TUM Alumni Freia Jung-Klein with autumn leaves.

TUM Alumni Freia Jung-Klein fights with persistence and self-confidence for the protection of the nature. The local politician of the Greens refuses to be silenced or to stop asking uncomfortable questions (Image: Private).

Social commitment
Environmentalist Freia Jung-Klein
“I remain true to my convictions”
29. Oct 2018
Reading time Min.
Instead of doing research in academia or for large corporations, the agricultural scientist with a doctorate and TUM Alumna Freia Jung-Klein enters politics. Her faith and meditation provide her with the necessary strength to unwaveringly fight for the environment.
As a pupil Freia Jung-Klein already pestered her father, a farmer, with questions on soil fertility and alternative value added products. Her dad, initially puzzled, follows his 17-year-old daughter’s suggestions and uses his own farm’s manure instead of expensively bought mineral fertiliser, reduces his dairy livestock and opts for a meadow orchard instead of selling the land at a profit. “In no time my ideas had turned the farm inside out”, Freia Jung-Klein says today. For her A-Levels Freia Jung-Klein is doing a final project on mineral constituents of the soil in her home-village.

Doctorate at TUM

It is so professional and well-grounded that Freia Jung-Klein wants to “understand it better herself first” and thus decides to study Agricultural Sciences at TUM in Weihenstephan. In 1984 she graduates with a diploma degree from the Department of Plant Production with a thesis on the detection of herbicides in soils and waters and manages to develop the topic, which she is ‘totally hooked on’, into a dissertation at the Chair of Botany.

With her ecotoxicological findings Jung-Klein had entered previously unchartered territory in agricultural research and thus gained a postdoc position at the renowned University of California. There, manufacturer Monsanto’s ears are deaf to her scientific studies on glyphosate, which were already alarming back then. “Unfortunately Monsanto has not taken any appropriate action whatsoever in response to my findings, which means my entire scientific work was in vain.”

I have grown spiritually and in my humanity, instead of professionally.

Dr. Freia Jung-Klein

Freia Jung-Klein decides that corporate work is out of the question for her: “I wanted to stay true to myself.” Instead of pursuing a career in academia or in the private business sector working for BASF, by all means both options open to the ambitious agricultural scientist, she decides to have children and lays down the foundation for her continued work as an environmental educationalist.

Like David and Goliath

By sheer chance environmentalist Freia Jung-Klein gets voted into the district council in the role of parliamentary party leader right after the Green Party wins her over in 2009. Even though she can let her visions fly here, making them reality is far from easy. “What I had to learn in the industry at Monsanto, I experienced now first hand working as a politician in the Palatinate region: you are fighting an all-powerful opponent and all the lobbying prevents you from achieving anything really. Sometimes it felt like David and Goliath.”

Studying at TUM has also equipped Freia Jung-Klein with perseverance and tenacity. “TUM has deeply shaped me; endurance, persistence and self-confidence.” Even if the entire district council collectively leaves the conference room, her word stands against the county commissioner’s and dozens of lawyer’s letters with injunctions pile up on her desk, the local politician of the Greens refuses to be silenced or to stop asking uncomfortable questions. “If I didn’t probe, many things would not come to light. It’s just how I am.”

But despite all her willpower and belief in the good cause she has to admit that her relentless commitment to protecting the environment, nature and the climate takes a lot of strength, in particular emotionally. What helps her here is her strong faith, her conviction that the creation has to be preserved. Unswervingly the Palatinate native enthusiastically sets out day after day to pitch environmental protection to the people.

TUM Alumni Freia Jung-Klein.

Freia Jung-Klein (Image: Private).

Dr. Freia Jung-Klein

Degree Agricultural Sciences 1984, Doctorate 1988

 

From 1978 until 1984 Freia Jung-Klein studied Agricultural Sciences at TUM in Weihenstephan. Following her work as a research assistant at the Regional Office for Food she earned a doctorate degree in the field of Environmental Toxicology at the Chair of Botany there in 1988. She spent the years between 1988 and 1990 at the University of California as a Postgraduate Researcher.

