’s. He still intends to pursue it – but is no longer in a hurry. Enciso feels that being a husband, a father of three daughters, and the founder of three companies is quite enough for now. The photo shows him with his daughter, Mariana, with whom he builds small robots in his spare time (Image: Private).

Alumni start-ups
Computer scientist Javier Enciso
“I’ve made my dreams a reality”
10. Jun 2022  |  
Reading time Min.
From Colombia to Shanghai to TUM and back: TUM alumnus and entrepreneur Javier Enciso has achieved things many people only dream of doing. He is now applying his expertise in space observation, gained through experience in many countries, in his home country.
Even as a child, Javier Enciso was captivated by computer-generated images. He programmed the first landscapes of his own when he was still a young man. It became clear to him early on that he would go on to study informatics. Enciso completed his Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science in his homeland at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. For his Master’s degree, however, he had his sights set on an elite university in Germany. “I opted for the Computational Science and Engineering course at TUM,” says Enciso. “It combines applied mathematics with informatics and engineering sciences in a unique way. Plus, the program is taught in English. It was exactly the right choice for me.”

NO BRIDGE TOO FAR

In order to meet the admission conditions for the course, Javier Enciso moved to Shanghai, a major technology hub. Working as a software test engineer for a local company, he strove to develop his expertise in relation to computer-assisted problem solving. He soon made a name for himself in the industry and provided software services for some of the largest semiconductor and PC manufacturers in the USA. Yet, when tech giant Google came knocking in an attempt to recruit him for a software development role in Washington, Javier Enciso declined. After all, he had just one goal in mind: studying at TUM.

My mentor at TUM gave me valuable advice about reconciling work, academia and my private life.

Javier Enciso

Javier Enciso’s strategy paid off. During the application process for TUM, he was able to impress with his practical experience and was accepted onto the course. This meant it was time to up sticks once again. And so Enciso, along with his wife, fellow computer scientist Alejandra Rojas, moved to Munich with a DAAD scholarship to support them. Javier Enciso approached his studies with genuine drive and enthusiasm.

He furthered his academic specialisms, especially with regard to advanced simulations. Even today, Enciso raves about the professors under whom he studied. He holds Prof. Thomas Huckle and Prof. Philipp Scherer in particularly high regard. To him, the two professors are exceptional examples of expertise, cooperation and kindness. Javier Enciso also had the opportunity to benefit from the advice of TUM alumna Dr. Janja Avbelj (who received her doctorate in Surveying in 2015) in a series of one-to-one conversations facilitated by the TUM Mentoring program. “My mentor taught me how important it is to prioritize,” he recalls. “She gave me valuable advice on reconciling work, academia and my private life.” From the very beginning, studying at TUM was exactly as Javier Enciso had imagined – and precisely what he had strategically worked towards. In fact, there was only one thing he had not counted on: the fact that his time at TUM would define the course of his future career.

SERENDIPITY

In the second year of his studies, Javier Enciso became aware of a position at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) through the TUM Job Portal. He applied for the job as a web content assistant – and got it. “Before studying at TUM, I had no idea what the ESO was,” he says. “My new employer turned out to be the world’s most productive astronomical observatory, based practically over the road from the university campus in Garching.”

With its telescopes and advanced instruments, the ESO has everything needed to perform cutting-edge astronomical research. Its discoveries are published on various websites in the form of high-resolution images, videos and simulations. Javier Enciso was entrusted with preparing these images – and still is, to this day.

TUM alumnus Javier Enciso with his wife.

Image: Enciso Systems/G. Hidalgo.

Together with his wife, Alejandra Rojas, TUM alumnus Javier Enciso has founded three IT companies. In their most recent venture, Enciso Systems, they publish the discoveries of space telescopes like Hubble and James Webb via their websites.
DIGITAL ASTRONOMICAL CONTENT

In 2010, Javier Enciso completed his Master’s degree at TUM and returned to his hometown of Villavicencio in Colombia. In the years that followed, his remit for the ESO continued to grow. As Enciso’s reputation began to spread, he soon found himself responsible for the websites of multinational technology companies and research institutes in Colombia, China, Germany and the USA. He was no longer able to handle the enormous workload on his own. And so, in 2020, Javier Enciso and his wife founded a company specializing in IT and communications services to allow them to meet the burgeoning demand.

