TUM alumnus Dr. Jan Goetz in front of a quantum computer.

TUM alumnus Dr. Jan Goetz aims to make supercomputers even faster with his start-up’s quantum technology. Supercomputers can perform over a trillion arithmetic operations per second. A quantum computer, however, could work a hundred billion times faster. That would represent a true quantum leap forward for research and industry (Picture: IQM).

Alumni start-ups
Entrepreneur Jan Goetz
“I swapped my academic career for a start-up career overnight”
28. Jul 2022  |  
Reading time Min.
A global race has broken out over the future of supercomputing. TUM alumnus Jan Goetz is right at the front of the pack. His start-up has assembled the largest team of the foremost quantum computing hardware experts in Europe. His studies at TUM gave him both specialist knowledge and the necessary entrepreneurial skills.
TUM alumnus Dr. Jan Goetz has lofty ambitions. He wants to solve one of the world’s largest technological challenges: creating usable quantum computers. In addition, he aims to make Europe competitive in the global race to develop quantum technology. With this in mind, the passionate physicist founded a start-up and is now well on the way to achieving his goals.
Supercomputers have become indispensable in both scientific and commercial settings. They enable us to investigate the origins of the universe, predict earthquakes, weather and the climate, detect untapped oil and gas reserves, and simulate crash tests. Nevertheless, the complexity of some tasks remains too high even for supercomputers. These include finding optimizations in the fields of financial management, transport, and logistics. Simulations to accelerate the discovery of new active ingredients in drug development have also become stretched to their limits.
Quantum technology could offer a solution. While supercomputers take years to perform the calculations required for such tasks, quantum computers could complete them in seconds and consume less energy in the process. Theoretically. In practice, however, quantum computers that are ready for series production and suitable for practical applications are still a long way off. Jan Goetz hopes to change that.

THE BEST DECISION

While studying technical physics at TUM, Jan Goetz developed an interest in quantum technology. Born in Germany’s Rhineland region, he completed his thesis project at the Walther Meißner Institute for Low Temperature Research, focusing on quantum circuits under the supervision of Professor Rudolf Gross. He continued studying under Gross for his doctorate in superconducting quantum processors. After that, Goetz headed to Aalto University in Helsinki for postdoctoral study. He continued his research at the university’s Quantum Computing and Devices (QCD) laboratory together with Professor Mikko Möttönen.
Back then, Goetz was aiming to launch a professorial career. Möttönen, however, asked him whether he would be willing to head up a new company. The spin-off would aim to lead promising quantum technology from lab-based research to practical applications. On the spur of the moment, Jan Goetz agreed. “In doing so, I swapped my academic career for a start-up career overnight,” he says. “It was the best decision I’ve made.”

IDEALLY EQUIPPED

His studies and doctorate at TUM were of fundamental importance for Goetz on his new career path as an entrepreneur. The deep scientific understanding of quantum physics he acquired at TUM has proven utterly essential in leading a company to success in this complex, future-focused field.
Furthermore, all the skills he learned while studying for his doctorate have turned out to be exactly the skills he draws on today as an entrepreneur: working independently in a complex field, tackling new problems on a daily basis, and the ability to get every member of a heterogeneous team pulling in the same direction. “I learned my trade at TUM,” he says. “It’s where I found out that my big strength is communication.”

I learned my trade at TUM.

Dr. Jan Goetz

As an entrepreneur, his day-to-day work now includes scaling and marketing the innovative hardware solutions developed by his start-up’s first-rate team of researchers. He has raised over €200 million of funding to date from public and private sources. His start-up is now building Finland’s first quantum computer.
Meanwhile, in Germany and in Munich specifically, Jan Goetz continues to lead the way. A quantum computer developed by his start-up will soon be integrated into the supercomputer at the Leibniz Supercomputing Center (LRZ) in Garching, significantly accelerating future scientific research.

INVESTMENT IN THE FUTURE

The project at the LRZ is a major stepping stone in establishing Munich Quantum Valley. As one of the founding institutions, TUM has a crucial role to play in this project. Centered around the joint Munich Center for Quantum Science and Technology cluster of excellence, TUM has teamed up with LMU to launch a Master’s program in Quantum Science and Technology. The TUM Institute for LifeLong Learning is currently developing a globally unique advanced qualification program on quantum technologies aimed at specialists and managers from the industrial sector. And, together with the TUM Center for Quantum Engineering, which has received funding from federal and state governments, it is hoped that research projects will be turned into market-ready projects even faster in future.

Jan Goetz also plays a part in this by teaching courses in the TUM Quantum Venture Lab. “I would like to pass my knowledge and experiences on to the next generation of quantum engineers and entrepreneurs,” he says. “I’m also hoping that this will enable me to get to know exceptionally well-educated quantum experts and offer them a route to our company once they complete their studies or obtain their doctorate.”

TUM alumnus Jan Goetz.

Jan Goetz (Picture: private).

