Alumni start-ups

Social Entrepreneur Zarah Bruhn

“I want to revolutionize social entrepreneurship”

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn.
27. Apr 2022  |  
Reading time Min.

During the refugee crisis of 2015, TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn launched the non-profit company socialbee. With a takeover rate of over 90 percent, it places refugees in permanent employment (Picture: Google.org).

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn had originally wanted to become an investment banker. Now she is a social entrepreneur. With her non-profit company socialbee, she integrates refugees into society in a lasting way. Since April, she has also been working as a commissioner for social innovation for the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research.
Zarah Bruhn is a doer. “Anything is possible,” she quotes her parental motto. With 20,000 euros in seed money she launched one of the most successful European Social ScaleUps in 2015. With two offices in Munich and Stuttgart, the TUM Alumna has successfully been helping refugees find jobs on the German labor market for the past six years – meanwhile even state-wide.

In addition to direct placements, the focus of their integration work is primarily on skill-building projects with large companies. In this way, real career opportunities can be opened up for refugees, while at the same time counteracting the shortage of skilled workers. For this, she was honored as a TUM pioneer by TUM President Thomas F. Hofmann in December. “As a responsible technical university, we align our activities with the values, needs and expectations of society. Our alumna and socialbee founder Zarah Bruhn lives up to this social responsibility in an exemplary manner with her company,” said Thomas F. Hofmann.

Zarah Bruhn has reacted immediately to the war in Ukraine. “With my company, I have been providing sustainable integration assistance for over six years. Our support always applies equally to all refugees, but is individually adapted to the needs of each target group.” Refugees can turn to socialbee for advice and receive job offers and individual support, and companies are also supported in recruiting and integrating refugees.

ENTREPRENEURIAL SPIRIT

Already as a bachelor student at the University of Mannheim, Zarah Bruhn worked for venture capitalists and private equity companies. She wanted to become an investment banker. But her studies in Management and Technology at TUM really made her want to start her own business. “At TUM, the entrepreneurial spirit is ever-present,” she says. “Through the hands-on seminars, case studies and the many founders, you are exposed to this spirit here all the time.”

At TUM, the entrepreneurial spirit is ever-present.

Zarah Bruhn

When Zarah Bruhn became involved in the refugee crisis as a volunteer at the end of 2015, she realized that she wanted to become part of the long-term solution and create a social enterprise to do so. While still at TUM, she experienced firsthand how valuable interdisciplinary and international working groups are – how useful diversity is. Virtually overnight, she and Maximilian Felsner co-founded socialbee. They wanted to actively integrate particularly refugees with limited qualifications into the labor market and society. “I didn’t feel that the existing structures in the labor market were sufficient for sustainable integration,” she explains.

BACKUP

She got the necessary backup she needed to set up the company from TUM. The master’s student was granted two semesters off in order to start up the spin-off. “I was also able to write my master’s thesis on my own start-up,” she says. “Not every university gives you this much freedom.” To this day, Zarah Bruhn is benefiting from TUM’s extensive network. Thanks to grants from foundations, her company is on secure footing financially as well.

In this way, Zarah Bruhn is able to completely focus on the long-term integration of refugees: They can participate in skills-building programs run jointly with large companies – which impress with their high chances of being hired for a permanent position afterwards. Or refugees are employed directly via socialbee and placed with partner companies – from micro-enterprises to DAX-listed corporations – for a period of no less than one year. In addition, they benefit from an integration program that combines targeted qualification, socio-educational support and language assistance.

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn and members of her team.

Since the company' s founding, TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn has placed hundreds of refugees in permanent employment. Her own team has now grown to 20 employees at locations in Munich and Stuttgart. In the picture from left to right: Dris Mi (Head of Product + Learning), Sebastian Halden (Senior Sales Manager), Miriam van Laak (Senior Integration Manager), Zarah Bruhn (CEO), Dr. Sajida Afzal (Senior Integration Manager) (Picture: Google.org).

But it’s not just about supporting refugees; Zarah Bruhn and her team also lend a helping hand to the companies. These are grateful that they can get involved in matters of integration and diversity in a simple way without becoming caught up in the jungle of authorities and rampant bureaucracy. “We try to act as a kind of buffer so that the obstacles that come up don’t land on one side or the other,” Zarah Bruhn explains. “The goal is for refugees to truly be ready in a year’s time, to not need us anymore, and ideally be taken on by the partner company as apprentices or qualified permanent employees.” In addition, she and her team also offer train-the-trainer programs in which companies can have their own employees become experts in diversity and integration.

