TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri in his lab at the Politecnico di Milano.

During his stay at TUM, TUM Ambassador Professor Dr. Matteo Maestri received key impetus for his research on Chemical Catalysis. His project has since been funded twice by the European Research Council (ERC) (photo: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).

Alumni doing research
TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri
“My multicultural network is one of the greatest blessings of my profession”
20. May 2022
Reading time Min.
In his laboratory at the Politecnico di Milano, TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri is doing research on chemical processes. He is equally dedicated to helping the next generation of scientists to network.
Chemical Engineering has a long tradition in Prof. Dr. Matteo Maestri’s family. His grandfather, father and older brother all have degrees in the subject. “Already as a child, I found science and the observation and understanding of natural phenomena exciting,” Matteo Maestri says. “Particularly the transformation processes of chemical substances.”

TRENDSETTING RESEARCH

For almost fifteen years, Matteo Maestri has been conducting research at the Politecnico di Milano. His research domain is Catalysis, and thus the precise configuration of the potentials, the rate and the development of chemical reactions.

The chemical process engineering of catalysis is of central importance to society and affects our daily lives. Catalytic oxidation is for example used in vehicle silencers to reduce noise and lower nitrogen dioxide levels. Chemical catalysis will also play a decisive role in the transition to renewable energies and the development of new production processes for the sustainable use of energy resources. It can be used to convert hydrocarbons into hydrogen and thus to develop fuels that are energy-efficient and conserve resources.

TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri in front of the Operando Raman Apparatus he developed.

With the help of what is known as the Operando Raman Apparatus, TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri can analyze catalytic processes more effectively. Chemical Catalysis is of vital importance for the transition to renewable energies (photo: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).

With the help of what is known as the Operando Raman Apparatus, TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri can analyze catalytic processes more effectively. Chemical Catalysis is of vital importance for the transition to renewable energies (photo: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).
VIBRANT SCIENTIFIC COMMUNITY

In addition to his great passion, Chemistry, interpersonal relationships hold great importance in Matteo Maestri’s life. He is grateful for the professional and human inspiration he draws from his daily work with his team and students at the Politecnico di Milano. He also emphasizes the added value he has been able to gain from his collaborations with researchers at universities in the U.S. and Germany as a visiting researcher. Quite a few of them are now among his circle of friends. “This multicultural network that I have been able to build over the years in different parts of the world is one of the greatest blessings of my profession,” he says.

My stay at TUM played a crucial role in the development of my research program.

It was his enthusiasm for scientific exchange that led Matteo Maestri to TUM. In 2011, he came to Munich for six months as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow. His stay was beneficial in more ways than one. Matteo Maestri found it enriching to be able to work with TUM’s experts in the field of Chemical Catalysis, with his host Prof. Dr. Karsten Reuter, as well as with Prof. Dr. Olaf Hinrichsen and Prof. Dr. Johannes Lercher. To this day, these scientists are among his important contacts in the international Chemistry community.

Collaborating with them gave Matteo Maestri key impetus for directing his research focus. The scientists included kinetic simulations in their investigations. By coupling spectroscopy and kinetic measurements with the help of what is known as the Operando Raman Apparatus, catalytic processes can now be analyzed more effectively. “My stay at TUM played a crucial role in the development of my research program,” Matteo Maestri says. “It was a cornerstone for my further scientific career at the Politecnico di Milano.”

EXTRAORDINARY COMMITMENT

In 2021, Matteo Maestri received the honorary title of TUM Ambassador from TUM President Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann. The award also acknowledges his commitment to the cooperation between the two universities, for example in the framework of the European Talent Academy. This academy, which was organized by TUM Brussels for the first time in 2020/2021, provides young researchers with an ideal platform to get connected with the European research landscape and network.
At the academy’s events, Matteo Maestri is all passion for informing people about the benefits of a strong network – and sets an inspiring example with his scientific successes. He considers the education and support of young people to be one of the main duties of his profession. “It is a joy to see young students develop into professional scientists and engineers,” he emphasizes. “I, too, am constantly developing along with them.”

TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri.

Matteo Maestri (Picture: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).

