Alumni start-ups
Entrepreneurs Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Nam Truong
“Our aim is to revolutionize the use of energy”
The founding team of STABL Energy (from left to right): TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich and Dr. Nam Truong as well as Martin Sprehe.
01. Apr 2022  |  
Reading time Min.

In 2019, TUM alumni Christoph Dietrich, Dr. Nam Truong and Dr. Arthur Singer founded their start-up STABL Energy together with Martin Sprehe. Their innovative battery storage systems are the solution to the two challenges of the energy transition - grid stabilization and solar and wind doldrums (Image: Viktor Schwenk).

With their start-up, TUM Alumni Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich and Nam Truong have developed a groundbreaking technology for the switch to clean energy. TUM played a key role in supporting the founders’ team in their endeavor.
As we move toward climate neutrality, battery storage systems are considered a key technology. As more and more of the large centralized coal and nuclear power plants are shut down and are being replaced by scores of small and decentralized wind turbines and solar panels in the future, storage systems will keep the grid stable. And whenever there is no wind or no sun and thus no energy, they will feed the already stored solar and wind energy into the grid.

The power conversion technology developed by TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer (Diploma Electrical and Computer Engineering 2012), Christoph Dietrich (Master Management & Technology 2018) and Dr. Nam Truong (Diploma Electrical and Computer Engineering 2013, Doctorate 2018) make such battery storage systems more efficient, safer, cheaper and, above all, more environmentally friendly. “Our technology is taking us into uncharted territory,” the entrepreneurs say. “We want to usher in a new era of battery storage and revolutionize the sustainable use of energy. Energy has to be cheap and available at all times.”

BATTERY STORAGE SYSTEMS 2.0

Never had the TUM Alumni thought that they would start a technology company. But through their majors and research projects, they found a passion they shared: they wanted to develop an innovative solution to overcome the weaknesses of conventional battery storage systems. Arthur Singer had already done research on a promising electrical engineering approach in 2012 as part of his diploma thesis at TUM. He pursued the approach further in his doctorate at the University of the Federal Armed Forces Munich. He was offered funding for this groundbreaking subject through the EXIST research transfer program of the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection.

Then suddenly, everything happened very quickly. Arthur Singer brought in electrical engineer Nam Truong, who brought in Christoph Dietrich to take over commercial management of the business. Electrical engineer Martin Sprehe from the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences made the team complete. In 2019, they launched STABL Energy GmbH (at that time called m-Bee). Just as quickly as they had set up the company, the four entrepreneurs turned their university research into a working product with its first customers.

A well functioning team is at least as important as a well functioning product.

The start-up’s innovative approach is based on two modifications to the battery storage systems previously available on the market. Firstly, a modular concept for battery systems: it guarantees a high level of reliability and improves safety during operation and installation. In addition, this so-called multilevel approach wastes less energy during conversion, which in turn reduces the operational costs of the storage systems. And secondly, the seamless and easy integration of recycled second-life batteries from electric cars: this increases the life-cycle of these batteries, reduces their resource consumption and has a positive impact on the environment. “What is happening with batteries today is a blatant waste of resources,” the TUM Alumni emphasize. “With our technology these batteries can continue to be used and thus contribute to a sustainable and cost-effective switch to clean energy.”

WE WOULDN’T EXIST WITHOUT TUM

The exchange with researchers from the TUM.Battery project of TUM’s Munich Institute of Integrated Materials, Energy and Process Engineering was of great value for the young entrepreneurs as they developed their approach further. As part of the Design Enterprise funding program, their final company name and corporate identity were designed by the TUM Chair of Industrial Design. TUM set the course not only in terms of content and looks, but also financially: Investors got to know the young entrepreneurs through TUM’s start-up consulting services and UnternehmerTUM, as well as through networking events and start-up related platforms such as the TUM IDEAward and the TUM Entrepreneurship Day. With the latest financing round, they now have 4.5 million euros in venture capital at their disposal.