For almost thirty years now she is engaged in environmental education of children and adults, and at schools. Freia Jung-Klein is vibrating with energy, is continuously expanding her knowledge of environmental governance and nature education, she is a trained environmental auditor and will soon complete her training in teaching meditation.

Additionally, she is holding numerous voluntary positions; in the Nature And Biodiversity Conservation Union (NABU), the Bund für Umwelt und Naturschutz Deutschland (BUND meaning German Federation for the Environment and Nature Conservation), in refugee aid, as a lay judge, on the board of her parish. Since 2009 she is highly committed to the Green Party (B90/die Grünen); as parliamentary party leader, then as a member in the county council Kaiserslautern, as chairwoman of the chapter she founded in Weilerbach and since 2014 as a member of the district council of the Palatinate Region.

Freia Jung-Klein is married and has three adult children.

TUM Alumna Freia Jung-Klein mit Herbstlaub.

Mit Beständigkeit und Selbstbewusstsein setzt sich TUM Alumna Freia Jung-Klein für den Schutz der Natur ein. Als Grünen-Kommunalpolitikerin lässt sie sich weder das Wort noch unangenehme Fragen verbieten (Bild: Privat).

Promotion an der TUM
Umweltschützerin Freia Jung-Klein
„Ich bleibe meiner Überzeugung treu“
29. Okt 2018
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Statt an Universitäten oder für Großkonzerne zu forschen, geht die promovierte Agrarwissenschaftlerin und TUM-Alumna Freia Jung-Klein in die Politik. Ihr Glaube und die Meditation geben ihr die nötige Kraft, um unbeirrt für Umweltschutz zu kämpfen.
Schon als Schülerin löcherte Freia Jung-Klein ihren Vater, einen Landwirt, mit Fragen zur Bodenfruchtbarkeit und zu alternativer Wertschöpfung. Der anfangs verdutzte Vater folgt den Vorschlägen der siebzehnjährigen Tochter, setzt auf dem heimischen Hof den eigenen Stallmist anstelle des teuer gekauften Mineraldüngers ein, reduziert das Milchvieh und entscheidet sich für eine Streuobstwiese statt das Land gewinnbringend zu verkaufen. „Im Handumdrehen hatte ich mit meinen Ideen den Hof umgekrempelt“, sagt Freia Jung-Klein heute.

Promotion an der TUM

Zum Abitur schreibt Freia Jung-Klein eine Facharbeit über mineralische Bestandteile der Böden ihrer Heimatgemeinde. Diese ist so professionell und fundiert ausgearbeitet, dass Freia Jung-Klein sie selbst „erst besser verstehen wollte“ und sich deshalb zum Studium der Agrarwissenschaften an der TUM in Weihenstephan entscheidet. Im Fachbereich Pflanzenproduktion legt sie 1984 mit einer Arbeit zum Nachweis von Pflanzenschutzmitteln in Böden und Gewässern ihr Diplom ab und kann das Thema, für das sie „Feuer und Flamme“ ist, am Lehrstuhl für Botanik zur Dissertation ausbauen.

Statt im Beruf bin ich menschlich und seelisch gewachsen.

Dr. Freia Jung-Klein

Mit ihren umwelttoxikologischen Erkenntnissen hatte Jung-Klein absolutes Neuland in der agrarwissenschaftlichen Forschung betreten und bekam eine Postdoc-Stelle an der renommierten University of California. Dort stößt sie mit ihren damals schon besorgniserregenden Studien über Glyphosat beim Hersteller Monsanto auf taube Ohren. „Monsanto hat leider keinerlei Konsequenzen aus meiner Forschung gezogen, wodurch ja meine ganze wissenschaftliche Arbeit umsonst war.“

Freia Jung-Klein beschließt, dass eine Arbeit im Konzern für sie nicht in Frage kommt: „Ich wollte mich nicht verbiegen.“ Statt Karriere an der Uni oder in der freien Wirtschaft bei BASF zu machen, deren Türen der ambitionierten Agrarwissenschaftlerin durchaus weit offen gestanden hätten, entscheidet sie sich für Kinder und legt den Grundstein für ihre bis heute andauernde Arbeit als Umweltpädagogin.