Prof. Dr. Matteo Maestri

TUM Ambassador 2021

 

In 2004, Matteo Maestri graduated from the Politecnico di Milano with a Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering. In 2008, he completed a PhD in Industrial Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. Since 2019, he has been Professor of Chemical Engineering at his alma mater, conducting research on Catalysis and Kinetics, Multiscale Modeling, and Chemical Reaction Engineering. The passionate chemist places great importance on scientific collaborations across countries and disciplines. He was a visiting scientist at the University of Delaware, USA and at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin. Here, he conducted research together with Prof. Dr. Karsten Reuter as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow. When Reuter moved to TUM, Matteo Maestri joined him in Munich to continue his research at the TUM Catalysis Research Center.
Matteo Maestri has received several awards for his pioneering research and has won a considerable number of fellowships and grants. Most recently, he was awarded the Proof of Concept Grant by the European Research Council. In 2021, he was given the honorary title of TUM Ambassador by TUM President Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann. For Matteo Maestri, family and friends are very important in his life. In his free time, he enjoys sports and playing the piano.

TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri in seinem Labor am Politecnico di Milano.

Durch seinen Aufenthalt an der TUM bekam TUM Ambassador Professor Dr. Matteo Maestri entscheidende Impulse für seine Forschung zur chemischen Katalyse. Mittlerweile wurde sein Projekt bereits zweimal durch den Europäischen Forschungsrat (ERC) gefördert (Bild: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).

Alumni forschen
TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri
„Mein multikulturelles Netzwerk ist eine der größten Segnungen meines Berufs“
20. Mai 2022
Lesezeit ca. Min.
In seinem Labor am Politecnico di Milano forscht TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri an chemischen Prozessen. Mit der gleichen Hingabe setzt er sich für die Vernetzung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses ein.
Chemieingenieurwesen hat in der Familie von Prof. Dr. Matteo Maestri eine lange Tradition. Sein Großvater, sein Vater und sein älterer Bruder haben einen Abschluss in diesem Fach. „Wissenschaft und das Beobachten und Verstehen von Naturphänomenen fand ich schon als Kind spannend“, sagt Matteo Maestri. „Chemische Umwandlungsprozesse von Stoffen faszinierten mich hierbei besonders.“

ZUKUNFTSWEISENDE FORSCHUNG

Seit fast 15 Jahren forscht Matteo Maestri am Politecnico di Milano. Seine Forschungsdomäne ist die Katalyse, und damit die maßgenaue Ausgestaltung der Potentiale, der Geschwindigkeit und der Entwicklung chemischer Reaktionen.

Die chemische Verfahrenstechnik der Katalyse ist von zentraler Bedeutung für die Gesellschaft und prägt unser tägliches Leben. So wird etwa katalytische Oxidation bei Schalldämpfern in Fahrzeugen eingesetzt, um eine Geräuschreduzierung und niedrigere Stickstoffdioxidwerte zu erreichen. Bei der Energiewende und der Entwicklung neuer Produktionsverfahren zur nachhaltigen Nutzung von Energieressourcen wird die chemische Katalyse eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Durch sie kann Kohlenwasserstoff zu Wasserstoff umgewandelt und damit ein ressourcenschonender und energieeffizienter Treibstoff entwickelt werden.

TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri vor dem von ihm entwickelten Operando Raman Apparat.
Mithilfe seines sogenannten Operando Raman Apparates kann TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri katalytische Prozesse besser analysieren. Chemische Katalyse ist von grundlegender Bedeutung bei der Energiewende (Bild: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).
LEBENDIGE WISSENSCHAFTSCOMMUNITY

Neben seiner großen Passion, der Chemie, nehmen in Matteo Maestris Leben zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen einen hohen Stellenwert ein. Er ist dankbar für die fachliche und menschliche Inspiration, die er durch die tägliche Arbeit mit seinem Team und seinen Studierenden am Politecnico di Milano erfährt. Er betont auch den Mehrwert, den er als Gastwissenschaftler an Universitäten in den USA und in Deutschland aus seiner Zusammenarbeit mit den dortigen Forschenden ziehen konnte. Nicht wenige von ihnen zählen heute zu seinem Freundeskreis. „Dieses multikulturelle Netzwerk, das ich im Laufe der Jahre in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt aufbauen konnte, ist eine der größten Segnungen meines Berufs“, sagt er.

