TUM Alumni Michael Wax, Erik Muttersbach and Michael Ardelt (f.l.t.r.).

In 2015, TUM Alumni Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach launched their logistics start-up Forto. Since 2017, TUM Alumni Dr. Michael Ardelt has also been part of the company's management team. When it comes to digitization and sustainability, the trio is unrivaled (photo: Forto).

Alumni start-ups
Entrepreneurs Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach
“We take our responsibility very seriously”
08. Dec 2021  |  
Reading time Min.
If politicians had the same conviction and uncompromising approach as TUM Alumni Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach, the ongoing climate crisis would be a thing of the past. With their start-up, they intend to digitize global trade and in the process make it climate-neutral.
With their start-up Forto, Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach want to make a difference – in more than one way. Their logistics platform makes the global delivery of goods more efficient, cost-effective and their customers can track their goods in real time. “Global trade is the backbone of modern prosperity and is still for the most part managed using analog signals,” says Erik Muttersbach. ” Our goal is to fundamentally transform this essential industry by using Artificial Intelligence. With us, shipping goods from Hamburg to Shanghai should be as easy as sending an email.”

NO COMPROMISE

In the early days of their company, the entrepreneurs brought in another TUM Alumni: Dr.-Ing. Michael Ardelt (Diploma Mechanical Engineering 2008, Doctorate Electrical and Computer Engineering 2012). He is responsible for the start-up’s ambitious sustainability strategies. “The logistics industry accounts for six percent of the global greenhouse gases,” says Michael Wax. “Our goal is to make this industry green.” The company is planning to have its entire supply chain one hundred percent carbon-neutral by 2025. Even now, more than fifty percent of its total shipments are carbon-neutral. So, the 2025 target could be reached even sooner than expected. This is possible through smart routing processes such as sea freight and through carbon-offsetting, which is a mandatory part of every quote. The fact that their customers are voluntarily spending more on sustainability makes the entrepreneurs hopeful.

Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach mean business. And so do their employees. Already in the job interview, they are asked about their thoughts on the corporate value of sustainability. “Anyone who can’t give a convincing answer won’t even be hired,” the founders say. “We don’t compromise.”

We want to increase global prosperity while driving sustainability.

Erik Muttersbach

Since its launch at the end of 2015, the Berlin-based start-up has been climate-neutral. There is no meat consumption, they only drink local beer, use green electricity, take buses and trains, and consistently invest in climate and sustainability projects. During working hours, posters and banners are designed for the participation in Fridays for Future demonstrations. “We take our responsibility very seriously,” Erik Muttersbach emphasizes. Both of them do not consider a return to the status quo ante for the purpose of climate protection an option. “It’s not about doing and consuming less. Our goal is to increase global prosperity through the digitization of global trade, while at the same time driving sustainability.”

WELL PREPARED

Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach impress with their energy, drive and incomparable entrepreneurial spirit. At just thirty, the two have already set up seven start-ups together – while they were still high school and university students at TUM. Their extensive entrepreneurial knowledge certainly helps the passionate entrepreneurs with Forto. But also their expertise sets them apart.

Erik Muttersbach is no longer programming himself. But his profound knowledge of software systems quickly earned him the credibility and respect he needed to lead a team of over 150 software engineers as CTO. Michael Wax, who is the CEO and thus responsible for the strategic direction of the company, also to this day draws on his university days. He particularly emphasizes the interdisciplinary elite program Technology Management, which he and Erik Muttersbach completed at the Center for Digital Technology and Management (CDTM). The CDTM is a joint research and teaching institute of TUM and LMU and has made it its mission to complement traditional university education with an emphasis on practical application and a special focus on entrepreneurship. “This outstanding program ultimately sparked the founding of Forto,” says Michael Wax. “We met a lot of smart people and investors there. The time at CDTM was very formative for us.” Last but not least, both founders met their partners in the program.