The TUM Alumni agree that today, as entrepreneurs, they particularly benefit from the ability to work independently and in a self-organized manner, which they learned as students at TUM. “At TUM, we learned that you are responsible for your own success or failure,” they emphasize. “Also as entrepreneurs, we need to be self-organized, decide what is important and prioritize.” It comes as no surprise that Arthur Singer, Nam Truong and Christoph Dietrich are keen to recruit TUM Alumni to their ever-growing team. Seven of their twelve employees hail from TUM, and many of the working students have come directly through the TUM:EI:adveisor program. “A start-up needs people who don’t just want to be a small cog in the machine of a big company and are willing to take responsibility and show initiative quickly,” they explain. “We have had very good experiences with TUM Students and Alumni in this regard. A well functioning team is at least as important as a well functioning product.”

TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich, Dr. Nam Truong sowie Mitgründer Martin Sprehe.

Die TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Dr. Nam Truong sowie Mitgründer Martin Sprehe (Bild: STABL Energy).

Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Dr. Nam Truong

Diploma Electrical and Computer Engineering 2012 

Master Management & Technology 2018

Diploma Electrical and Computer Engineering 2013, Doctorate 2018

 

Because the unique blend of management studies with a strong focus on engineering  really appealed to him, Christoph Dietrich enrolled in the Technology & Management program at TUM. In 2015, he completed his Bachelor’s degree, followed by a Master’s in 2018. Here he particularly focused on topics related to power management, energy use, and battery storage technologies. Christoph Dietrich rides his bicycle 30 kilometers to work every day.

In school Nam Truong breezed through subjects like Maths and Physics. Because of its reputation as a renowned elite university, he subsequently came to TUM to study Electrical and Computer Engineering.  In 2013, he earned his diploma, and in 2018, he completed his doctorate at the Institute for Electrical Energy Storage Technology. Here he played a leading role in the development of a simulation tool for the analysis and optimization of stationary battery systems. Only sporadically, but with passion, Nam Truong still does the Thai national sport Muay Thai in his spare time. In 2016, he was the German champion in Muay Thai boxing. To participate in the world championship TUM was more than happy to give him days off.

In 2019, TUM Alumni Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich and Nam Truong founded STABL Energy GmbH (then still m-Bee ) together with Martin Sprehe. The start-up develops power electronics for a modular design of battery storage systems, which are considered key components for integrating renewable energy generation and electromobility. With their start-up the entrepreneurs want to make their contribution to climate protection – in the hope that many others will follow.

Alumni gründen
Gründer Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Nam Truong
„Wir wollen die Energienutzung revolutionieren“
Das Gründerteam von STABL Energy (v.l.n.r.): TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Dr. Nam Truong sowie Martin Sprehe.
01. Apr 2022  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.

2019 gründeten die TUM Alumni Christoph Dietrich, Dr. Nam Truong und Dr. Arthur Singer gemeinsam mit Martin Sprehe ihr Start-up STABL Energy. Ihre innovativen Batteriespeicher sind bei den beiden Herausforderungen der Energiewende – Netzstabilisierung sowie Sonnen- und Windflaute – die Lösung (Bild: Viktor Schwenk).

Mit ihrem Start-up entwickelten die TUM Alumni Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Nam Truong eine bahnbrechende Technologie für die Energiewende. Die TUM hat das Gründerteam hierbei maßgeblich unterstützt.
Auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität gelten Batteriespeicher als Schlüsseltechnologie. Wenn in Zukunft immer mehr der großen zentralen Kohle- und Atomkraftwerke abgeschaltet und durch viele kleine und dezentrale Windanlagen und Solarpanels ersetzt werden, kann durch Speicher das Energienetz stabil gehalten werden. Und wenn bei Wind und Sonne Flaute herrscht und somit keine Energie zur Verfügung steht, speisen sie die bereits gespeicherte Sonnen- und Windenergie in das Netz ein.