Dr. Jan Goetz

Diploma in Physics 2011, PhD in 2016

 

Jan Goetz moved from Neuss to Munich for his studies. At TUM, he studied technical physics with a focus on low-temperature physics and energy science. He then gained his doctorate from the TUM Chair of Technical Physics for his work on superconducting quantum processors. He spent his post-doctoral period at Aalto University in Helsinki, Finland, with a Marie Skłodowska Curie Fellowship from 2018 to 2019. Together with Prof. Mikko Möttönen, Dr. Kuan Yen Tan and Prof. Juha Vartiainen, Jan Goetz launched a start-up called IQM Quantum Computers in 2019. As the company’s CEO, TUM alumnus Jan Goetz has set himself the target of bringing quantum computers to market maturity. The company now has more than 180 employees and has locations in Espoo, Munich, Paris and Madrid. In 2019, Jan Goetz was named a Digital Leader at the World Economic Forum. In 2021, he was appointed a Board Member of the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency, and a Member of the Governing Board of the European Quantum Industry Consortium.


Jan Goetz goes running at least twice per week to bring a sense of balance to his stressful day-to-day life. He finds it has a meditative effect. Apart from that, he enjoys spending time outdoors whenever possible, usually on hikes. Goetz often goes backpacking with his friends through Lapland or the Alps for days at a time. Recently, he scaled several 4000m peaks in the Atlas Mountains. He says it clears his mind and gives him strength.

TUM Alumnus Dr. Jan Goetz vor einem Quantencomputer.

Mit der Quantentechnologie seines Start-ups will TUM Alumnus Dr. Jan Goetz Supercomputer noch schneller machen. Diese können pro Sekunde über eine Trillion Rechenoperationen durchführen. Ein Quantencomputer könnte hundert Billionen mal schneller arbeiten. Das würde einen wahren Quantensprung für die Forschung und die Industrie bedeuten (Bild: IQM).

Alumni gründen
Gründer Jan Goetz
„Über Nacht tauschte ich meine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn gegen eine Start-up-Karriere“
28. Jul 2022  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Weltweit ist ein Wettlauf um die Zukunft des Höchstleistungsrechnens entbrannt. TUM Alumnus Jan Goetz ist ganz vorne mit dabei. In seinem Start-up hat er europaweit das größte und führende Team von Hardware-Experten für Quantencomputer vereint. Sein Studium an der TUM gab ihm das Fachwissen und die nötigen unternehmerischen Fähigkeiten mit auf den Weg.
TUM Alumnus Dr. Jan Goetz hat sich viel vorgenommen. Er will eine der größten technologischen Herausforderungen weltweit lösen: die Herstellung nützlicher Quantencomputer. Zudem will er Europa im globalen Wettrennen um die Quantentechnologie konkurrenzfähig machen. Hierzu gründete der passionierte Physiker ein Start-up, mit dem er auf dem besten Weg dazu ist, diese Ziele zu erreichen.

Sowohl im wissenschaftlichen als auch im kommerziellen Bereich sind Hochleistungsrechner nicht mehr wegzudenken. Mit ihnen kann die Entstehung des Universums untersucht werden, können Erdbeben, das Wetter und das Klima vorhergesagt, Öl- und Gasvorkommen entdeckt und Crashtests simuliert werden. Doch selbst Supercomputer können an der Komplexität bestimmter Aufgaben scheitern. Hierzu zählen Optimierungsaufgaben in der Finanzwirtschaft, im Verkehr und in der Logistik. Auch Simulationen zur beschleunigten Auffindung neuer Wirkstoffe in der Medikamentenentwickelung stoßen bisher immer wieder an Grenzen.

Die Quantentechnologie könnte hier die Lösung bieten. Während Supercomputer Jahre zur Berechnung entsprechender Aufgaben benötigen würden, könnten sie von Quantencomputern in Sekunden und noch dazu mit weniger Energieverbrauch gelöst werden. Theoretisch. Doch in der Praxis sind Quantencomputer, die zur Produktionsreife und damit zur tatsächlichen anwendungsbezogenen Nutzung gebracht werden können, noch Zukunftsmusik. Und das will Jan Goetz ändern.

DIE BESTE ENTSCHEIDUNG

Seit seinem Studium der technischen Physik an der TUM beschäftigt sich Jan Goetz mit der Quantentechnologie. Am Walther-Meißner-Institut für Tieftemperaturforschung absolvierte der gebürtige Rheinländer bei Professor Dr. Rudolf Gross seine Diplomarbeit über Quantenschaltkreise. Im Anschluss daran promovierte er bei ihm zu supraleitenden Quantenprozessoren. Für seinen Postdoc ging er an die Aalto University nach Helsinki. Am Quantum Computing and Devices-Labor der Universität trieb er gemeinsam mit seinem Professor Dr. Mikko Möttönen die Forschungen weiter voran.

