TUM Alumni Florian Schimandl, Monja Mühling and Dr. Mathias Baur.

TUM Alumni Florian Schimandl, Monja Mühling and Dr. Mathias Baur (from left to right) met by chance at UnternehmerTUM and immediately hit it off. Just a short time later, they formed the start-up Smartlane. Monja Mühling had never planned to set up a business. Today, she is the company's Managing Director (Pciture: Smartlane).

Alumni start-ups
Entrepreneur Monja Mühling
“I have always wanted to use my ideas to make a difference”
28. Jul 2021  |  
Reading time Min.
Already during her school years, Monja Mühling knew that she wanted to learn the basic principles of Business Administration, but only if combined with a technical dimension. The degree program Management & Technology at TUM fully met her requirements. And so she moved from Odenwald to Munich to study.
Already during her school years, Monja Mühling knew that she wanted to learn the basic principles of Business Administration, but only if combined with a technical dimension. The degree program Management & Technology at TUM fully met her requirements. And so she moved from Odenwald to Munich to study.

LINCHPIN TUM

In the framework of her Master’s thesis at UnternehmerTUM, Monja Mühling met the two TUM Alumni Mathias Baur (Doctorate Informatics 2015) and Florian Schimandl (Diploma Informatics 2006), who were about to launch their own company. Based on Mathias Baur’s dissertation, they wanted to use of Artificial Intelligence to optimize processes in the field of Mobility and Transport.

The algorithms for the ambitious project had already been devised. But the two computer scientists still lacked a third comrade-in-arms to add the necessary business expertise. Monja Mühling came along just at the right time. She was immediately enthusiastic about the start-up idea and was both professionally and personally able to convince Mathias Baur and Florian Schimandl. In 2015, the three TUM Alumni established their start-up Smartlane (German: intelligente Fahrspur). “Through my internships, I actually already had great jobs lined up,” says Monja Mühling. “But I said to myself: when to start a company, if not now.”

You can never be prepared for everything. But TUM gave me a lot of tools to take with me.

Monja Mühling

With UnternehmerTUM, Europe’s largest center for innovation and start-ups, the young entrepreneurs had found an excellent sparring partner. The three made extensive use of the seminars offered as part of the KICKSTART program for business training. Here, they learned from the ground up what the perfect business plan looks like and how to properly present it to investors. They also received training in patent law. The other start-up teams they met were like-minded and together they form a valuable network for the future.

READY FOR THE CHALLENGE

Today, the company has made it to the fast lane and solely operates in the key account market. To a large extent, this is due to Monja Mühling’s ambition and commitment. She played an important role in the strategic development of the product and the target group. While her co-founders originally had their sights set on the Transport Technology sector, Monja Mühling was able to identify the still relatively analog logistics industry as a much more promising market niche. As the only business graduate in the company, she built up the Finance, Accounting, Sales and Marketing from scratch. She conducted customer meetings and negotiations with investors and was able to raise millions from major backers such as the well-known TV investor Frank Thelen.

Monja Mühling attributes the fact that she succeeded in all this so well above all to the high level of practical relevance in the teaching at TUM. Here, she was frequently given the opportunity to learn the tricks of the trade from big industry names, such as guest speaker Siemens manager Joe Kaeser. Also the courses on specific entrepreneurship topics and negotiation strategies at UnternehmerTUM helped her feel well armed for her tasks. “You can never be prepared for everything,” she says. “But TUM gave me a lot of tools to take with me. In my work, I am applying my knowledge unaltered on a daily basis.”

FREEDOM TO DREAM

Monja Mühling acquired far more than precious expertise at TUM. Her demanding degree program also honed her perseverance and her will to succeed — qualities that now allow her to think big in her company and to take the necessary risks with level-headedness. “Mastering challenges and making the impossible possible is basically my creed,” she says. “It’s what I live by, and what we do as a team. And that is why we are so successful.”

In 2017, Smartlane launched the first AI-based software to help logistics companies run their transportation operations more efficiently. In 2019, the software won the AI Award and Smartlane was thus named Europe’s best start-up in this field. By 2022, Monja Mühling is expecting sales in the eight-figure range. “What our company is creating with Informatics and AI is insane,” she says. “Our goal is to become the world’s leading provider of transportation intelligence.”

Looking back, Monja Mühling would do everything exactly the same way again. Being an entrepreneur is exactly the right choice for the self-confident and ambitious young woman. “I always wanted to assume a decisive role in my profession and use my ideas to really make a difference,” she says. For her, the greatest incentive is to see that her passionate commitment has a direct impact on the success of the company — and could sooner or later have an impact on the global economy. “As an employee in a large corporation, that wouldn’t be possible. Starting a business was the perfect fit to achieve that.”

On Wednesday, December 1, 2021, Monja Mühling will speak as an expert at the event “Mobility Start-ups for Liveable and Diverse Cities”. The event will be held in English. More information and registration here.
TUM Alumna Monja Mühling.

