TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel during a lecture at HAW Hamburg.

For ten years, TUM Alumna Professor Dr. Kerstin Prechel has worked in management positions in the field of Marketing and Product Management. Here, it was primarily the human element, guiding and helping young people in their development that brought her happiness. As a professor, she can now devote herself fully to this rewarding and challenging task (photo: Jonas Fischer / HAW Hamburg).

Alumni doing research
Professor Kerstin Prechel
“If I am able to encourage just one woman, I have already achieved my goal”
13. May 2022  |  
Reading time Min.
TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel worked her way up to international management, to being a professor and an entrepreneur. And she did so even though neither her parents nor her grandparents went to university. Now her goal is to encourage others to follow in her footsteps.
Kerstin Prechel’s school years were not defined by the question of what she wanted to be when she grew up. They were dominated by the uncertainty of whether she would be able to afford the next class trip. The support offered to children from socially disadvantaged families was not helpful. It made Kerstin Prechel feel even more discriminated against and stigmatized. “Instead of embarrassing myself in front of my class by saying that I had to rely on such help, I would rather not go on the trip,” she recalls.

The class teacher advised Kerstin Prechel not to go to secondary school. She would probably not be able to cope there, she was told. A few years later, Kerstin Prechel graduated from high school without having to study very hard. Nobody in her environment thought that she could also go to university. But Kerstin Prechel took the plunge. When choosing a subject, she consciously decided against her affinities for philosophy and literature and opted for Business Administration and International Management. It was to be a degree program that would give her the most targeted path to a secure financial future.

THE COURAGE TO DO A DOCTORATE

The pragmatically chosen course of study proved to be just what it had promised. Her first job as a marketing manager at a technology company in Hamburg gave Kerstin Prechel her first chance to catch her breath when it came to money. She immediately plucked up the courage to make more room in her life for her true interests. She no longer wanted to just deliver results in marketing as quickly and efficiently as possible, but wanted to engage in questions of business ethics with scientific depth. So she embarked on a doctorate, which she completed under Prof. Dr. Christoph Lütge at TUM’s Peter Löscher Chair of Business Ethics. However, at the same time she continued to work full time as a research assistant at the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University and at Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron-Forschungszentrum. A double load that required a lot from her, but brought her a bit closer to her dream.

She impressed with her good work, and her doctoral adviser increasingly involved Kerstin Prechel in research projects on Ethics and Artificial Intelligence. As a result, she was called upon more and more frequently to give lectures as an expert in this field. To this day, she is doing research in a DFG project led by Professor Dr. Petra Ahrweiler, who is a member of TUM’s Scientific Advisory Board of the Institute for Ethics in AI.

You can meet many inspiring women from the TUM Community at these events:

Women of TUM online Afterwork – Against all Odds: How to become a Professor

Workshop/Seminar,Online

Thriving in your career despite structural disadvantages and persistently pursuing your passions regardless of hurdles and challenges.

Recognizing and Conquering Impostor Syndrome

Workshop/Seminar,Online

How to overcome self-doubt and celebrate yourself and your achievements

THE JOY OF BEING A MENTOR

After finishing her doctorate at TUM, Kerstin Prechel worked in management positions with listed companies. In 2019, she started her own consultancy and was appointed Deputy Professor of Business Administration at the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences. In 2021, she was called to Duale Hochschule Schleswig-Holstein to become a professor. A dream had thus come true for Kerstin Prechel: She is now able to pass on her extensive knowledge in the fields of Business Administration, Project Management, Organizational Management and Business Ethics to her students. She considers it a great joy when she also succeeds in being a mentor and role model for them, encouraging them and making them believe in themselves.

On Wednesday, the 24th of August 2022, Kerstin Prechel will talk about equal opportunities and the ups and downs of her career at a Women of TUM event. She will offer personal advice on how to make a career even if one’s path is full of obstacles and stumbling blocks. “If I am able to encourage just one woman here, I have already achieved my goal,” Kerstin Prechel says.

TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel at the University Future Festival of the AI-Campus.

Her doctoral adviser at TUM increasingly involved TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel in research projects on Ethics and Artificial Intelligence. Today, she is considered an expert in this field. The picture shows her at the University Future Festival of the AI Campus (photo: Hochschulforum Digitalisierung).

TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel.

Kerstin Prechel (Picture: private).

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Prechel

Doctorate Business Ethics 2014

 

From 2002 to 2004, Kerstin Prechel studied Marketing at the University of North Carolina in Wilmington/USA with a DAAD and Fulbright scholarship. In 2005, she earned a diploma in Business Administration and International Management at Hochschule Bremen. In 2014, she successfully completed her part-time doctorate in Business Ethics at TUM.


