Alumni start-ups
Entrepreneur Florian Prucker
“The really good ideas can’t be forced”
TUM Alumni Florian Prucker.
15. Oct 2021  |  
Reading time Min.

Florian Prucker is co-founder of the start-up Scalable Capital. The TUM Alumni does not want to replace people with modern technology. He wants to provide them with more time for the essentials (photo: Scalable Capital / Fabian Zapatka).

TUM Alumni Florian Prucker started his career at the world’s largest stock exchanges. Since 2014, he has been the CEO of one of Europe’s leading Fintech companies. His degree in Management & Technology (TUM-BWL), coupled with optimism and a willingness to take risks, has been his key to success.
Already as a high school student, Florian Prucker got a taste of entrepreneurship working for a software start-up. In his studies, he wanted to follow his interest in entrepreneurship and his fascination for electronics. The range of courses in Management & Technology at TUM was exactly what he had been looking for. Relocating to Munich paid off for the Tyrolean native. “The program was a perfect fit,” he says. “In addition, TUM has a fantastic reputation.”

Florian Prucker still feels shaped by his time as a student and that his horizons have been expanded. He enjoyed the international flair at TUM and the lively exchange with his fellow students. He was particularly enthusiastic about the entrepreneurship lectures by TUM professor Dr. Dr. Ann-Kristin Achleitner. “She encouraged us to start our own businesses,” he recalls. “And she invited great speakers from the private sector who shared all the tricks of the trade when it came to entrepreneurship and venture capital financing. To this day, I’m still reaping the benefits and have a better assessment of volatile situations.”

AND SOMETHING CLICKS

After completing his studies, Florian Prucker initially went into the private sector as a banker. He built a career in Munich, New York, Frankfurt and London. As Vice President of the global investment banking and securities trading firm Goldman Sachs, he was most recently involved in setting up a pan-European electronic trading platform for private investors.

Over the years, Florian Prucker and his colleagues Adam French and Erik Podzuweit, as well as his former professor Stefan Mittnik, felt a growing desire to start their own company and the idea behind it became more and more tangible. “A founding idea has to develop,” says Florian Prucker. “The really good ideas can’t be forced, they just emerge and at some point something clicks.” In 2014, the time had come: the four financial experts launched the start-up Scalable Capital.

START-UP IDEA IMPLEMENTED IN A SHORT TIME

With remarkable success the entrepreneurs were able to turn their founding idea into reality after only a short time. With their low-threshold wealth management app, they intend to reach the general population. “We want people to take their money into their own hands and invest it – without bureaucratic and technical hurdles, and in the case of the brokerage service launched in 2020, even without any order fees,” Florian Prucker explains. “For just a few euros a month, anyone is able to make provisions for their retirement with us. We have created the Netflix of investing.”

You learn the most when you jump in at the deep end and just try it.

Florian Prucker enables private investors to make savings online with just a few clicks and intuitively using their own cell phones. As Co-CEO, he is responsible for product and technology. Even though he is no longer coding himself, he knows exactly what he is talking about when discussing with software engineers. “TUM equipped me with the technical expertise and the right mindset needed here,” he says. “I believe that Management & Technology at TUM is specifically designed to ensure that innovative transfers are successful.”

OFF INTO THE DEEP END

Florian Prucker is perfectly happy with his company. He does exactly what he loves doing and what makes sense to him. And he and his comrades-in-arms are quite successful at it. The start-up now has over five billion euros on its platform. As a fast-growing neo-broker and by far the largest provider of digital asset management, it is one of the biggest in Europe.

Only recruiting could be a little better. While the company is able to bring in top bankers Florian Prucker would like to hire more young people who fresh out of university. However, he says, they prefer to work for established large companies rather than a comparatively young start-up – even though it is precisely here that valuable insights into all areas of the company can be gained. “Be more curious and willing to take risks!” is the TUM Alumni’s advice to young talent. “You learn the most when you jump in at the deep end and just try it.”

TUM Alumni Florian Prucker.

Picture: Scalable Capital/Fabian Zapatka

Florian Prucker

Diploma Management & Technology (TUM-BWL) 2008

Between 2003 and 2008, Florian Prucker studied Management & Technology at TUM. After receiving his degree, he worked in Finance for more than eight years in Munich, New York, Frankfurt and London, most recently as Vice President at Goldman Sachs. In 2014, he and three fellow investors established the Fintech company Scalable Capital.

Florian Prucker is married and father to two little girls who keep him quite busy. He likes to spend his free time in the mountains with his family. Depending on the season, skiing, mountain climbing or swimming are on the agenda.

Alumni gründen
Gründer Florian Prucker
„Die richtig guten Ideen kann man nicht erzwingen“
TUM Alumnus Florian Prucker.
15. Okt 2021  |  
Lesezeit ca. Min.

Florian Prucker ist Mitgründer des Start-ups Scalable Capital. Mit der modernen Technologie will der TUM Alumnus keinesfalls den Menschen ersetzen. Er will ihm mehr Zeit für das Wesentliche schenken (Bild: Scalable Capital / Fabian Zapatka).

