Gründer und TUM Alumnus Andreas Kunze

Andreas Kunze on a visit at TUM: "Here I met many inspiring entrepreneurs, without whom I might not have had the courage to take the step to start my own business" (photo: Alexander Gerner/TUM).

Alumni start-ups

Entrepreneur Andreas Kunze

“What they do in Silicon Valley isn’t rocket science either“

08. May 2020
Reading time Min.
At just 23 years of age, TUM Alumni Andreas Kunze created his start-up KONUX, which develops combined systems of sensors and artificial intelligence. The technology is used, among others, by Deutsche Bahn and helps to make train travel more appealing.
Andreas Kunze matches the word high-flier like nobody else. For six years he has been CEO of his own company. Since then, Andreas Kunze is jetting around the world and back and forth between the offices in Munich, San Francisco, Paris and Tokyo. He is meeting important entrepreneurs of Silicon Valley, as well as chancellor Angela Merkel and other political heavyweights. As a ‘technology pioneer’ 2018, he was an invited guest at the World Economic Forum in Davos also this year. Here, leading experts get together to discuss current global issues.

One of KONUX biggest clients is Deutsche Bahn. The company uses sensor data to be able to make statements on the condition of facilities in the railway network, such as a switch. This allows for better planning of repairs and their scheduling to times of lower capacity utilisation. This means that in the event of repairs, the entire operation does not have to be shut down. Across Europe, broken switches account for almost 20 percent of all delay minutes.

BIG VISIONS 

“We want to play our part in making railway systems worldwide more reliable, so that more people and goods will be transported by this sustainable means of transport,” says Andreas Kunze. “If you look at where the emissions come from today, you quickly realize that with 23 percent, the transport sector is one of the biggest drivers. However, the different modes of transport contribute to it in very different ways. Compared to air travel, railway only causes 7 percent of the emissions. If more people and goods were to travel by rail, this would contribute significantly to reducing emissions worldwide.” The market is very special, however, as there is usually only one major rail operator in each country. But Andreas Kunze and his team are already operating in 9 countries with seven customers in Europe and three in Asia, more precisely in China, Japan and India, where the three largest railway networks on the continent are. “By the end of next year, by the way, we want to be operating in 22 countries. That’s a sporting goal, but we’re doing very well.”

Andreas Kunze has no entrepreneurial background. “My mother was a part-time accountant with a small company in Munich, my father is a civil servant at Bayerische Versorgungskammer and has studied law. They are both not the most risk-taking personalities.” But he was – as he says – very lucky with the people he met during his studies and in the early stages of the company’s creation. These include his personal mentor Andy von Bechtolsheim, one of the first investors in Google, who also studied at TUM for a few semesters. “He knows Silicon Valley extremely well, has set up several companies himself and has experienced first-hand what is important,” says Andreas Kunze.

Gründer und TUM Alumnus Andreas Kunze im Gespräch

Andreas Kunze (photo: Alexander Gerner/TUM).

MEETING POINT UNIVERSITY 

Andreas Kunze also got to know his co-founders Dennis Humhal, Vlad Lata and Maximilian Hasler while studying Information Systems at TUM. In his fourth semester he participated in the Manage&More programme of UnternehmerTUM, the center for innovation and business creation at TUM. “Here students with different technical backgrounds work together, and it was here that I met Dennis, my later co-founder, who studied Mechanical Engineering.” Together with Maximilian and Vlad, he attended courses at the Center for Digital Technology and Management, a joint institution of TUM and LMU that focuses on training highly gifted students and promoting entrepreneurship.

SEARCH FOR INVESTORS AT SILICON VALLEY 

Having completed his bachelor’s degree in Information Systems, Andreas Kunze began his master’s studies at TUM and shortly after, the young men sparked the idea for their company. “So in the second master’s semester I attended the business plan seminars at TUM to bring the whole thing from my head to paper. In the third semester, it would have been time for my master’s thesis and I wanted to write it at Stanford. I had a scholarship for a research fellowship.”

In the USA, however, everything developed somewhat differently than planned. Instead of concentrating on his studies, Andreas Kunze went looking for investors in the US and met many CEOs who had made a name for themselves in Silicon Valley: “Most of them were only around 30 years old and the technologies they had developed were good, but they weren’t rocket science either. So I thought to myself, I can do that, too.”