Jan Goetz wollte eigentlich eine Professorenlaufbahn einschlagen. Doch Mikko Möttönen fragte ihn, ob er nicht eine Ausgründung leiten wolle. Mit dem Spin-off sollte die zukunftsträchtige Quantentechnologie ihren Weg aus dem Labor und hin zur praktischen Anwendung finden. Jan Goetz sagte spontan zu. „Damit tauschte ich meine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn über Nacht gegen eine Start-up-Karriere“, sagt er heute. „Das war die beste Entscheidung, die ich treffen konnte.“

BESTENS GEWAPPNET

Das Studium und die Promotion an der TUM waren für den neuen Karriereweg als Unternehmer von grundlegender Bedeutung. Das tiefe wissenschaftliche Verständnis für die Quantenphysik, das er sich hier aneignen konnte, ist unabdingbar, um auf dem komplexen Zukunftsfeld ein Unternehmen zum Erfolg zu führen.

Zudem stellten sich all die Fähigkeiten, die er im Rahmen seiner Promotion gelernt hatte, als eben die notwendigen Skills dar, die er nun als Unternehmer braucht: das selbstständige Arbeiten in einem komplexen Umfeld mit täglich neuen Problemen und die Fähigkeit, ein heterogenes Team auf einen Nenner zu bringen. „An der TUM lernte ich mein fachliches Handwerk“, sagt er. „Hier fand ich heraus, dass meine große Stärke die Kommunikation ist.“

An der TUM lernte ich mein Handwerk.

Dr. Jan Goetz

Als Unternehmer ist es nun sein Tagesgeschäft, die innovativen Hardware-Lösungen, die von den hochkarätigen Forscherinnen und Forschern des Start-ups entwickelt werden, zu skalieren und zu vermarkten. Bisher holte er über 200 Millionen Euro aus öffentlichen und privaten Fördermitteln ein. Nun baut sein Start-up Finnlands ersten Quantencomputer.

Und auch in Deutschland und speziell in München ist Jan Goetz ganz vorne mit dabei. So wird ein Quantencomputer des Unternehmens demnächst in den Höchstleistungsrechner des Leibniz-Rechenzentrums (LRZ) in Garching integriert, um wissenschaftliche Forschung künftig signifikant beschleunigen zu können.

INVESTITION IN DIE ZUKUNFT

Das Projekt am LRZ leistet einen großen Beitrag beim Aufbau des sogenannten Munich Quantum Valley. Als eine der Gründungseinrichtungen ist die TUM an diesem Vorhaben maßgeblich beteiligt. Rund um den gemeinsamen Exzellenzcluster Munich Center for Quantum Science and Technology rief sie gemeinsam mit der LMU bereits den Masterstudiengang Quantum Science and Technology ins Leben. Das TUM Institute for LifeLong Learning entwickelt derzeit ein weltweit einzigartiges Weiterqualifizierungsprogramm für Fach- und Führungspersonen aus der Wirtschaft im Bereich der Quantentechnologien. Und mit dem von Bund und Bayern geförderten TUM Center for Quantum Engineering sollen Forschungsprojekte künftig noch schneller in marktfähige Produkte überführt werden.

Und auch hier bringt sich Jan Goetz ein und gibt Kurse im TUM Quantum Venture Lab. „Ich möchte mein Wissen und meine Erfahrungen an die nächste Generation von Quanteningenieuren und Unternehmerinnen weitergeben“, sagt er. „Durch diese Tätigkeit erhoffe ich mir auch, mehr hervorragend ausgebildete Quantenexperten kennenzulernen, die nach ihrem Studium oder der Promotion ihren Weg zu uns in die Firma finden.“

TUM Alumnus Jan Goetz.

Jan Goetz (Bild: Privat).

Dr. Jan Goetz

Diplom Physik 2011, Promotion 2016

 

Für sein Studium zog Jan Goetz von Neuss nach München. Hier studierte er an der TUM Technische Physik mit Schwerpunkt Tieftemperaturphysik und Energiewissenschaften. Am TUM-Lehrstuhl für Technische Physik promovierte er daraufhin zu supraleitenden Quantenprozessoren. Seine Postdoktorandenzeit verbrachte er an der Aalto University im finnischen Helsinki, von 2018 bis 2019 mit einem Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Fellowship. Gemeinsam mit seinem Professor Dr. Mikko Möttönen sowie mit Dr. Kuan Yen Tan und Prof. Juha Vartiainen startete Jan Goetz im Jahr 2019 das Start-up IQM Quantum Computers. Als CEO des Unternehmens hat es sich TUM Alumnus Jan Goetz zum Ziel gemacht, Quantencomputer zur Marktreife zu bringen. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt mittlerweile mehr als 180 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter und verfügt über Geschäftsstellen in Espoo, München, Paris und Madrid. 2019 wurde Jan Goetz auf dem World Economic Forum zum Digital Leader gekürt. Seit 2021 ist er Board Member des European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency sowie Member of the Governing Board des European Quantum Industry Consortium.

Um einen Ausgleich in seinen stressigen Arbeitsalltag zu bekommen, versucht Jan Goetz mindestens zweimal pro Woche Laufen zu gehen. Das hat für ihn einen meditativen Effekt. Ansonsten entflieht er immer wieder gerne in die Natur, meistens wandernd. Mit seinen Freunden macht er öfter mehrtägige Rucksacktouren durch Lappland oder durch die Alpen. Neulich bestieg er im Atlas-Gebirge gleich mehrere Viertausender. Das macht den Kopf frei und gibt ihm Kraft, so sagt er.