TUM Alumnus Florian Prucker startete seine Karriere an den größten Börsenplätzen der Welt. Seit 2014 ist er Geschäftsführer eines der führenden Fintech-Unternehmen Europas. Das Studium der TUM-BWL, gepaart mit Risikobereitschaft und Optimismus, war sein Schlüssel zum Erfolg.
Schon als Gymnasiast schnupperte Florian Prucker Unternehmerluft in einem Software-Start-up. Im Studium wollte er seinem Interesse am Unternehmertum und seiner Faszination für Elektronik nachfolgen. Das Studienangebot der Technologie- und Managementorientierten Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der TUM war dafür genau richtig. Der Umzug nach München lohnte sich für den gebürtigen Tiroler voll und ganz. „Der Studiengang passte perfekt“, sagt er. „Dazu hat die TUM einen super Ruf.“

Von seiner Studienzeit fühlt sich Florian Prucker bis heute geprägt und in seinem Horizont erweitert. Er genoss das Klima der Internationalität an der TUM und den regen Austausch mit seinen Kommilitonen. Besonders begeistert war er von den Vorlesungen zum Thema Entrepreneurship von TUM-Professorin Dr. Dr. Ann-Kristin Achleitner. „Sie ermutigte uns zum Gründen“, erinnert er sich. „Und sie lud tolle Rednerinnen und Redner aus der freien Wirtschaft ein, die mit uns alle Tricks und Kniffe in Sachen Unternehmertum und Risikokapitalfinanzierung teilten. Bis heute zehre ich davon und kann brisante Situationen besser einschätzen.“

UND ES HAT KLICK GEMACHT

Nach seinem Studium ging Florian Prucker zunächst als Banker in die freie Wirtschaft. In München, New York, Frankfurt und London machte er Karriere. Als Vice President des global tätigen Investmentbanking- und Wertpapierhandelsunternehmens Goldman Sachs begleitete er zuletzt den Aufbau einer paneuropäischen elektronischen Handelsplattform für Privatanleger.

Über die Jahre wurde in Florian Prucker und seinen Kollegen Adam French und Erik Podzuweit sowie dessen ehemaligem Professor Stefan Mittnik der Wunsch nach einem eigenen Unternehmen immer stärker und die Idee dahinter immer konkreter. „Eine Idee zur Gründung muss sich entwickeln“, sagt Florian Prucker. „Die richtig guten Ideen kann man nicht erzwingen, sie kommen einfach und irgendwann macht es Klick.“ 2014 war es soweit: Die vier Finanzexperten gründeten das Start-up Scalable Capital.

GRÜNDUNGSIDEE IN KURZER ZEIT UMGESETZT

Ihre Gründungsidee konnten die Unternehmer schon nach kurzer Zeit mit bemerkenswertem Erfolg in die Realität umsetzen. Mit ihrer niederschwelligen App zur Vermögensverwaltung wollen sie die breite Bevölkerung erreichen. „Wir wollen, dass die Menschen ihr Geld selbst in die Hand nehmen und anlegen – ohne bürokratische und technische Hürden, und mit dem 2020 gestarteten Brokerage-Angebot sogar ohne Ordergebühren“, erklärt Florian Prucker. „Für wenige Euro im Monat kann bei uns jeder für sein Alter vorsorgen. Wir haben das Netflix der Geldanlage geschaffen.“

Am meisten lernt man, wenn man ins kalte Wasser springt und einfach etwas ausprobiert.

Dass das digitale Sparen für Privatanleger mit wenigen Klicks und intuitiv über das eigene Handy möglich ist, dafür sorgt Florian Prucker. Als Co-CEO zeichnet er verantwortlich für die Bereiche Produkt und Technologie. Auch wenn er heute selbst keinen Code mehr schreibt, weiß er in den Diskussionen mit Softwareingenieuren ganz genau wovon er spricht. „Die TUM gab mir hierfür die fachliche Expertise und das richtige Mindset mit auf den Weg“, sagt er. „Ich glaube, dass die TUM-BWL eigens so angelegt ist, dass innovative Transfers gelingen.“

AB INS KALTE WASSER

Florian Prucker ist mit seinem Unternehmen rundum glücklich. Er macht genau das, was er gerne macht und was für ihn sinnvoll ist. Und dabei sind er und seine Mitstreiter ziemlich erfolgreich. Mittlerweile hat das Start-up über fünf Milliarden Euro auf seiner Plattform. Als schnell wachsender Neo-Broker und mit Abstand größter Anbieter für digitale Vermögensverwaltung ist es eines der ganz großen in Europa.

Etwas besser laufen könnte es nur im Recruiting. Zwar kann sich das Unternehmen Top-Banker an Bord holen. Gleichwohl wünscht sich Florian Prucker mehr Nachwuchs, der frisch aus der Uni kommt. Doch dieser steige lieber in etablierten großen Unternehmen als in einem vergleichsweise jungen Start-up ein – und das, obwohl gerade hier wertvolle Einblicke in alle Unternehmensbereiche zu holen wären. „Seid risikobereiter und neugieriger!“, rät der TUM Alumnus in diesem Sinne dem Nachwuchs. „Am meisten lernt man, wenn man ins kalte Wasser springt und einfach etwas ausprobiert.“

TUM Alumnus Florian Prucker.

Bild: Scalable Capital / Fabian Zapatka.

Florian Prucker

Diplom TUM-BWL 2008

Von 2003 bis 2008 studierte Florian Prucker Technologie- und Managementorientierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der TUM. Über acht Jahre lang war er nach Abschluss seines Diploms in München, New York, Frankfurt und London im Finanzbereich tätig, zuletzt als Vice President bei Goldman Sachs. 2014 gründete er mit drei Mitstreitern das Fintech-Unternehmen Scalable Capital.

Florian Prucker ist verheiratet und Vater zweier kleiner Mädchen, die ihn ganz schön auf Trab halten. Seine Freizeit verbringt er mit seiner Familie gerne in den Bergen. Je nach Saison stehen Skifahren, Bergsteigen oder Baden auf dem Programm.