Monja Mühling (Picture: Smartlane).

Monja Mühling

Bachelor Management & Technology 2012, Master 2015

After graduating from high school, Monja Mühling moved to Munich to study Management & Technology. Alone in a foreign city, the native of Odenwald was thrilled to discover TUM’s mentoring program. She is still friends with the students from back then. A TUM scholarship made it possible for her to spend a semester abroad in Chile.

Barely three months after Monja Mühling finished her master’s degree at TUM, she co-founded the start-up Smartlane with TUM Alumni Dr. Mathias Baur and Florian Schimandl. As Managing Director, she has played a decisive role in the company’s success. Currently, the start-up is focusing on transport optimization in the logistics industry. But also the global transport network, including air and sea traffic, could benefit from the software in the future. Monja Mühling likes to take a visionary approach, while always remaining realistic.

The company is her “third baby”. Her husband, a pilot, significantly contributes to Monja Mühling’s ability to develop her career to the fullest. But nothing is more important than her two little daughters. In spite of how fulfilling her job is, they are the most important thing in the life of this successful entrepreneur.

TUM Alumni Florian Schimandl, Monja Mühling und Dr. Mathias Baur.

An der UnternehmerTUM lernten sich die TUM Alumni Florian Schimandl, Monja Mühling und Dr. Mathias Baur (v.l.n.r.) zufällig kennen und es hat gleich zwischen ihnen gefunkt. Nur kurze Zeit später gründeten sie das Start-up Smartlane. Monja Mühling hatte nie geplant, zu gründen. Heute ist sie die Geschäftsführerin des Unternehmens (Bild: Smartlane).

Alumni gründen
Gründerin Monja Mühling
„Ich wollte schon immer mit eigenen Ideen etwas spürbar verändern“
28. Jul 2021  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Nach ihrem wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Studium an der TUM hatte Alumna Monja Mühling zahlreiche Einstiegsangebote bekannter Unternehmen. Doch dann entschied sie sich für die Gründung eines eigenen Unternehmens. Ein Schritt, den sie nie bereute.
Bereits in der Schulzeit war für Monja Mühling klar, dass sie die Grundprinzipien der Betriebswirtschaft kennenlernen möchte, aber nur in Kombination mit einer technischen Seite. Der Studiengang der Technologie- und Managementorientierten Betriebswirtschaftslehre an TUM kam ihr sehr entgegen. Für ihr Studium zog sie aus dem Odenwald nach München.

DREH- UND ANGELPUNKT TUM

Im Rahmen ihrer Masterarbeit an der UnternehmerTUM lernte Monja Mühling die beiden TUM Alumni Mathias Baur (Promotion Informatik 2015) und Florian Schimandl (Diplom Informatik 2006) kennen. Diese waren gerade im Begriff, ein eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen. Basierend auf der Dissertation von Mathias Baur sollten mithilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz Prozesse im Bereich Mobilität und Verkehr optimiert werden.

Die Algorithmen für das ambitionierte Vorhaben waren bereits ausgeklügelt. Doch den beiden Informatikern fehlte noch ein dritter Mitstreiter mit betriebswirtschaftlicher Expertise. Monja Mühling kam da gerade richtig. Sie war von der Gründungsidee sofort begeistert und konnte fachlich und menschlich bei Mathias Baur und Florian Schimandl punkten. 2015 gründeten die drei TUM Alumni ihr Start-up Smartlane (deutsch: intelligente Fahrspur). „Durch meine Praktika hatte ich eigentlich schon tolle Jobs in Aussicht“, sagt Monja Mühling. „Aber ich sagte mir: wenn nicht jetzt gründen, wann dann.“

Man ist nie auf alles vorbereitet. Aber die TUM gab mir viele Werkzeuge mit auf den Weg.

Monja Mühling

In der UnternehmerTUM, Europas größtem Zentrum für Gründung und Innovation, fand das Gründerteam einen ausgezeichneten Sparringspartner. Die Seminare des KICKSTART-Programms für unternehmerische Qualifizierung nutzten die drei intensiv. Von der Pike auf lernten sie dort, wie der perfekte Businessplan aussieht und wie man ihn vor Geldgebern richtig präsentiert. Auch in Fragen des Patenrechts wurden sie geschult. In den anderen teilnehmenden Gründerteams fanden sie Gleichgesinnte und ein wertvolles Netzwerk für die Zukunft.