Thinking Big

Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach have long since achieved their goal of becoming one of the world’s leading freight forwarders. They are tripling their sales from year to year. They now employ more than 700 people at 17 locations in Europe and Asia, including Berlin, Hamburg, Copenhagen, Singapore, Hong Kong and Shanghai. Recently, their start-up has become one of the unicorns, companies that investors believe to be worth at least a billion dollars even before their IPO or a company sale. Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach know what they are doing and know what they want to achieve with their globally positioned team. “We are a sports team that wants to win,” the entrepreneurs say. “In the process, we are always thinking big.”

Forto's Berlin team at a Fridays for Future demonstration.

Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach don't just want to do their time, they want to create something meaningful. Right from the beginning, their start-up Forto has been climate-neutral. They regularly attend the Fridays for Future demonstrations with their Berlin team. (Picture: Forto).

TUM Alumni Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach (left to right).

Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach (left to right) (Picture: Forto).

Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach

Master Industrial Engineering 2015 and Bachelor Informatics 2012, Master 2015

 

From 2012 to 2015, Michael Wax studied Industrial Engineering at TUM. In 2014, he earned an MBA from HKUST Business School Central through distance learning. He completed semesters abroad at Oregon State University and the University of California in Berkeley, USA. While still at university, he set up a software company with four other TUM Alumni in 2014. In his free time, he enjoys ski touring, kite surfing and mountain biking. The Munich native lives in his hometown with his girlfriend.

Erik Muttersbach discovered his passion for Informatics in school. To study at TUM, the Rostock native moved to Munich. Over the past few years, he has founded tech companies with a wide range of focuses, from a mobile app for museums to an online voucher platform and a Big Data cloud platform. The e-commerce company he co-founded was acquired by Google in 2011 for over $100 million. But his mother was not happy until he had earned his master’s degree from TUM in 2015. With his wife and dog Plato, Erik Muttersbach lives in Berlin.

When Michael Wax and Erik Muttersbach completed the supplementary Technology Management program at the Center for Digital Technology and Management at TUM and LMU in 2014 and 2015, their vision of the perfect logistics company was born. Together with the brothers Ferry and Fabian Heilemann, who have since retired from the operational business, they co-founded the start-up Forto (formerly FreightHub) in 2016. With their logistics technologies, they broker transportation for land, air and sea freight for their customers and allow them to digitally manage the global supply chain from manufacturer to the final customer. Each CO₂ compensation of their customers is still doubled by Forto. The goal is not only climate-neutral, but climate-positive global trade.

TUM Alumni Michael Wax, Erik Muttersbach und Michael Ardelt (v.l.n.r.).

2015 gründeten die TUM Alumni Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach ihr Logistik-Start-up Forto. Seit 2017 gehört auch TUM Alumnus Dr. Michael Ardelt zur Führungsriege des Unternehmens. In Sachen Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit ist das Trio unschlagbar (Bild: Forto).

Alumni gründen
Gründer Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach
„Wir nehmen unsere Verantwortung sehr ernst“
08. Dez 2021  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Wenn die Politik so überzeugt und kompromisslos handeln würde wie die TUM Alumni Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach, dann wäre die Klimakrise Schnee von gestern. Mit ihrem Start-up wollen sie den globalen Handel digitalisieren und dabei klimaneutral machen.
Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach wollen mit ihrem Start-up Forto etwas bewegen – und das in mehrfacher Hinsicht. Mit ihrer Logistikplattform machen sie die globale Lieferung von Waren effizienter, kostengünstiger und für ihre Kunden in Echtzeit verfolgbar. „Der globale Handel ist das Rückgrat des modernen Wohlstands und wird nach wie vor größtenteils analog gesteuert“, sagt Erik Muttersbach. „Wir wollen diese essentielle Industrie mithilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz grundlegend verändern. Fracht von Hamburg nach Shanghai soll mit uns genauso einfach wie eine E-Mail verschickt werden.“

