Portrait picture of Sofía Ramírez Bernini

Sofía Ramírez Bernini (Picture: Magdalena Jooß/TUM).

Alumni start-ups

Entrepreneur Sofía Ramírez Bernini

“The passion for the idea has to always be greater than the fear of the risk”

15. Aug 2022
Reading time Min.
TUM Alumna Sofía Ramírez Bernini aspires to help shape the future of her Caribbean homeland and the world. With her start-up, she is developing technologies to produce energy in a sustainable and carbon-negative way.
Most Caribbean islands depend on imported fossil fuels for their energy supply. While there is a drive to produce energy locally and sustainably, for example through biogas production, the islands are too small to grow the required raw materials in sufficient quantities. TUM Alumna Sofía Ramírez, a native of Costa Rica, is working on a solution to this problem. Instead of planting trees on land as a source material, she wants to grow algae in the ocean. “I want to make a significant contribution to greater sustainability,” she says. “Doing good feels good.”

ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE

Even as a child, Sofía Ramírez Bernini wanted to understand the world in its fundamental relationships. She wanted to study Physics, and she wanted to study it in Munich. From a school exchange, she already knew the Bavarian capital. Above all, she was drawn to the centuries-old architecture and the proximity to the mountains. So she decided to study Engineering Physics/Applied Physics at TUM. However, right from the start she knew that she would not pursue a career in science. Sofía Ramírez Bernini is a doer. Like her father and her two uncles, she wanted to become an entrepreneur.

Studying at TUM instilled in me the confidence that it is possible to get familiar with almost anything.

Sofía Ramírez Bernini

When she completed her master’s in 2018, Sofía Ramírez Bernini joined the student initiative WARR Hyperloop. It had been launched at TUM to participate in Elon Musk’s SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition. The goal of the competition was to develop and build a prototype pod. As a physicist, Sofía Ramírez Bernini was a lateral entrant in the project, which was very much focused on engineering. Yet after only a short time, she was in charge of developing the batteries, then the entire driver’s cab of the high-speed train. “Studying at TUM instilled in me the confidence that it is possible to get familiar with almost anything,” she says. “Working on the Hyperloop team showed me how important teamwork is.”

SUSTAINABLE CARBON KILLER

This realization and their shared interest in sustainability led Sofía Ramírez Bernini and two of her colleagues from the Hyperloop team, Joachim Sturm (Diploma Aerospace 2012) and Tim Simon Klose (Bachelor Aerospace, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering 2019) to set up their own business in 2022.

TUM Alumni Sofía Ramírez Bernini, Tim Klose and Joachim Sturm had already worked together on the TUM Hyperloop project. They quickly realized that they are a strong team even under stress. In 2022, they launched their own start-up. Using algae, they want to make energy production sustainable (photo: private).
According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, it will take five to ten gigatons of carbon-negative emissions by 2050 to limit global warming to 1.5 degrees Celsius. Carbon-negative energy refers to energy production that removes more greenhouse gases from the atmosphere than it releases. Current technologies have virtually no way of absorbing atmospheric carbon dioxide on gigaton level. They either require vast areas of land, consume large amounts of energy, or require expensive infrastructure.
Sofía Ramírez Bernini and her co-founders seem to have found a way out of this dilemma with the technology that they want to develop. They familiarized themselves with the new field from scratch, researching, analyzing and calculating – and were finally able to identify macroalgae as the ideal carbon killer: These grow sustainably in the ocean and could absorb nearly two gigatons of carbon dioxide per year. If algae were used to produce biogas, which would then be used to generate electricity, the result would be carbon-negative energy.

PERFECT SETTING FOR DEVELOPMENT

In order to be able to turn their ambitious project into reality, the founding team needs expert support. UnternehmerTUM offered them access to personalized coaching, start-up advice and financial support. And the TUM Venture Lab Food/Agro/Biotech supports them both intellectually and with an extensive infrastructure of laboratories and technical equipment. As centers for business innovation, the TUM Venture Labs promote spin-offs at the interfaces of Engineering, the Natural and Life Sciences, AI/IT, and Medicine with a wide range of support.

Since the year she launched her company, Sofía Ramírez Bernini has been working as Operations Manager for the TUM Venture Labs herself. She hopes to encourage other founders to follow their intuition, too. “The passion for a start-up idea has to always be greater than the fear of the risk,” she says. “And if you do happen to fail, you’ll have learned something new.”

TUM Alumna Sofía Ramírez Bernini.

