Katsiaryna Apalkova

"The source of my motivation is always the curiosity to break new grounds", TUM Alumna Katsiaryna Apalkova explains. As the Manager for Digitalization at München Klinik, she is committed to improving and simplifying processes within the department through digitalization. (photo: blende 11 Fotografen).

Social commitment

Manager for Digitalization Katsiaryna Apalkova

“I love simple solutions”

30. Nov 2020  |  
Reading time Min.
TUM Alumna Katsiaryna Apalkova is supporting companies in their efforts to become competitive for the future. Alongside digital solutions, corporate culture also plays a decisive role in this transformation process.
“I love smart technology and I love simple solutions,” TUM Alumna Katsiaryna Apalkova says. Both can be combined very well and are a sustainable strategy for companies. What really excited her about digitalization was her curiosity to explore new directions. Today she is the Manager for Digitalization at München Klinik in the areas of construction, technology and real estate. In her opinion, in order to make a company fit for the future and modernize it, more is needed than merely introducing new software.

E-MATURITY OF COMPANIES 

In her job, Katsiaryna Apalkova deliberately examines whether a problem can be solved digitally. “And I do think that for the upcoming tech-savvy generation, problem solving using smart technology will be normal”, she says. At the same time, however, companies will have to ask the question: “What do these people need in order to successfully complete their tasks?” As a manager for digitalization, she first analyzes existing processes and structures, and then decides together with the employees which solution makes sense and is feasible. This can, but does not automatically have to be a digital solution. Depending on the company’s ‘e-maturity’, a switch from meetings in person to Web conferences could already be a first step towards digital transformation.

“SEEING THINGS IN A LARGER CONTEXT”

Katsiaryna Apalkova studied Consumer Affairs at TUM, with a focus on Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship. “This Master’s program was just what I was looking for”, she says. At TUM, she learned to combine different subjects such as Psychology, Business Administration and Economics, Marketing or Sustainability. “This allowed me to see things in a much larger context.” TUM was the perfect match for her: “I think because we share the same qualities: an openness to new ideas and a networking and leadership mentality.”

A POWERFUL NETWORK 

During her studies, Katsiaryna Apalkova was involved in a variety of activities. “For a short while, I was representing my degree program in the Committee for the Improvement of Teaching at the TUM School of Management”, she recalls. She became a fellow in UnternehmerTUM’s Manage & More program, where she worked as a student consultant. “The creative collaboration in interdisciplinary teams, the approach to design thinking, mentoring, coaching and the powerful network have strongly shaped my mindset.”

At the same time, she wants to encourage other women to see themselves as a natural presence in technical professions and “to perceive themselves as creators of a new and better world”.

At the Women of TUM Afterwork event on the 2nd of December 2020, she will talk about how she defines and implements her role as Manager for Digitalization. And why it is precisely female qualities that are a key to success in this profession.

Katsiaryna Apalkova

Katsiaryna Apalkova (Photo: blende 11 Fotografen).

Katsiaryna Apalkova

Master Consumer Affairs 2014

After graduating from high school, Katsiaryna Apalkova initially enrolled in Theatre Studies, Business Administration and Psychology at LMU. After her intermediate exams, she switched to a Bachelor’s program in Economics in 2008. Subsequently, she did her Master’ s at TUM in 2011, where she also became a fellow of UnternehmerTUM’s entrepreneurship program Manage & More. In the framework of this program she worked as a student consultant. After her Master’s degree, she worked as an IT consultant in various industry fields. Her five years of professional experience in consulting and project management, especially in the areas of digitalization, innovation and change management, led her to München Klinik in 2019. Here she is employed as the Manager for Digitalization in the areas of construction, technology and real estate management. Furthermore she is a freelance certified business coach.

Katsiaryna Apalkova

„Die Quelle meiner Motivation ist stets die Neugier neue Wege zu gehen“, sagt TUM Almuna Katsiaryna Apalkova. Als Digitalisierungsmanagerin an der München Klinik setzt sie sich abteilungsintern dafür ein, dass Prozesse mithilfe von Digitalisierung erleichtert und verbessert werden (Bild: blende 11 Fotografen).

Gesellschaftliches Engagement
Digitalisierungsmanagerin Katsiaryna Apalkova
„Ich liebe einfache Lösungen“
30. Nov 2020  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.
TUM Alumna Katsiaryna Apalkova hilft Unternehmen dabei, zukunftsfähig zu werden. Neben digitalen Lösungen spielt für sie auch die Unternehmenskultur eine entscheidende Rolle beim Veränderungsprozess.
„Ich liebe smarte Technologie und ich liebe einfache Lösungen“, sagt TUM Alumna Katsiaryna Apalkova. Beides sei bestens kombinierbar und eine zukunftsfähige Strategie für Unternehmen. Vor allem die Neugier neue Wege zu gehen, habe sie für die Digitalisierung begeistert. Heute arbeitet sie als Digitalisierungsmanagerin bei der München Klinik im Bereich Bau, Technik und Immobilien. Um ein Unternehmen zukunftsfähig und modern auszubauen, braucht es ihrer Ansicht nach mehr als die Einführung neuer Software.