Wie David gegen Goliath

Als 2009 die Grünen die Umweltexpertin für sich gewinnen, kommt Freia Jung-Klein „wie die Jungfrau zum Kinde“ und wurde gleich als Fraktionsvorsitzende in den Kreistag gewählt. Zwar kann sie hier ihren Visionen Raum geben, aber leicht ist der Weg nicht. „Das, was ich bei Monsanto in der Wirtschaft erfahren musste, erlebe ich nun direkt vor Ort in der Pfalz bei meiner politischen Arbeit: man kämpft gegen übermächtige Gegner und kann vor lauter Lobbyismus eigentlich nichts bewirken. Ich fühle mich manchmal wie David gegen Goliath.“

Aus ihrem Studium an der TUM hat Freia Jung-Klein auch Durchhaltevermögen und Hartnäckigkeit mitgenommen. „Die TUM hat mich nachhaltig geformt; mit Ausdauer, Beständigkeit und Selbstbewusstsein.“ Wennschon der versammelte Kreistag geschlossen den Sitzungssaal verlässt, ihr Wort gegen das des Landrats steht und dutzende Anwaltsschreiben mit Unterlassung drohen, die Grünen-Kommunalpolitikerin lässt sich weder das Wort noch ihre unangenehmen Fragen verbieten. „Wenn ich nicht nachbohren würde, würde vieles nicht an die Oberfläche kommen. Ich bin einfach so.“

Doch dass ihr unermüdlicher Einsatz für Umwelt, Natur- und Klimaschutz auch sehr viel Kraft kostet, vor allem emotional, muss sich Freia Jung-Klein bei aller Willensstärke und Überzeugung für die gute Sache immer wieder eingestehen. Was ihr dabei hilft, ist ihr fester Glaube daran, ihre Überzeugung davon, dass die Schöpfung bewahrt werden muss. Unbeirrt macht sich die Pfälzerin jeden Tag von neuem begeistert auf, den Menschen den Schutz der Natur schmackhaft machen.

TUM Alumna Freia Jung-Klein.

Freia Jung-Klein (Bild: Privat).

Dr. Freia Jung-Klein

Diplom Agrarwissenschaften 1984, Promotion 1988

 

Von 1978 bis 1984 studierte Freia Jung-Klein Agrarwissenschaften an der TUM in Weihenstephan. Am dortigen Lehrstuhl für Botanik schloss sie nach ihrer Tätigkeit als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Landesanstalt für Ernährung 1988 ihre Promotion im Bereich der Umwelttoxikologie ab. In den Jahren von 1988 bis 1990 war sie als Postgraduate Researcher an der University of California tätig.

Seit fast dreißig Jahren ist sie nunmehr in der Umweltbildung für Kinder, SchülerInnen und Erwachsene tätig. Freia Jung-Klein sprüht vor Energie, bildet sich kontinuierlich in Umweltmanagement und Naturpädagogik weiter, sie ist ausgebildete Umweltauditorin und schließt bald auch ihre Meditationslehrerausbildung ab.

Zusätzlich bekleidet sie zahlreiche Ehrenämter; im Naturschutzbund (NABU), Bund für Umwelt und Naturschutz Deutschland (BUND), in der Flüchtlingshilfe, als ehrenamtliche Richterin, im Vorstand ihrer Kirchengemeinde. Seit 2009 setzt sie sich mit Engagement für B90/die Grünen ein; als Fraktionsvorsitzende, dann Mitglied im Kreistag Kaiserslautern, als Vorsitzende des von ihr gegründeten Ortsverbandes in Weilerbach und seit 2014 als Mitglied des Bezirkstages Pfalz.

Freia Jung-Klein ist verheiratet und hat drei erwachsene Kinder.