STRUCTURAL CHANGE

To date, Zarah Bruhn and her social enterprise have been able to place hundreds of refugees in permanent positions. “The takeover rate is over 90 percent,” says Zarah Bruhn. “We are very, very proud of that. It puts us well ahead of many other labor market integration programs.” She now has a team of more than 20 employees and, in addition to Munich, has opened a second office in Stuttgart, with more to follow in other major cities.

But the energetic entrepreneur isn’t going to stop here. Routine puts her off. And the successful placement into jobs has already become routine. Zarah Bruhn didn’t set out to integrate a hundred refugees every year. Her goal is to socially revolutionize the entire system. “I want to create the prototype of a social empire, making the social enterprise system so compelling that it will be the preferred model,” she says. “I want to see the best talent working on the world’ s most pressing issues.” In her new role as Commissioner for Social Innovation at the Federal Ministry, which she took up in April, she can certainly make a difference here.

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn.

Zarah Bruhn (Bild: Urban Zintel).

Zarah Bruhn

Master Management and Technology 2018

 

Zarah Bruhn graduated in Business Administration from the University of Mannheim. In 2014, she came to TUM for her master’s degree in Management and Technology. While still a student, she worked for venture capitalists and private equity companies. But the refugee crisis at the end of 2015 made her want to switch sides. She set up the non-profit company socialbee, which has since been integrating refugees into the labor market in a sustainable manner. In 2020, when the corona crisis was still in its early stages, she launched a digital platform that allows contactless shopping for high-risk groups.

Zarah Bruhn’s social entrepreneurial activities have earned her several awards, including the KfW Award Gründen, the Ashoka Fellowship and the Female Founders Award bestowed by the American Chamber of Commerce in Germany. In 2019, the business magazine Capital named her one of the Top 40 under 40. She frequently speaks as an expert on integration and Female Entrepreneurship at conferences, including the Munich startup conference Bits & Pretzels. Since April 2022, she has never been the new Commissioner for Social Innovation of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Zarah Bruhn loves extremes, the adrenaline rush of high altitude climbing and in the waves while surfing. The successful entrepreneur likes to spend her winters in the south, thus proving at the same time how well New Work actually works.

Alumni gründen

Sozialunternehmerin Zarah Bruhn

„Ich will das soziale Unternehmertum revolutionieren“

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn.
27. Apr 2022  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.

In der Flüchtlingskrise von 2015 gründete TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn das gemeinnützige Unternehmen socialbee. Mit einer Übernahmequote von über 90 Prozent vermittelt sie Geflüchtete in Festanstellungen (Bild: Google.org).

Eigentlich wollte TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn Investmentbankerin werden. Nun ist sie Sozialunternehmerin. Mit ihrem Non-Profit-Unternehmen socialbee integriert sie Geflüchtete nachhaltig in die Gesellschaft. Seit April ist sie zudem als Beauftragte für soziale Innovationen für das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung tätig.
Zarah Bruhn ist eine Macherin. „Alles ist möglich“, zitiert sie das Motto aus ihrem Elternhaus. 2015 hat sie mit 20.000 Euro Startkapital eines der mittlerweile erfolgreichsten Social ScaleUps Europas gegründet. Mit zwei festen Standorten in München und in Stuttgart vermittelt die TUM Alumna seit sechs Jahren erfolgreich Geflüchtete nachhaltig in den deutschen Arbeitsmarkt – und das mittlerweile sogar bundesweit.

Neben direkten Stellenbesetzungen stehen dabei vor allem Qualifizierungsprojekte mit großen Unternehmen im Fokus ihrer Integrationsarbeit. So können wirkliche Karrierechancen für Geflüchtete ermöglicht werden, und gleichzeitig dem Fachkräftemangel entgegengewirkt werden. Dafür wurde sie im Dezember von TUM-Präsident Thomas F. Hofmann als TUM-Pionierin ausgezeichnet. „Als verantwortungsvolle technische Universität richtigen wir unsere Tätigkeit an den Werten, Bedürfnissen und Erwartungen der Gesellschaft aus. Unsere Alumna und socialbee-Gründerin Zarah Bruhn wird dieser gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung mit ihrem Unternehmen vorbildlich gerecht“, so Thomas F. Hofmann.