Die von den TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer (Diplom Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik 2012), Christoph Dietrich (Master Management & Technology 2018) und Dr. Nam Truong (Diplom Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik 2013, Promotion 2018) entwickelte Leistungselektronik macht solche Batteriespeicher effizienter, sicherer, günstiger und vor allem umweltfreundlicher. „Mit unserem technologischen Ansatz befahren wir unbekanntes Land“, sagen die Gründer. „Wir wollen eine neue Ära der Batteriespeicher einläuten und die nachhaltige Energienutzung revolutionieren. Energie muss günstig und zu jeder Zeit verfügbar sein.“

BATTERIESPEICHER 2.0

Dass sie gemeinsam ein Technologieunternehmen gründen würden, hätten die TUM Alumni nicht gedacht. Doch durch ihre Studienschwerpunkte und Forschungsprojekte fanden sie eine gemeinsame Passion: Sie wollten die Schwachstellen konventioneller Batteriespeicher durch eine innovative Lösung beheben. Einen elektrotechnischen Ansatz, der hier vielversprechend ist, erforschte Arthur Singer bereits im Jahr 2012 im Rahmen seiner Diplomarbeit an der TUM. In seiner Promotion an der Universität der Bundeswehr München verfolgte er den Ansatz weiter. Schließlich wurde ihm dort vorgeschlagen, die zukunftsweisende Thematik durch den EXIST-Forschungstransfer des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz fördern zu lassen.

Auf einmal ging alles Schlag auf Schlag. Arthur Singer holte Elektroingenieur Nam Truong ins Boot, dieser akquirierte Christoph Dietrich für den kaufmännischen Bereich. Elektroingenieur Martin Sprehe von der Hochschule Osnabrück vervollständigte das Team. 2019 gründeten sie die STABL Energy GmbH (damals noch m-Bee). Genauso schnell wie sie gegründet hatten, verwandelten die vier Gründer ihre Universitätsforschung in ein funktionierendes Produkt mit ersten Kunden.

Ein funktionierendes Team ist mindestens genauso wichtig wie ein funktionierendes Produkt.

Zwei Modifikationen der bisher auf dem Markt befindlichen Batteriespeichersysteme zeichnen hierbei den neuen Ansatz des Start-ups aus. Erstens das Konzept eines modularen Batteriesystems: Dieses garantiert eine sehr hohe Ausfallsicherheit und verbessert im Betrieb und bei der Installation die Sicherheit. Außerdem geht durch diesen sogenannten Multilevel-Ansatz weniger Energie bei der Umwandlung verloren, was wiederum die operativen Kosten der Speicher senkt. Und zweitens die nahtlose und einfache Integration von ausrangierten Antriebsbatterien aus Elektrofahrzeugen: Dies erhöht die Lebenszeit dieser Batterien, reduziert ihren Ressourcenverbrauch und wirkt sich positiv auf die Umwelt aus. „Was heutzutage mit Batterien geschieht, ist eine krasse Ressourcenverschwendung“, betonen die TUM Alumni. „Wir machen es möglich, diese Batterien weiter zu nutzen und so einen Beitrag für eine nachhaltige und kostenoptimierte Energiewende zu leisten.“

OHNE DIE TUM GÄBE ES UNS NICHT

Der Austausch mit den Forscherinnen und Forschern des Projekts TUM.Battery des Munich Institute of Integrated Materials, Energy and Process Engineering der TUM war für die jungen Unternehmer bei der Weiterentwicklung ihres Ansatzes sehr wertvoll. Ihr finaler Firmenname und ihre Corporate Identity wurden im Rahmen des Förderprogramms Design Enterprise vom TUM-Lehrstuhl für Industrial Design entworfen. Nicht nur inhaltlich und optisch, sondern auch finanziell stellte die TUM die Weichen: Investoren lernten die jungen Unternehmer über die Gründungsberatung von TUM und UnternehmerTUM sowie über Netzwerkveranstaltungen und Plattformen für Start-ups wie den TUM IDEAward und den TUM Entrepreneurship Day kennen. Seit der jüngsten Finanzierungsrunde stehen ihnen 4,5 Millionen Euro Risikokapital zur Verfügung.