For ten years, Kerstin Prechel has worked for international companies in management positions in the fields of Marketing and Product Management. She was a research assistant and lecturer at the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University, the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, the Fachhochschule Nordakademie Elmshorn and FOM University of Applied Sciences for Economics & Management. It has always been working with people that made her particularly happy. In 2019, she started her own consulting company for Business Ethics in Theory and Practice. In the same year, she was appointed Deputy Professor for Business Administration in Public Administration, International Marketing and Business Ethics at the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW). Since 2021, Kerstin Prechel has been Professor of Project Management, Organization and Key Competencies at Duale Hochschule Schleswig-Holstein.


Kerstin Prechel is a member of the KI-ExpertLab at Hochschullehre at FernUni Hagen and a Fellow of the AI-Campus, a project funded by the German Ministry of Education and Research to strengthen AI competencies through innovative, online learning opportunities.


Together with her two cats and her Great Dane puppy, Ke
rstin Prechel recently moved into a house with a garden very close to her parents. As they get older, she wants to support them more.

TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel bei einer Vorlesung an der HAW.

Zehn Jahre lang arbeitete TUM Alumna Professorin Dr. Kerstin Prechel in Führungspositionen im Bereich Marketing und Produktmanagement. Es war hierbei vor allem der menschliche Aspekt, die Anleitung und Weiterentwicklung junger Menschen, die sie glücklich machten. Als Professorin kann sie sich dieser lohnenden und herausfordernden Aufgabe nun voll und ganz widmen (Bild: Jonas Fischer / HAW Hamburg).

Alumni forschen
Professorin Kerstin Prechel
„Wenn ich nur einer Frau Mut machen kann, habe ich mein Ziel schon erreicht“
13. Mai 2022  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.
TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel arbeitete sich in internationale Führungsposten, zur Professorin und zur Unternehmerin empor. Und das, obwohl weder ihre Eltern noch ihre Großeltern studiert hatten. Nun ist es ihr Ziel, anderen Mut zu machen, es ihr nachzutun.
Die Schulzeit von Kerstin Prechel war nicht von der Frage bestimmt, was sie später einmal werden wollte. Sie war von der Ungewissheit geprägt, ob sie sich die nächste Klassenfahrt leisten könnte. Die Förderangebote für Kinder aus sozial benachteiligten Familien waren nicht hilfreich. Durch sie fühlte sich Kerstin Prechel erst recht diskriminiert und stigmatisiert. „Statt mir vor meiner Klasse die Blöße zu geben, dass ich auf diese Hilfe angewiesen bin, wäre ich eher nicht mitgefahren“, erinnert sie sich.

Die Klassenlehrerin riet Kerstin Prechel vom Gymnasium ab. Sie wäre dort wohl überfordert, hieß es. Ein paar Jahre später absolvierte Kerstin Prechel ihr Abitur, ohne viel lernen zu müssen. Keiner aus ihrem Umfeld dachte daran, dass sie auch noch studieren könnte. Trotzdem wagte es Kerstin Prechel. Bei der Wahl des Studienfachs entschied sie sich bewusst gegen ihre Neigungen Philosophie und Literatur und für Betriebswirtschaftslehre und internationales Management. Es sollte ein Studiengang sein, der ihr möglichst zielgerichtet den Weg in eine abgesicherte finanzielle Zukunft ermöglichte.

MUT ZUR PROMOTION

Das pragmatisch gewählte Studium hielt, was es versprach. Schon mit ihrem ersten Job als Marketing-Managerin in einem Hamburger Technologieunternehmen konnte Kerstin Prechel in Sachen Geld erstmals durchatmen. Sogleich fasste sie den Mut, nun doch auch ihren wirklichen Interessen in ihrem Leben mehr Platz einzuräumen. Sie wollte nicht mehr nur möglichst schnell und effizient Resultate im Marketing liefern, sondern sich in wissenschaftlicher Tiefe mit Fragen der Wirtschaftsethik beschäftigen. So nahm sie die Promotion in Angriff, die sie bei Prof. Dr. Christoph Lütge am Peter Löscher-Stiftungslehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsethik der TUM anfertigte. Gleichzeitig aber arbeitete sie in Vollzeit weiter als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg und beim Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron-Forschungszentrum. Eine Doppelbelastung, die ihr zwar viel abverlangte, sie aber ihrem Traum ein Stück näherbrachte.

Ihre gute Arbeit überzeugte und ihr Doktorvater band Kerstin Prechel zunehmend in Forschungsprojekte zu Ethik und Künstlicher Intelligenz ein. So wurde sie immer häufiger als Expertin in diesem Bereich zu Vorträgen geladen. Bis heute ist sie Forscherin in einem DFG-Projekt um Professorin Dr. Petra Ahrweiler, die Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Instituts für Ethik in der KI der TUM ist.