ECOSYSTEM FOR STARTUPS 

Today, Andreas Kunze manages a company with over 90 employees that is represented in 9 countries. As one of the goals for the coming years, the young founders are aiming for an IPO in the US. “At best, we will have several hundred employees by then, who will have shares in our company and will receive a disproportionately high amount of money from the IPO – which they will then either use for a start-up or to invest,” says Andreas Kunze. “And then, at some point, we will have Germany’s largest ecosystem for start-ups in Munich – and not in Berlin.”

Konux Gründer Andreas Kunze

Andreas Kunze (photo: Alexander Gerner/TUM).

Andreas Kunze

Bachelor Information Systems 2013

Andreas Kunze was born and raised in Munich. After his Abitur at a high school with a focus on economics, he opted for a Bachelor’s degree in Information Systems at TUM. Here he met his later co-founders Maximilian Hasler, Vlad Lata and Dennis Humhal. During his subsequent Master’s studies, Andreas Kunze went to Stanford University in California in 2014 on a scholarship. At the same time and together with Maximilian Hasler, Vlad Lata and Dennis Humhal, he set up his company KONUX, whose CEO he is today.

Already in spring 2015, the four young entrepreneurs succeeded in obtaining initial funding of two million dollars from investors in Silicon Valley. KONUX combines smart sensors and analytics based on artificial intelligence and enables railway companies to improve the capacity of their rail networks, and thus improve punctuality through predictive maintenance planning and optimised use of railway lines. Consequently, Konux’s mission is to make rail travel tomorrow’s preferred mode of transport by increasing capacity, reliability and cost efficiency. One of the largest and most important clients is Deutsche Bahn. Early last year, KONUX closed its Series B funding round with a total volume of 33 million USD.

Andreas Kunze is one of the World Economic Forum’s ‘European Digital Leaders’, as well as a Member of the Expert Advisory Board for Artificial Intelligence at the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy and a ‘European Young Leader under 40’. At the beginning of 2017, he was added to the ‘Top 30 under 30 Europe’ list of the American Forbes Magazine and three times to the ’40 under 40′ entrepreneurs list of Capital magazine. He is part of Leaders for Climate Action and for the past year, Andreas Kunze has been the youngest member of the Global AI Council of the World Economic Forum (WEF).

In addition to the ‘German Mobility Award’ of the German Ministry of Transport and the German digital award ‘The Spark’, KONUX has received the TUM Presidential Entrepreneurship Award in 2017, which annually honours an outstanding spin-off, whose business idea is based largely on results from research conducted at TUM. In 2020, US-Tech Market Intelligence Platform CB Insights nominated KONUX as one of the 100 most promising AI companies in the world for the second time.

Interview with Andreas Kunze: the whole conversation is available here>

Gründer und TUM Alumnus Andreas Kunze

Andreas Kunze zu Besuch an der TUM: „Hier habe ich viele inspirierende Gründer kennengelernt, ohne die ich vielleicht nicht den Mut gehabt hätte, den Schritt ins eigene Unternehmen zu wagen.“ (Bild: Alexander Gerner/TUM).

Alumni gründen

Gründer Andreas Kunze

„Im Silicon Valley betreiben sie auch keine Raketenwissenschaft“
08. Mai 2020
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Mit gerade einmal 23 Jahren gründete TUM Alumnus Andreas Kunze sein Start-up KONUX, das kombinierte Systeme aus Sensoren und künstlicher Intelligenz entwickelt. Die Technologie wird unter anderem bei der Deutschen Bahn eingesetzt und sorgt dafür, dass Zugfahren attraktiver wird.
Zu niemandem passt das Wort Überflieger so gut wie zu Andreas Kunze, der seit sechs Jahren Chef seines eigenen Unternehmens ist. Seither jettet er um die Welt und zwischen den Büros in München, San Francisco, Paris und Tokio hin und her. Er trifft die wichtigen Gründer des Silicon Valley ebenso wie Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und andere politische Größen. Als „Technology Pioneer“ 2018 war er auch im Januar dieses Jahres geladener Gast beim Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos, wo führende Experten zusammenkommen, um über aktuelle globale Fragen zu diskutieren.