Ever since, the two computer scientists have developed and operated websites for the most advanced astronomical observatories on the planet. They currently head up the web support teams and software modernization efforts behind organizations including ESA/Webb, ESA/Hubble, ESO and the Harvard & Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. “What I’m doing today is a direct consequence of my studies at TUM,” says Enciso. “Ever since I was a child, I’ve wanted to program and work with computers. I’ve made my dreams a reality, even though they seemed unattainable to begin with.”

TUM alumnus Javier Enciso.

Javier Enciso (Image: Enciso Systems/G. Hidalgo).

Javier Enciso

Master’s in Computational Science and Engineering, 2010

 

Von Colombia. In 2010, he received his Master’s in Computational Science and Engineering from TUM. He has been working for the European Southern Observatory in web content and development since 2009. Javier Enciso is a lecturer in Software Project Management and Software Engineering at the Universidad de los Llanos, situated in the Meta department of Colombia. Together with his wife, Enciso has founded three IT companies. The couple and their three young daughters live in Villavicencio, Colombia.

TUM Alumnus Javier Enciso mit seiner Tochter Mariana Enciso.

Eigentlich wollte TUM Alumnus Javier Enciso gleich nach dem Master promovieren. Die Idee hat er immer noch – nur hat er keine Eile mehr. Er findet, dass es vorerst genug ist, Ehemann, Vater dreier Töchter und Gründer von drei Unternehmen zu sein. Das Bild zeigt ihn mit seiner Tochter Mariana, mit der er in seiner Freizeit kleine Roboter baut (Bild: Privat).

Alumni gründen
Informatiker Javier Enciso
Ich habe meine Träume verwirklicht“
10. Jun 2022  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Von Kolumbien nach Shanghai an die TUM und zurück: TUM Alumnus Javier Enciso hat geschafft, wovon viele träumen. Seine international gewonnene Expertise für Weltraumbeobachtung bringt er heute in seinem Heimatland ein.
Schon als Kind war Javier Enciso von computergenerierten Bildern begeistert. Als Jugendlicher programmierte er erste eigene Landschaften. Dass er Informatik studieren würde, war deshalb für ihn früh klar. In seinem Heimatland Kolumbien absolvierte er den Bachelor in Computer Science an der Universidad Nacional de Colombia. Seinen Master wollte er an einer Spitzenuniversität in Deutschland machen. „Ich entschied mich für den Studiengang Computational Science and Engineering an der TUM“, sagt Javier Enciso. „Dabei wird die angewandte Mathematik mit der Informatik und den Ingenieurwissenschaften auf einzigartige Weise verbunden. Zudem ist die Unterrichtssprache Englisch. Das war genau das richtige für mich.“

KEIN WEG ZU WEIT

Um die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für das Studium erfüllen zu können, zog Javier Enciso eigens an den Technologiestandort Shanghai. Als Software Test Engineer für ein lokales Unternehmen wollte er gezielt sein Wissen in Sachen computergestützter Problemlösung ausbauen. Rasch machte er sich einen Namen in der Branche und stellte für die größten US-amerikanischen Halbleiter- und PC-Hersteller Softwaredienste bereit. Als ihn der Technologiegigant Google für die Softwareentwicklung in Washington abwerben wollte, lehnte Javier Enciso ab. Er hatte nur ein Ziel vor Augen: An der TUM zu studieren.

Meine Mentorin an der TUM gab mir wertvolle Ratschläge zur Vereinbarkeit von Beruf, Wissenschaft und Privatleben.

Javier Enciso

Javier Encisos Strategie ging auf. Im Bewerbungsprozess an der TUM konnte er durch seine praktischen Erfahrungen punkten und wurde zum Studium zugelassen. Nun stand für ihn der nächste Umzug an. Samt Ehefrau, der Informatikerin Alejandra Rojas, und mit einem DAAD-Stipendium ging es nach München. Voller Tatendrang nahm Javier Enciso sein Studium auf.