Einig sind sich die TUM Alumni darin, dass ihnen heute als Unternehmer insbesondere das selbstständige und eigenorganisierte Arbeiten zugute kommt, das die TUM sie in ihrer Studienzeit gelehrt hat. „An der TUM lernten wir, dass man selbst für seinen Erfolg oder Misserfolg zuständig ist“, bekräftigen sie. „Auch als Unternehmer müssen wir eigenorganisiert vorgehen, entscheiden was wichtig ist und priorisieren.“ Kein Wunder, dass sich Arthur Singer, Nam Truong und Christoph Dietrich gerne TUM Alumni in ihr stetig wachsendes Team holen. Sieben von zwölf Mitarbeitenden kommen von der TUM, viele der Werkstudenten kommen direkt über das TUM:EI:adveisor-Programm. „In einem Start-up sind Menschen gefordert, die kein kleines Rädchen in einem großen Unternehmen sein wollen, sondern schnell bereit sind, Verantwortung zu übernehmen und Eigeninitiative zu zeigen“, erklären sie. „Mit Studierenden und Alumni der TUM haben wir diesbezüglich sehr gute Erfahrungen gemacht. Ein funktionierendes Team ist mindestens genauso wichtig wie ein funktionierendes Produkt.“

TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich, Dr. Nam Truong sowie Mitgründer Martin Sprehe.

Die TUM Alumni Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Dr. Nam Truong sowie Mitgründer Martin Sprehe (Bild: STABL Energy).

Dr. Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Dr. Nam Truong

Diplom Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik 2012

Master Management & Technology 2018

Diplom Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik 2013, Promotion 2018

 

Sein großes Interesse an Technik und vor allem an Elektronik bekam Arthur Singer aus seinem Elternhaus mit auf den Weg. Sein Vater war Elektroingenieur, der eine Großvater war Elektriker, der andere Maschinenbauingenieur. Da die TUM einen hervorragenden Ruf auf dem Gebiet des Elektroingenieurwesens besitzt, entschloss sich Arthur Singer zum Studium der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik an der TUM. 2012 schloss er hier sein Diplom ab. 2013 folgte der Master of Business Administration am Collège des Ingénieurs in München. Von 2014 bis 2019 promovierte er in Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik an der Universität der Bundeswehr München. Mit seiner Frau und seinen zwei kleinen Kindern ist Arthur Singer privat ziemlich ausgelastet. In seiner Wohngegend kennt er fast alle Spielplätze.

Da ihn die einmalige Kombination aus Betriebswirtschaftsstudium mit starken ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Bezügen reizte, studierte Christoph Dietrich Technologie- und Managementorientierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der TUM. 2015 schloss er den Bachelor in Management & Technology ab, 2018 folgte der Master. Hier setzte er sich insbesondere mit Themen der Energiewirtschaft, Energieanwendung und mit Batterie-Speichertechnologien auseinander. Christoph Dietrich fährt täglich 30 Kilometer mit dem Fahrrad ins Büro.

Schon in der Schulzeit fielen Nam Truong Fächer wie Mathematik und Physik sehr leicht. Um Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik zu studieren, entschied er sich für die TUM als einer renommierten technischen Universität. 2013 schloss er sein Diplom ab, 2018 folgte die Promotion am Lehrstuhl für Elektrische Energiespeichertechnik. Hier war er federführend bei der Entwicklung eines Simulationswerkzeugs zur Analyse und Optimierung von stationären Batteriesystemen beteiligt. Nur noch sporadisch, aber dennoch mit Leidenschaft betreibt Nam Truong in seiner Freizeit den thailändischen Nationalsport Muay Thai. 2016 war er Deutscher Meister im Muay Thai-Boxen. Für die Teilnahme an der WM bekam er von der TUM sogar Urlaubstage geschenkt.

2019 gründeten die TUM Alumni Arthur Singer, Christoph Dietrich und Nam Truong gemeinsam mit Martin Sprehe die STABL Energy GmbH (damals noch m-Bee). Das Start-up entwickelt Leistungselektronik für einen modularen Aufbau von Batteriespeichersystemen, die als Schlüsselkomponenten für die Integration erneuerbarer Energieerzeugung und die Elektromobilität gelten. Mit dem Start-up wollen die Gründer ihren Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leisten – in der Hoffnung, dass das auch viele andere tun.