Noch mehr inspirierende Frauen aus der TUM Community treffen Sie bei diesen Veranstaltungen:

Against all Odds: How to become a Professor

Webinar,Online

Wie man trotz struktureller Benachteiligung Karriereziele verwirklicht und seinen Leidenschaften ungeachtet von Hindernissen und Herausforderungen nachgeht.

Dein erstes Semester an der TUM: Herausforderungen und Erkenntnisse

Podiumsdiskussion/Forum,Online

Aktuelle TUM Studentinnen und Coaches teilen Erfahrungen und Tipps für den erfolgreichen Start ins Unileben

Coach Nina Feustel-Durst (Foto: Marek Beier)
Coach Nina Feustel-Durst (Foto: Marek Beier)
Wartelistenplätze verfügbar
24 Nov

Gruppencoaching Impostor-Phänomen

Workshop/Seminar,Online

Erarbeite deinen ganz individuellen Weg zur Überwindung von Selbstzweifeln

DAS GLÜCK, MENTORIN ZU SEIN

Nach Abschluss ihrer Promotion an der TUM arbeitete Kerstin Prechel in Führungspositionen in börsennotierten Unternehmen. 2019 gründete sie ihre eigene Beratungsfirma und wurde zur stellvertretenden Professorin für Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg ernannt. 2021 wurde sie schließlich zur Professorin an der Dualen Hochschule Schleswig-Holstein berufen. Damit ist für Kerstin Prechel ein Traum in Erfüllung gegangen: Nun kann sie ihr umfangreiches Wissen im Bereich der Betriebswirtschaftslehre, des Projektmanagements, der Organisation und Wirtschaftsethik an ihre Studierenden weitergeben. Von einem großen Glück spricht sie gerade dann, wenn es ihr gelingt, für sie auch Mentorin und Vorbild zu sein, sie zu ermutigen und an sich glauben zu lassen.

Am Mittwoch, den 24. August 2022 wird Kerstin Prechel an der TUM im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung der Women of TUM über Chancengleichheit und die Höhen und Tiefen ihrer Karriere sprechen. Sie gibt persönliche Ratschläge, wie man eine Karriere meistert, wenn der eigene Weg voller Hindernisse und Stolpersteine ist. „Wenn ich dabei nur einer Frau Mut machen kann, dann habe ich mein Ziel schon erreicht“, sagt Kerstin Prechel.

TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel auf dem University Future Festival des KI-Campus.

Durch ihren Doktorvater an der TUM wurde TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel zunehmend in Forschungsprojekte zu Ethik und Künstlicher Intelligenz eingebunden. Heute gilt sie als Expertin in diesem Bereich. Das Bild zeigt sie beim University Future Festival des KI-Campus (Bild: Hochschulforum Digitalisierung).

TUM Alumna Kerstin Prechel.

Kerstin Prechel (Bild: Privat).

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Prechel

Promotion Wirtschaftsethik 2014

 

Von 2002 bis 2004 studierte Kerstin Prechel als DAAD- und Fulbright-Stipendiatin Marketing an der University of North Carolina in Wilmington/USA. 2005 folgte das Diplom in Betriebswirtschaftslehre und internationalem Management an der Hochschule Bremen. 2014 schloss sie ihre berufsbegleitende Promotion in Wirtschaftsethik an der TUM ab.

Zehn Jahre lang arbeitete Kerstin Prechel in internationalen Firmen in Führungspositionen im Bereich Marketing und Produktmanagement. An der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg, am Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, der Fachhochschule Nordakademie Elmshorn sowie der FOM Hochschule für Ökonomie & Management war sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Dozentin tätig. Es war immer schon die Arbeit mit Menschen, die sie besonders glücklich machte. 2019 gründete sie ihr eigenes Beratungsunternehmen für Wirtschaftsethik in Theorie und Praxis. Noch im selben Jahr wurde sie zur stellvertretenden Professorin für Betriebswirtschaftslehre in der öffentlichen Verwaltung, für internationales Marketing und Business Ethics an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg (HAW) ernannt. Seit 2021 ist Kerstin Prechel an der Dualen Hochschule Schleswig-Holstein Professorin für Projektmanagement, Organisation und Schlüsselkompetenzen.

Kerstin Prechel ist Mitglied im KI-ExpertLab Hochschullehre der FernUni Hagen und Fellow des KI-Campus, einem vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Projekt zur Stärkung von KI-Kompetenzen durch innovative, digitale Lernangebote.

Erst kürzlich ist Kerstin Prechel samt ihren beiden Katzen und ihrem Deutsche-Dogge-Welpen in ein Haus mit Garten ganz in der Nähe ihrer Eltern gezogen. Diese möchte sie im Alter mehr unterstützen.