Sofía Ramírez Bernini (Picture: Magdalena Jooß/TUM).

Sofía Ramírez Bernini

Master Engineering Physics/Applied Physics 2015

 

A native to Costa Rica, she earned a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Physics from TUM. During her studies, she joined the student initiative WARR Hyperloop. It had been launched at TUM to participate in Elon Musk’s SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition. The students taking part in the initiative were able to win all four Hyperloop competitions in a row, reaching top speeds of up to 467 km/h with the 80-kg pod they developed.
With Joachim Sturm and Tim Simon Klose, colleagues from the TUM Hyperloop project, she co-founded the start-up 1point8 in 2022. The three TUM Alumni want to develop technologies that have the potential to absorb carbon dioxide at gigaton level and generate carbon-negative energy.
In her free time, Sofía Ramírez Bernini likes to play the violin or soak up the great outdoors around Munich.

Porträtbild von Sofía Ramírez Bernini

Sofía Ramírez Bernini (Bild: Magdalena Jooß/TUM).

Alumni gründen

Gründerin Sofía Ramírez Bernini

„Die Begeisterung für die Idee muss größer sein als die Angst vor dem Risiko“

15. Aug 2022
Lesezeit ca. Min.
TUM Alumna Sofía Ramírez Bernini will die Zukunft ihrer karibischen Heimat und der ganzen Welt mitgestalten. Mit ihrem Start-up entwickelt sie Technologien, die zum Ziel haben, Energie nachhaltig und CO2-negativ zu produzieren.
Die meisten karibischen Inseln sind bei der Energieversorgung von importierten fossilen Brennstoffen abhängig. Zwar ist der Wille zu lokaler und nachhaltiger Energiegewinnung wie etwa durch Biogasproduktion vorhanden, doch sind die Inseln zu klein, um die hierfür erforderlichen Rohstoffe in ausreichenden Mengen anzubauen. TUM Alumna Sofía Ramírez, die gebürtig aus Costa Rica stammt, arbeitet an einer Lösung für dieses Problem. Anstatt an Land Bäume als Ausgangsmaterial zu pflanzen, will sie Algen im Ozean züchten. „Ich möchte einen entscheidenden Beitrag zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit leisten“, sagt sie. „Es fühlt sich gut an, Gutes zu tun.“

ALLES IST MÖGLICH

Schon als Kind wollte Sofía Ramírez Bernini verstehen, wie die Welt in ihren grundlegenden Zusammenhängen funktioniert. Sie wollte Physik studieren und zwar in München. Durch einen Schüleraustausch kannte sie die bayerische Landeshauptstadt bereits. Vor allem die jahrhundertealte Architektur und die Nähe zu den Bergen hatten es ihr angetan. Sie entschied sich für das Studium in Engineering Physics/Applied Physics an der TUM. Doch bereits von Anfang an war ihr klar, dass sie später einmal keine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn einschlagen würde. Sofía Ramírez Bernini ist eine Macherin. Wie ihr Vater und ihre beiden Onkel wollte sie Unternehmerin werden.

Mein Studium an der TUM gab mir das Selbstbewusstsein, dass man sich in fast alles einarbeiten kann.

Sofía Ramírez Bernini

Als sie 2018 ihren Master abgeschlossen hatte, trat Sofía Ramírez Bernini der studentischen Initiative WARR Hyperloop bei. Diese war an der TUM ins Leben gerufen worden, um an der von Elon Musk ausgerufenen SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition teilzunehmen. Das Ziel des Wettbewerbs war es, einen Kapsel-Prototypen zu entwickeln und zu bauen. Als Physikerin war Sofía Ramírez Bernini in dem sehr auf die Ingenieurswissenschaften ausgerichteten Projekt eine Quereinsteigerin. Doch schon nach kurzer Zeit war sie federführend bei der Entwicklung der Akkus, dann der gesamten Fahrerkabine des Hochgeschwindigkeitszuges zuständig. „Mein Studium an der TUM hatte mir das Selbstbewusstsein gegeben, dass man sich in fast alles einarbeiten kann“, sagt sie. „Die Arbeit im Hyperloop-Team hat mir gezeigt, wie wichtig Teamwork ist.“

NACHHALTIGER CO2-KILLER

Diese Erkenntnis und ihr gemeinsames Interesse an Nachhaltigkeit führten Sofía Ramírez Bernini und zwei ihrer Kollegen aus dem Hyperloop-Team, Joachim Sturm (Diplom Luft- und Raumfahrt 2012) und Tim Simon Klose (Bachelor Aerospace, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering 2019) im Jahr 2022 zur Gründung ihres eigenen Start-ups.