Auf den Krieg in der Ukraine hat Zarah Bruhn direkt reagiert. „Mit meinem Unternehmen leiste ich seit über sechs Jahren nachhaltige Integrationshilfe. Unsere Unterstützung gilt dabei immer allen Geflüchteten gleichermaßen, jedoch individuell auf die Bedürfnisse jeder Zielgruppe angepasst.“ Geflüchtete können sich ratsuchend an socialbee wenden und erhalten Jobangebote und individuelle Betreuung, ebenso werden Unternehmen bei der Rekrutierung und Integration Geflüchteter unterstützt.

GRÜNDERSPIRIT

Schon während des Bachelor-Studiums an der Universität Mannheim arbeitete Zarah Bruhn bei Wagniskapitalgebern und Private-Equity-Gesellschaften. Sie wollte Investmentbankerin werden. Doch durch ihr Studium Management and Technology an der TUM bekam sie richtig Lust, zu gründen. „An der TUM ist der Gründerspirit omnipräsent“, sagt sie. „Durch die praxisorientierten Seminare, Fallstudien und die vielen Gründerinnen und Gründer wird einem dieser Spirit hier vorgelebt.“

An der TUM ist der Gründerspirit omnipräsent.

Zarah Bruhn

Als sich Zarah Bruhn Ende 2015 ehrenamtlich in der Flüchtlingskrise engagierte, wurde ihr klar, dass sie Teil der langfristigen Lösung werden und dafür ein Sozialunternehmen gründen wollte. Schon an der TUM erlebte sie hautnah mit, wie gewinnbringend interdisziplinäre und internationale Arbeitsgruppen sind – wie wertvoll Diversität ist. Quasi über Nacht gründete sie mit Maximilian Felsner socialbee. Insbesondere Geflüchtete mit geringer Qualifikation wollten sie aktiv in den Arbeitsmarkt und die Gesellschaft integrieren. „Ich hatte nicht das Gefühl, dass die bestehenden Strukturen am Arbeitsmarkt für eine nachhaltige Integration ausreichen“, erklärt sie.

RÜCKENWIND

Von der TUM bekam Zarah Bruhn für die Gründung den nötigen Rückenwind. Zwei Urlaubssemester wurden der Masterstudentin zur Ausgründung eingeräumt. „Auch die Masterarbeit konnte ich über mein eigenes Start-up schreiben“, sagt sie. „Diese große Freiheit bekommt man nicht an jeder Uni.“ Bis heute kommt Zarah Bruhn das breite Netzwerk der TUM zugute. Durch Zuwendungen von Stiftungen steht ihr Unternehmen auch finanziell auf gesicherten Beinen.

So kann sich Zarah Bruhn der nachhaltigen Integration von Geflüchteten widmen: Diese können an Qualifizierungsprogrammen teilnehmen, die gemeinsam mit großen Unternehmen durchgeführt werden – und die durch hohe Übernahmechancen auf eine anschließende Festanstellung überzeugen. Oder Geflüchtete werden direkt über socialbee angestellt und für einen Zeitraum von nicht unter einem Jahr zu den Partnerunternehmen – vom Kleinstbetrieb bis zum DAX-Konzern – vermittelt. Zusätzlich profitieren sie von einem Integrationsprogramm, das gezielte Qualifikation, sozialpädagogische Betreuung und Sprachförderung kombiniert.

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn mit Teammitgliedern.

Seit der Unternehmensgründung vermittelte TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn hunderte Geflüchtete in Festanstellungen. Ihr eigenes Team ist mittlerweile auf 20 Mitarbeitende an Standorten in München und Stuttgart angewachsen. Auf dem Bild sind zu sehen (v.l.n.r.): Dris Mi (Head of Product + Learning), Sebastian Halden (Senior Sales Manager), Miriam van Laak (Senior Integrationsmanagerin), Zarah Bruhn (CEO), Dr. Sajida Afzal (Senior Integrationsmanagerin) (Bild: Google.org).