OHNE KOMPROMISSE

Schon in der frühen Phase ihres Unternehmens holten die Gründer einen weiteren TUM Alumnus an Bord: Dr. Michael Ardelt (Diplom Maschinenwesen 2008, Promotion Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik 2012). Dieser ist für die ambitionierten Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien des Start-ups verantwortlich. „Die Logistikbranche verursacht sechs Prozent der weltweiten Treibhausgase“, sagt Michael Wax. „Wir wollen diese Industrie grün machen.“ Das Unternehmen plant bis 2025 seine gesamte Lieferkette zu hundert Prozent Co2-neutral zu steuern. Schon jetzt sind über fünfzig Prozent der gesamten Transporte Co2-neutral. Das Ziel für 2025 könnte also früher als erwartet erreicht werden. Möglich ist dies durch smartes Routing wie die Seefahrt und durch Klimakompensation, die in jedem Angebot obligatorisch verankert ist. Dass ihre Kunden freiwillig mehr für Nachhaltigkeit ausgeben, macht die Unternehmer hoffnungsvoll.

Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach meinen es ernst. Ihre Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auch. Schon im Vorstellungsgespräch werden diese auf ihre Einstellung zum Unternehmenswert der Nachhaltigkeit hin befragt. „Wer keine überzeugende Antwort geben kann, wird gar nicht erst eingestellt“, sagen die Gründer. „Wir machen keine Kompromisse.“

Wir wollen den weltweiten Wohlstand steigern und gleichzeitig die Nachhaltigkeit vorantreiben.

Erik Muttersbach

Seit der Gründung Ende 2015 ist das Berliner Start-up klimaneutral. Es wird kein Fleisch gegessen, nur lokales Bier getrunken, grüner Strom genutzt, Bus und Bahn gefahren, konsequent in Klima- und Nachhaltigkeitsprojekte investiert. Während der Arbeitszeit werden Plakate und Banner für die Teilnahme an Fridays for Future-Demos gestaltet. „Wir nehmen unsere Verantwortung sehr ernst“, betont Erik Muttersbach. Von einer Rückkehr zum Status quo ante zum Zweck des Klimaschutzes halten die beiden nichts. „Es geht nicht darum, weniger zu handeln und zu konsumieren. Unser Ziel ist es vielmehr, durch die Digitalisierung des globalen Handels den weltweiten Wohlstand zu steigern und gleichzeitig die Nachhaltigkeit voranzutreiben.“

GUT GERÜSTET

Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach überzeugen durch Energie, Elan und einen unvergleichlichen Unternehmergeist. Mit ihren gerade einmal dreißig Jahren haben beide zusammen bereits sieben Start-ups gegründet – noch als Schüler und Studenten der TUM. Bei Forto helfen den passionierten Unternehmern gewiss ihre umfangreichen Entrepreneurship-Kenntnisse. Doch auch ihr Fachwissen macht den feinen Unterschied.

Erik Muttersbach programmiert selbst nicht mehr. Aber durch sein profundes Wissen um Softwaresysteme handelte er sich rasch die Glaubwürdigkeit und den nötigen Respekt ein, um als CTO ein Team aus über 150 Softwareingenieuren zu leiten. Auch Michael Wax, der als CEO für die strategische Ausrichtung des Unternehmens verantwortlich ist, zehrt bis heute von seiner Studienzeit. Er hebt vor allem den interdisziplinären Elitestudiengang Technology Management hervor, den er und Erik Muttersbach am Center for Digital Technology and Management (CDTM) durchliefen. Das CDTM ist ein gemeinsames Forschungs- und Lehrinstitut von TUM und LMU und hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, klassische Universitätsausbildung anwendungsorientiert und mit einem speziellen Fokus auf Entrepreneurship zu ergänzen. „Dieses hervorragende Programm war letztlich ausschlaggebend für die Gründung von Forto“, sagt Michael Wax. „Wir lernten dort viele smarte Leute und Investoren kennen. Die Zeit am CDTM war für uns sehr prägend.“ Nicht zuletzt lernten beide Gründer im Programm ihre Lebenspartnerinnen kennen.