Einer der größten Kunden von KONUX ist die Deutsche Bahn. Das Unternehmen nutzt Sensordaten dafür, um Aussagen über den Gesundheitszustand von Anlagen im Eisenbahnbereich, wie beispielsweise einer Weiche, treffen zu können. Damit können Reparaturen besser geplant und in Zeiten mit weniger Auslastung verlegt werden. So muss im Reparaturfall nicht der gesamte Betrieb lahmgelegt werden. Europaweit machen kaputte Weichen knapp 20 Prozent aller Verspätungsminuten aus.

Große Visionen

„Wir wollen unseren Teil dazu beitragen, dass Bahnsysteme weltweit zuverlässiger werden und damit mehr Leute und Güter dieses nachhaltige Verkehrsmittel nutzen“, sagt Andreas Kunze. „Wenn man sich anschaut, woher heutzutage die Emission kommen, merkt man schnell das der Transportsektor mit 23 Prozent einer der größten Treiber ist. Die verschiedenen Verkehrsträger tragen aber sehr unterschiedlich dazu bei. Die Eisenbahn braucht im Vergleich zum Flugzeug nur 7 Prozent der Emissionen. Wenn mehr Menschen und Güter mit der Eisenbahn fahren würden, würde das signifikant dazu beitragen, die Emission weltweit zu reduzieren“, erklärt Andreas Kunze. Der Markt ist aber sehr speziell, denn in jedem Land gibt es meist nur einen großen Bahnbetreiber. Doch Andreas Kunze und sein Team sind schon in 9 Ländern tätig davon mit sieben Kunden in Europa und drei in Asien, genauer in China, Japan und Indien, wo die drei größten Eisenbahnnetze des Kontinents betrieben werden. „Ende kommenden Jahres wollen wir übrigens in 22 Ländern aktiv sein. Das ist ein sportliches Ziel, aber wir sind sehr gut unterwegs.“

Andreas Kunze kommt aus keinem Unternehmerhaushalt. „Meine Mutter war Teilzeitbuchhalterin bei einer kleinen Münchner Firma, mein Vater ist Beamter bei der Bayerischen Versorgungskammer und studierter Jurist. Beide sind nicht die risikofreudigsten Persönlichkeiten.“ Doch er hatte – wie er sagt – viel Glück mit den Menschen, die er während seines Studiums und der Anfangsphase der Gründung kennengelernt hat. Dazu gehört auch sein persönlicher Mentor Andy von Bechtolsheim, einer der ersten Investoren in Google, der auch einige Semester an der TUM studiert hat. „Er kennt sich enorm gut aus im Silicon Valley, hat mehrfach schon selbst gegründet und am eigenen Leib erfahren, worauf es ankommt“, so Andreas Kunze.

Gründer und TUM Alumnus Andreas Kunze im Gespräch

Bild: Alexander Gerner/TUM

Im Studium kennengelernt

Auch seine Mitgründer Dennis Humhal, Vlad Lata and Maximilian Hasler hat Andreas Kunze während des Studiums der Wirtschaftsinformatik an der TUM kennengelernt. In seinem vierten Semester hat er am Manage&More-Programm der UnternehmerTUM teilgenommen, dem Zentrum für Innovation und Gründung an der TUM.  „Hier arbeiten Studierende mit unterschiedlichen fachlichen Hintergründen zusammen, und hier habe ich Dennis, meinen späteren Mitgründer, kennengelernt, der Maschinenbau studiert hat.“ Mit Maximilian und Vlad hat er gemeinsam Kurse am Center for Digital Technology and Management besucht, einer gemeinsamen Einrichtung von TUM und LMU, deren Schwerpunkt auf der Ausbildung von hochbegabten Studierenden und der Förderung von Unternehmertum liegt.