Dabei geht es aber nicht nur um die Unterstützung von Geflüchteten, sondern auch den Unternehmen greift Zarah Bruhn und ihr Team unter die Arme. Diese sind dankbar, dass sie sich in Sachen Integration und Diversität einfach engagieren können und nicht durch den Behördendschungel und die ausufernde Bürokratie davon abgehalten werden. „Wir versuchen, als eine Art Puffer zu fungieren, um die Hindernisse, die auftauchen, nicht bei der einen oder der anderen Seite ankommen zu lassen“, erklärt Zarah Bruhn. „Das Ziel ist, dass die Geflüchteten in einem Jahr wirklich fit sind, uns nicht mehr brauchen und idealerweise vom Partnerunternehmen in eine Ausbildung oder qualifizierte Festanstellung übernommen werden.“ Zusätzlich bietet sie und ihr Team auch Train-the-Trainer-Programme an, in denen Unternehmen ihre eigenen Mitarbeitenden zu Experten und Expertinnen für Diversität und Integration ausbilden lassen können.

STRUKTURWANDEL

Bis heute konnte Zarah Bruhn mit ihrem Sozialunternehmen hunderte Geflüchtete in Festanstellungen vermitteln. „Die Übernahmequote liegt bei über 90 Prozent“, sagt Zarah Bruhn. „Da sind wir sehr, sehr stolz drauf. Wir sind damit deutlich besser als viele andere Arbeitsmarktintegrationsprogramme.“ Sie selbst hat mittlerweile ein Team von über 20 Mitarbeitenden und neben München ein zweites Büro in Stuttgart eröffnet, weitere in anderen Großstädten sollen folgen.

Doch damit will sich die vor Energie nur so sprühende Unternehmerin nicht zufriedengeben. Routinen schrecken sie ab. Und die erfolgreiche Arbeitsvermittlung ist bereits Routine. Zarah Bruhn ist nicht angetreten, um jedes Jahr hundert Geflüchtete zu integrieren. Sie will das gesamte System sozial revolutionieren. „Ich will den Prototyp eines sozialen Imperiums aufbauen und damit das System Sozialunternehmen so attraktiv machen, dass es präferiert wird“, sagt sie. „Ich wünsche mir, dass die besten Talente an den wichtigsten Themen der Welt arbeiten.“ In ihrer neuen Rolle als Beauftragte für soziale Innovationen im Bundesministerium, die sie im April angetreten hat, kann sie hier sicher einiges bewegen.

TUM Alumna Zarah Bruhn.

Zarah Bruhn (Bild: Urban Zintel).

Zarah Bruhn

Master Wirtschaft mit Technologie 2018

 

Zarah Bruhn studierte Business Administration an der Universität Mannheim. 2014 wechselte sie für ihren Master in Technologie- und Managementorientierter Betriebswirtschaftslehre an die TUM. Schon während des Studiums arbeitete sie bei Wagniskapitalgebern und Private-Equity-Gesellschaften. Doch in der Flüchtlingskrise Ende 2015 bekam sie Lust, die Seiten zu wechseln. Sie gründete das gemeinnützige Unternehmen socialbee, das seither Geflüchtete nachhaltig in den Arbeitsmarkt integriert. Noch in der Anfangszeit der Coronakrise gründete sie 2020 eine digitale Plattform, mit der für Risikogruppen kontaktlos Einkäufe erledigt werden können.

Für ihre sozialunternehmerische Tätigkeit wurde Zarah Bruhn mehrfach ausgezeichnet, etwa mit dem KfW Award Gründen, dem Ashoka Fellowship und dem Female Founders Award der American Chamber of Commerce in Germany. 2019 wurde sie vom Wirtschaftsmagazin Capital unter die Top 40 unter 40 gewählt. Sie tritt als Expertin für Integration und Female Entrepreneurship auf Konferenzen auf, unter anderem bei der Münchner Gründerkonferenz Bits & Pretzels. Seit April 2022 ist sie nie neue Beauftragte für soziale Innovationen des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung.

Zarah Bruhn liebt die Extreme, den Adrenalinrausch in der Höhe beim Klettern und in den Wellen beim Surfen. Den Winter verbringt die erfolgreiche Unternehmerin gerne im Süden und stellt damit gleichzeitig unter Beweis wie gut New Work funktioniert.