Schon im TUM Hyperloop-Projekt arbeiteten die TUM Alumni Sofía Ramírez Bernini, Tim Klose und Joachim Sturm zusammen. Sie merkten schnell, dass sie selbst unter Stress ein starkes Team sind. 2022 gründeten sie ihr eigenes Start-up. Mithilfe von Algen wollen sie die Energieproduktion nachhaltig machen (Bild: Privat).
Um die globale Erwärmung auf 1,5 Grad Celsius zu begrenzen, braucht die Welt laut dem Weltklimarat bis zum Jahr 2050 fünf bis zehn Gigatonnen an CO2-negativen Emissionen. Unter CO2-negativer Energie versteht man eine Energieproduktion, die der Atmosphäre mehr Treibhausgase entnimmt als sie in diese abgibt. Für aktuelle Technologien ist es kaum möglich, atmosphärisches CO2 im Gigatonnenmaßstab zu absorbieren. Sie benötigen entweder riesige Landflächen, verbrauchen große Mengen an Energie oder erfordern kostspielige Infrastrukturen.

Mit der Technologie, die Sofía Ramírez Bernini und ihre Mitgründer entwickeln wollen, scheinen sie einen Ausweg aus diesem Dilemma gefunden zu haben. Sie haben sich in das neue Gebiet von der Pike auf eingearbeitet, haben recherchiert, analysiert und kalkuliert – und konnten schließlich Makroalgen als idealen CO2-Killer identifizieren: Diese wachsen nachhaltig im Meer und könnten pro Jahr fast zwei Gigatonnen CO2 absorbieren. Wenn die Algen zur Erzeugung von Biogas und dieses zur Erzeugung von Strom verwendet würde, entstünde CO2-negative Energie.

IDEALE ENTWICKLUNGSUMGEBUNG

Um ihr ambitioniertes Vorhaben in die Tat umsetzen zu können, ist das Gründerteam auf die Unterstützung von Experten angewiesen. Durch die UnternehmerTUM bekamen sie Zugang zu maßgeschneidertem Coaching, Gründungsberatung sowie finanzielle Unterstützung. Und auch das TUM Venture Lab Food/Agro/Biotech unterstützt sie intellektuell, mit einer umfangreichen Laborinfrastruktur und mit technischem Equipment. Als unternehmerische Innovationszentren treiben die TUM Venture Labs Ausgründungen an den Schnittstellen von Ingenieur-, Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften, KI/IT und Medizin mit umfangreichen Fördermaßnahmen voran.

Seit dem Jahr ihrer Unternehmensgründung arbeitet Sofía Ramírez Bernini selbst als Operations Managerin für die TUM Venture Labs. Sie möchte auch anderen Gründerinnen und Gründern Mut machen, ihrer Intuition zu folgen. „Die Begeisterung für eine Gründungsidee muss immer größer sein als die Angst vor dem Risiko“, sagt sie. „Und wenn man doch scheitern sollte, hat man wieder etwas Neues dazugelernt.“

TUM Alumna Sofía Ramírez Bernini.

Sofía Ramírez Bernini (Bild: Magdalena Jooß/TUM).

Sofía Ramírez Bernini

Master Engineering Physics/Applied Physics 2015

 

Die gebürtige Costa-Ricanerin hat an der TUM im Bachelor- und Masterstudium Physik studiert. Während ihres Studiums trat sie der studentischen Initiative WARR Hyperloop bei. Diese war an der TUM ins Leben gerufen worden, um an der von Elon Musk ausgerufenen SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition teilzunehmen. Die Studierenden der Initiative konnten alle vier Hyperloop-Wettbewerbe in Folge gewinnen und erreichten mit der von ihnen entwickelten 80-kg-Kapsel dabei Höchstgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 482 km/h.

Gemeinsam mit Kollegen aus dem TUM Hyperloop Projekt, Joachim Sturm und Tim Simon Klose, gründete sie 2022 das Start-up 1point8. Die drei TUM Alumni wollen Technologien entwickeln, die das Potenzial haben, CO2 im Gigatonnenmaßstab zu absorbieren und CO2-negative Energie zu erzeugen.  

In ihrer Freizeit spielt Sofía Ramírez Bernini gerne Geige oder genießt die Natur im Münchner Umland.