Der Aufenthalt an der TUM spielte eine entscheidende Rolle für die Entwicklung meines Forschungsprogramms.

Seine Begeisterung für den wissenschaftlichen Austausch führte Matteo Maestri auch an die TUM. 2011 kam er für sechs Monate mit einem Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stipendium nach München. Sein Aufenthalt war ein mehrfacher Gewinn. Als bereichernd fand es Matteo Maestri, dass er mit den Experten in Sachen chemischer Katalyse an der TUM, mit seinem Gastgeber Prof. Dr. Karsten Reuter sowie mit Prof. Dr. Olaf Hinrichsen und Prof. Dr. Johannes Lercher zusammenarbeiten konnte. Die Wissenschaftler zählen bis heute zu seinen wichtigen Kontakten in der internationalen Chemie-Community.

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen erhielt Matteo Maestri entscheidende Impulse für die Ausrichtung seines Forschungsschwerpunktes. Die Wissenschaftler bezogen kinetische Simulationen in ihre Untersuchungen ein. Durch die Kopplung von Spektroskopie und kinetischen Messungen mithilfe eines sogenannten Operando Raman Apparates können katalytische Prozesse nun noch besser analysiert werden. „Der Aufenthalt an der TUM spielte eine entscheidende Rolle für die Entwicklung meines Forschungsprogramms“, sagt Matteo Maestri. „Er war ein Grundstein für meine weitere wissenschaftliche Karriere am Politecnico di Milano.“

ÜBERDURCHSCHNITTLICHES ENGAGEMENT

2021 wurde Matteo Maestri von TUM-Präsident Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann der Ehrentitel TUM Ambassador verliehen. Die Auszeichnung würdigt auch sein Engagement für die Zusammenarbeit beider Universitäten, so etwa im Bereich der European Talent Academy. Die im Jahr 2020/2021 erstmals von TUM Brussels organisierte Akademie bietet jungen Forscherinnen und Forschern eine Plattform, um sich in der europäischen Forschungslandschaft bestens vernetzen zu können.

Matteo Maestri informiert auf den Veranstaltungen der Akademie voller Leidenschaft über die Vorteile eines starken Netzwerks – und gibt dafür mit seinen wissenschaftlichen Erfolgen ein inspirierendes Beispiel ab. Die Ausbildung und Förderung junger Menschen betrachtet er als eine der Hauptaufgaben seines Berufes. „Es ist eine Freude, die Entwicklung junger Studierender zu professionellen Naturwissenschaftlerinnen und Ingenieuren zu sehen“, betont er. „Auch ich entwickle mich mit ihnen zusammen ständig weiter.“

TUM Ambassador Matteo Maestri.

Matteo Maestri (Bild: Lia Tagliavini / Politecnico di Milano).

Prof. Dr. Matteo Maestri

TUM Ambassador 2021

 

2004 absolvierte Matteo Maestri am Politecnico di Milano den Master in Chemical Engineering. 2008 schloss er seine Promotion in Industrial Chemistry and Chemical Engineering ab. Seit 2019 ist er an seiner Alma Mater Professor für Chemical Engineering und forscht an Katalyse und Kinetik, Mehrskalenmodellierung und chemischer Reaktionstechnik. Wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit über Länder- und Disziplingrenzen hinweg sind für den passionierten Chemiker von großer Bedeutung. Er war Gastwissenschaftler an der University of Delaware, USA und am Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin. Als Alexander-von-Humboldt-Fellow forschte er dort gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr. Karsten Reuter. Als dieser an die TUM wechselte, ging Matteo Maestri mit nach München, um seine Forschungen am TUM Zentralinstitut für Katalyseforschung fortzuführen.

Für seine zukunftsweisende Forschungstätigkeit wurde Matteo Maestri mehrfach ausgezeichnet und mit einer beachtlichen Anzahl an Stipendien und Fördermitteln unterstützt. Zuletzt erhielt er vom Europäischen Forschungsrat den Proof of Concept Grant. 2021 wurde ihm von TUM-Präsident Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann der Ehrentitel TUM Ambassador verliehen. Familie und Freunde sind Matteo Maestri sehr wichtig in seinem Leben. In seiner Freizeit treibt er gerne Sport und spielt Klavier.