FÜR DEN ERNSTFALL GERÜSTET

Heute befindet sich das Unternehmen auf der Überholspur und ist nur noch im Großkundensegment unterwegs. Und das geht zu guten Teilen auf Monja Mühlings Ehrgeiz und Engagement zurück. Sie leistete einen wichtigen Teil zur strategischen Weiterentwicklung des Produkts und der Zielgruppe. Hatten ihre Mitgründer ursprünglich den Bereich der Verkehrstechnik im Blick, so konnte Monja Mühling die noch relativ analoge Logistikbranche als ungleich erfolgversprechendere Marktlücke definieren. Als einzige Betriebswirtin im Unternehmen baute sie von Anfang an den gesamten Bereich Finanzierung, Buchhaltung, Vertrieb und Marketing auf. Sie führte Kundengespräche und Verhandlungen mit Investoren und konnte großen Geldgebern wie dem bekannten TV-Investor Frank Thelen Millionen entlocken.

Dass ihr all das so gut gelang, rechnet Monja Mühling vor allem der hohen Praxisnähe in der Lehre der TUM zu. Regelmäßig konnte sie hier von den eingeladenen Größen aus der freien Wirtschaft, etwa von Siemens-Manager Joe Kaeser, alle Tricks und Kniffe lernen. Auch durch die Seminare zu spezifischen Entrepreneurship-Themen und Verhandlungsstrategien an der UnternehmerTUM fühlte sie sich für ihre Aufgaben bestens gewappnet. „Man ist nie auf alles vorbereitet“, sagt sie. „Auf alles andere bereiteten mich die TUM und die UnternehmerTUM perfekt vor. Ich kann mein Wissen im Unternehmen täglich eins zu eins umsetzen.“

FREIRAUM FÜR VISIONEN

Monja Mühling erwarb an der TUM weit mehr als wertvolles Fachwissen. Im anspruchsvollen Studium wurden auch ihr Durchhaltevermögen und ihr Wille zum Erfolg bestärkt – Eigenschaften, die sie heute in ihrem Unternehmen in großen Maßstäben denken und die nötigen Risiken mit kühlem Kopf eingehen lassen. „Herausforderungen meistern und das Unmögliche möglich machen, das ist meine Devise“, sagt sie. „Das lebe ich und das leben wir im Team. Und deswegen sind wir so erfolgreich.“

2017 brachte Smartlane die erste KI-basierte Software auf den Markt, die Logistikunternehmen dabei unterstützt, ihr Transportwesen effizienter zu gestalten. 2019 wurde die Software mit dem AI-Award und Smartlane damit als Europas bestes Start-up in diesem Bereich ausgezeichnet. Bis zum Jahr 2022 erwartet Monja Mühling einen Umsatz im zweistelligen Millionen-Bereich. „Was wir im Unternehmen mit Informatik und KI auf die Beine stellen, ist der Wahnsinn“, sagt sie. „Wir wollen der weltweit führende Anbieter von Transportintelligenz werden.“

Rückblickend würde Monja Mühling heute alles wieder genauso machen. Unternehmerin zu sein, ist für die selbstbewusste und ambitionierte junge Frau genau das Richtige. „Ich wollte im Beruf schon immer eine entscheidende Rolle einnehmen und mit eigenen Ideen etwas spürbar verändern“, sagt sie. Für sie ist es der größte Ansporn, zu sehen, dass ihr passionierter Einsatz direkte Auswirkungen auf den Erfolg des Unternehmens hat – und auf kurz oder lang auf die Weltwirtschaft haben kann. „Als Angestellte in einem großen Konzern wäre das nicht möglich. Die Gründung war hierfür das perfekte Modell.“

TUM Alumna Monja Mühling.

Monja Mühling (Bild: Smartlane).

Monja Mühling

Bachelor TUM-BWL 2012, Master 2015

Nach dem Abitur zog Monja Mühling für ihr Studium der Technologie- und Managementorientierten BWL nach München. Allein in einer fremden Stadt war die gebürtige Odenwälderin begeistert vom Mentoring-Angebot der TUM. Mit den Studierenden von damals ist sie heute noch befreundet. Mit einem Stipendium der TUM war es ihr möglich, das Auslandsemester in Chile zu verbringen.

Knapp drei Monate nachdem Monja Mühling ihren Master an der TUM beendete, gründete sie mit den TUM Alumni Dr. Mathias Baur und Florian Schimandl das Start-up Smartlane. Als Managing Director ist sie entscheidend am Erfolg des Unternehmens beteiligt. Aktuell ist das Start-up im Bereich der Transportoptimierung in der Logistikbranche tätig. Aber auch das weltumspannende Transportnetzwerk inklusive Flug- und Schiffsverkehr könnte in Zukunft von der Software profitieren. Monja Mühling denkt gerne visionär, bleibt dabei aber stets realistisch.

Die Firma ist für sie das „dritte Baby“. Ihr Mann, ein Pilot, trägt nicht unerheblich dazu bei, dass sich Monja Mühling beruflich vollends entfalten kann. Doch nichts steht über ihren beiden kleinen Töchtern. Bei aller Erfüllung im Job sind sie das wichtigste im Leben der erfolgreichen Gründerin.