GROSS DENKEN

Ihr Ziel, unter die weltweit führenden Speditionen zu kommen, haben Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach schon längst erreicht. Ihren Umsatz verdreifachen sie von Jahr zu Jahr. Inzwischen beschäftigen sie mehr als 700 Mitarbeitende an 17 Standorten in Europa und Asien, darunter Berlin, Hamburg, Kopenhagen, Singapur, Hongkong und Shanghai. Jüngst ist ihr Start-up zu den so genannten Einhörnern aufgestiegen, die noch vor ihrem Börsengang oder einem Unternehmensverkauf von Investoren auf mindestens eine Milliarde Dollar Unternehmenswert geschätzt werden. Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach wissen, was sie tun, und wissen, was sie mit ihrem global präsenten Team erreichen wollen. „Wir sind eine Sportmannschaft, die gewinnen möchte“, sagen die Unternehmer. „Wir denken dabei immer groß.“

Das Berliner Forto-Team auf einer Fridays for Future-Demonstration.

Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach wollen nicht einfach ihre Zeit absitzen, sondern sinnvoll gestalten. Von Anfang an ist ihr Start-up Forto klimaneutral. Mit ihrem Berliner Team sind sie regelmäßig auf den Fridays for Future-Demonstrationen (Bild: Forto).

TUM Alumnui Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach (v.l.n.r.).

Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach (v.l.n.r.) (Bild: Forto).

Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach

Master Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen 2015 und

Bachelor Informatik 2012, Master 2015

 

Von 2012 bis 2015 studierte Michael Wax an der TUM Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen. 2014 erwarb er im Fernstudium an der HKUST Business School Central den MBA. Er absolvierte Auslandssemester an der Oregon State University und der University of California in Berkeley, USA. Noch während des Studiums gründete er 2014 mit vier weiteren TUM Alumni ein Softwareunternehmen. In seiner Freizeit geht er gerne Skitouren, Kitesurfen oder Mountainbiken. Mit seiner Freundin lebt der gebürtige Münchner in seiner Heimatstadt.

Erik Muttersbach entdeckte seine Leidenschaft für Informatik schon in der Schule. Für das Studium an der TUM zog der Rostocker nach München. In den letzten Jahren gründete er Tech-Unternehmen mit vielfältigen Schwerpunkten, von der mobilen App für Museen über eine Online-Gutscheinplattform bis hin zur Big-Data-Cloud-Plattform. Die von ihm mitgegründete e-Commerce-Firma wurde 2011 von Google für über 100 Million US-Dollar gekauft. Glücklich war seine Mutter aber erst, als er 2015 den Master von der TUM in der Tasche hatte. Erik Muttersbach lebt mit Frau und Hund Plato in Berlin.

Als Michael Wax und Erik Muttersbach in den Jahren 2014 und 2015 am Center for Digital Technology and Management von TUM und LMU den Zusatzstudiengang Technology Management absolvierten, entstand ihre Vision von der perfekten Spedition. Gemeinsam mit den Brüdern Ferry und Fabian Heilemann, die sich inzwischen aus dem operativen Geschäft zurückgezogen haben, gründeten sie 2016 das Start-up Forto (ehem. FreightHub). Mit ihren Logistiktechnologien vermitteln sie ihren Kunden Transportkapazitäten für Land-, Luft- und Seefracht und eröffnen diesen die Möglichkeit, die globale Lieferkette vom Hersteller bis zum Endkunden digital zu steuern. Jede CO2-Kompensation ihrer Kunden wird von Forto noch verdoppelt. Das Ziel ist nicht nur klimaneutraler, sondern klimapositiver globaler Handel.