Fachlich konnte er sich vor allem im Bereich der Hochleistungssimulationen weiterentwickeln. Noch heute schwärmt er von seinen Professoren. Vor allem Prof. Dr. Thomas Huckle und Prof. Dr. Philipp Scherer zollt er große Anerkennung. Beide Professoren stellten für ihn herausragende Beispiele für Kompetenz, Zusammenarbeit und Freundlichkeit dar. Schließlich nahm Javier Enciso auch die Möglichkeit wahr, sich im TUM Mentoring Programm von der erfahrenen TUM Alumna Dr. Janja Avbelj (Promotion Vermessungswesen 2015) in persönlichen Gesprächen beraten zu lassen. „Von meiner Mentorin lernte ich, wie wichtig es ist, zu priorisieren“, erinnert er sich. „Sie gab mir wertvolle Ratschläge zur Vereinbarkeit von Beruf, Wissenschaft und Privatleben.“ Für Javier Enciso war das Studium an der TUM von Anfang an genau das, was er sich vorgestellt und worauf er strategisch hingearbeitet hatte. Nur mit einem hatte er nicht gerechnet; dass ihm hier die Weichen für seinen gesamten weiteren Lebensweg gestellt werden sollten.

GLÜCKLICHER ZUFALL

In seinem zweiten Studienjahr wurde Javier Enciso durch das Jobportal der TUM auf ein Stellenangebot der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) aufmerksam. Er bewarb sich als Web Content Assistent – und bekam den Job. „Vor meinem Studium an der TUM hatte ich keine Ahnung, was die ESO ist“, sagt er. „Mein neuer Arbeitgeber stellte sich als das produktivste astronomische Observatorium der Welt heraus mit Hauptsitz praktischerweise genau gegenüber des Uni-Campus in Garching.“

Mit ihren Teleskopen und Hochleistungsinstrumenten schafft die ESO die Voraussetzungen für astronomische Spitzenforschung. Die Entdeckungen, die hierbei gemacht werden, werden in Form von hochauflösenden Bildern, Videos und Simulationen über verschiedene Webseiten öffentlich präsentiert. Mit diesem Themengebiet war fortan Javier Enciso betraut – und ist es bis heute.

TUM Alumnus Javier Enciso mit seiner Ehefrau.

(Bild: Enciso Systems/G. Hidalgo)

Gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau Alejandra Rojas gründete TUM Alumnus Javier Enciso drei IT-Unternehmen. Mit ihrer jüngsten Firma Enciso Systems veröffentlichen sie die Entdeckungen von Weltraumteleskopen wie Hubble und James-Webb über ihre Webseiten.
DIGITALE ASTRONOMISCHE INHALTE

2010 schloss Javier Enciso seinen Master an der TUM ab und kehrte in seine Heimatstadt Villavicencio in Kolumbien zurück. In den folgenden Jahren nahmen seine Aufgabengebiete für die ESO stetig zu. Sein guter Ruf eilte ihm voraus und schon bald war er für Webseiten multinationaler Technologieunternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Kolumbien, China, Deutschland und den USA zuständig. Alleine war der enorme Arbeitsaufwand nicht mehr zu stemmen. Und so gründete Javier Enciso gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau im Jahr 2020 ein Unternehmen für Informationstechnologie- und Kommunikationsdienstleistungen, mit dem sie die große Nachfrage bedienen konnten.

Mit ihrer Firma entwickeln und betreiben die beiden Informatiker seither Webseiten für die fortschrittlichsten astronomischen Observatorien der Welt. Derzeit leiten sie unter anderem die Web-Support-Teams sowie die Modernisierung der Software hinter Organisationen wie ESA/Webb, ESA/Hubble, ESO und dem Harvard & Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. „Was ich heute mache, ist eine direkte Folge meines Studiums an der TUM“, sagt Javier Enciso. „Seit meiner Kindheit wollte ich mit Computern arbeiten und programmieren. Ich habe meine Träume verwirklicht, auch wenn sie anfangs unerreichbar schienen.“

TUM Alumnus Javier Enciso.

Javier Enciso (Bild: Enciso Systems/G. Hidalgo).

Javier Enciso

Master Computational Science and Engineering 2010

 

Von 2000 bis 2004 absolvierte Javier Enciso seinen Bachelor in Computer Science an der Universidad Nacional de Colombia. 2010 erhielt er an der TUM den Master in Computational Science and Engineering. Seit 2009 arbeitet er für die Europäische Südsternwarte im Bereich Web Content und Web Developing. An der Universidad de los Llanos im Departamento del Meta in Kolumbien ist Javier Enciso Dozent für Software Project Management und Software Engineering. Gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau gründete er drei IT-Unternehmen. Mit seiner Frau und seinen drei kleinen Töchtern lebt er in Villavicencio in Kolumbien.