Investorensuche im Silicon Valley

Nachdem er den Bachelor in Wirtschaftsinformatik in der Tasche hatte, begann Andreas Kunze das Masterstudium an der TUM und schon kurz darauf kam den jungen Männern die Idee für ihr Unternehmen. „Also besuchte ich im zweiten Mastersemester die Businessplan-Seminare an der TUM, um das Ganze vom Kopf aufs Papier zu bringen. Im dritten Semester wäre die Masterarbeit dran gewesen. Die wollte ich in Stanford schreiben. Ich hatte ein Stipendium für ein Research Scholarship.“

In den USA entwickelte sich aber dann alles etwas anders als geplant. Statt konzentriert zu studieren, machte sich Andreas Kunze in den USA auf Investorensuche begeben und traf viele CEOs, die es im Silicon Valley zu etwas gebracht hatten: „Die meisten waren erst um die 30 Jahre alt und die Technologien, die sie entwickelt hatten, waren zwar gut, aber auch keine Raketenwissenschaft. Da dachte ich mir: Das kann ich auch.“

Ökosystem für Gründer

Heute leitet Andreas Kunze ein Unternehmen mit über 90 Mitarbeitern. Als eines der Ziele für die kommenden Jahre peilen die jungen Gründer den Börsengang in den USA an. „Bestenfalls haben wir dann schon mehrere hundert Mitarbeiter, die an unserem Unternehmen beteiligt sind und durch den Börsengang überproportional viel Geld bekommen – das sie dann neu gründen oder investieren“, sagt Andreas Kunze. „Dann haben wir irgendwann in München Deutschlands größtes Ökosystem für Gründer – und nicht in Berlin.“

TUM Alumnus Andreas Kunze

Andreas Kunze (Foto: Alexander Gerner/TUM).

Andreas Kunze

Bachelor Wirtschaftsinformatik 2013

Andreas Kunze ist in München geboren und aufgewachsen. Nach seinem Abitur an einem wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Gymnasium entschied er sich für ein Bachelorstudium an der TUM im Fach Wirtschaftsinformatik. Dabei lernte er seine späteren Mitgründer Maximilian Hasler, Vlad Lata und Dennis Humhal kennen. Während des anschließenden Masterstudiums ging Andreas Kunze 2014 mit einem Stipendium nach Kalifornien an die Stanford University. Zeitgleich gründete er zusammen mit Maximilian Hasler, Vlad Lata und Dennis Humhal sein Unternehmen KONUX, dessen CEO er heute ist.

Bereits im Frühjahr 2015 gelang es den vier jungen Gründern eine erste Finanzierung in Höhe von zwei Millionen Dollar von Investoren aus dem Silicon Valley zu erhalten. KONUX verbindet smarte Sensoren und Analytik, basierend auf künstlicher Intelligenz, und ermöglicht Eisenbahnunternehmen, die Kapazitäten ihres Schienennetzes und damit die Pünktlichkeit durch vorausschauende Wartungsplanung und eine optimierte Nutzung von Bahnstrecken zu verbessern. Die Mission von KONUX ist es, die Eisenbahn durch Steigerung von Kapazität, Zuverlässigkeit und Kosteneffizienz zur Mobilitätspräferenz von morgen zu machen . Einer der größten und wichtigsten Kunden ist die Deutsche Bahn. Anfang letzten Jahres schloss KONUX seine Serie-B-Finanzierungsrunde mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 33 Millionen US-Dollar ab.

Andreas Kunze ist einer der „European Digital Leaders“ des Weltwirtschaftsforums sowie im Expertenforum zur Künstlichen Intelligenz am Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie und ein „European Young Leader under 40“. Anfang 2017 wurde er in die Liste der „Top 30 under 30 Europe“ des amerikanischen Forbes Magazine sowie dreimal unter die „40 unter 40“ Unternehmer der Zeitschrift Capital gewählt. Er ist Teil der Leader for Climate Action und seit einem Jahr ist Andreas Kunze das jüngste Mitglied im Global AI Council des World Economic Forum (WEF).

KONUX wurde neben dem „Deutschen Mobilitätspreis“ des Deutschen Verkehrsministeriums und dem Deutschen Digitalpreis „The Spark“, 2017 mit dem TUM Presidential Entrepreneurship Award ausgezeichnet, mit dem jedes Jahr ein herausragendes Spin-off geehrt wird, dessen Geschäftsidee maßgeblich auf Forschungsergebnissen der TUM basiert. 2020 nominierte die US-Tech Market Intelligence Platform CB Insights KONUX zum zweiten Mal unter die 100 vielversprechendsten AI-Unternehmen der Welt.