DIE „DIGITALE REIFE“ VON UNTERNEHMEN  

In ihrem Job prüft Katsiaryna Apalkova zwar bewusst, ob sich ein Problem auf digitalem Wege lösen lässt. „Und ich denke auch, dass für die heranwachsende tech-affine Generation die Problemlösung mittels einer smarten Technologie zur Normalität gehören wird“, meint sie. Zugleich aber müssten Unternehmen sich die Frage stellen: „Was brauchen diese Menschen, damit sie ihre Aufgaben erfolgreich erledigen können?” Als Digitalisierungsmanagerin analysiert sie zuerst bestehende Prozesse und Strukturen, um dann zusammen mit den Mitarbeitern zu entscheiden, welche Lösung sinnvoll und gangbar ist. Dies kann, muss aber nicht automatisch eine digitale Lösung sein. Je nach „digitaler Reife“ des Unternehmens könne bereits eine Umstellung von analogen Meetings hin zu Web-Konferenzen ein erster Schritt zur Digitalisierung sein.

„DIE DINGE IN EINEM GRÖßEREN KONTEXT SEHEN “

Katsiaryna Apalkova studierte Consumer Affairs an der TUM, mit Fokus auf Innovation Management und Entrepreneurship. „Dieser Master-Studiengang war genau das Richtige für mich“, sagt sie. An der TUM habe sie verschiedene Inhalte wie Psychologie, Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaftslehre, Marketing oder Nachhaltigkeit zu kombinieren gelernt. „Das hat es mir ermöglicht, die Dinge in einem viel größeren Kontext zu sehen.“ Das „perfect match“ sei die TUM für sie gewesen: „Ich denke, weil wir die gleichen Eigenschaften in uns tragen: Offenheit fürs Neue sowie Netzwerker- und Leadership-Mentalität.“

DIE KRAFT DES NETZWERKS 

Während des Studiums engagierte sich Katsiaryna Apalkova vielseitig. „Kurzzeitig habe ich meinen Studiengang im Ausschuss zur Verbesserung der Lehre an der TUM School of Management repräsentiert“, erinnert sie sich. Sie wurde Stipendiatin im Programm Manage & More der UnternehmerTUM, wo sie als studentische Unternehmensberaterin tätig war. „Die kreative Zusammenarbeit in interdisziplinären Teams, die Vorgehensweise im Design Thinking, Mentoring, Coaching und die Kraft des Netzwerkes haben mein Mindset sehr geprägt.“

Andere Frauen will sie dazu ermutigen, sich in technischen Berufen als selbstverständlich zu verstehen und sich „als Gestalterin einer neuen und besseren Welt wahrzunehmen“.

Beim Women of TUM Afterwork am 2. Dezember 2020 berichtet sie davon, wie sie die Rolle als Digitalisierungsmanagerin für sich definiert und umsetzt. Und warum ausgerechnet weibliche Qualitäten für diesen Beruf erfolgstragend sind.

Katsiaryna Apalkova

Katsiaryna Apalkova (Bild: blende 11 Fotografen).

Katsiaryna Apalkova

Master Consumer Affairs 2014

Nach dem Abitur begann Katsiaryna Apalkova zunächst ein Studium in den Fächern Theaterwissenschaft, BWL und Psychologie an der LMU. Nach der Zwischenprüfung wechselte sie 2008 zum Bachelorstudiengang Volkswirtschaftslehre. Im Anschluss begann sie 2011 ihr Masterstudium an der TUM, wo sie unter anderem ein Stipendium für das unternehmerische Qualifizierungsprogramm Manage & More der UnternehmerTUM erhielt.

Im Rahmen dessen war sie als studentische Unternehmensberaterin tätig. Nach ihrem Masterabschluss arbeitete sie als IT Consultant in unterschiedlichen Bereichen. Ihre fünfjährige Berufserfahrung in Unternehmensberatung und Projektmanagement, besonders in den Bereichen Digitalisierung, Innovation und Change Management, führte sie 2019 an die München Klinik. Hier ist sie angestellte Digitalisierungsmanagerin im Bereich Bau, Technik und Immobilienmanagement. Zusätzlich ist sie selbstständige zertifizierte Business Coach.