TUM Alumni Fabiola Munguia and Grigory Emelianov.

Already back in their student days, TUM Alumni Fabiola Munguia and Grigory Emelianov worked on projects together and realized how well they got along and complemented each other. The same was true when they established their start-up. Three years from now, they want to be the world's leading provider of cybersecurity and compliance (Picture: private).

Alumni start-ups
Entrepreneur Fabiola Munguia
“Growing from challenges is what I love”
18. Oct 2021
Reading time Min.
Fabiola Munguia always wanted to set up her own company. In her quest for entrepreneurship, TUM acted as a catalyst and door opener. With her start-up, the TUM Alumna is declaring war on the increase in cybercrime.
Fabiola Munguia comes from a family of entrepreneurs. From a young age, the native Salvadoran was able to observe all the stages, positive and negative, of her parents’ business. “Entrepreneurship is in my blood,” she says. “When I had the opportunity to start my own business, I didn’t have to think twice about it.”

Even before she completed her studies in Management & Technology at TUM, Fabiola Munguia had already established her own start-up. Her online marketplace for cybersecurity came at just the right time. Because the crime rate in this area is increasing rapidly, especially in this time of the global Corona pandemic. The more business sectors are moving online, the more people are becoming aware of the importance of a secure technical infrastructure.

TRANSPARENT MARKETPLACE FOR HACKERS

In Germany alone, cyberattacks cause fifty billion euros in damage every year. To avoid giving criminal hackers a chance, companies need to hire ethical hackers, known as pentesters. These try to hack into their IT systems. If they fail, the company’s cybersecurity is working. If they succeed, the company can then close the security gap in the app or network that was identified in this way.

The TUM Community played a crucial role in our success.

Fabiola Munguia

Companies are facing the problem of finding white-hat hacking companies that are trustworthy in the first place. This is precisely what Fabiola Munguia and her co-founder and fellow TUM Alumnus Grigory Emelianov (Master Management 2020) wanted to solve with their first product, a marketplace for ethical hackers (booking.com for good hackers).

Additionally, the TUM Alumni realized there is a much bigger problem arising for small and medium-sized businesses around the globe. The usual methods for preparing for an ISO 27001 compliance audit are time-consuming, cost-intensive and error-prone. Thus Fabiola Munguia and Grigory Emelianov extended their current product to build their own software, which will help companies become secure and ISO 27001 compliant in weeks instead of months.

CATALYST AND DOOR OPENER

It was a TechChallenge, a hackathon hosted by UnternehmerTUM, the leading center for innovation and founding at TUM, in which Fabiola Munguia participated, that gave the vital impetus to start the company. “I was so motivated and inspired to build things, and so excited about how quickly you can create solutions to problems,” she says. “The TechChallenge motivated me to set up my own business.”

And in August 2019, the time had come. Together with Grigory Emelianov, Fabiola Munguia launched the start-up Requestee (today: Secfix). Through the Xpreneurs program of UnternehmerTUM, TUM’s leading center for innovation and business creation, many doors opened for the two young entrepreneurs. They landed their first customers and consultants, with whom they continue to work today. “Munich is a start-up ecosystem in which everyone knows everyone else,” says Fabiola Munguia. “But it is difficult for foreign founders to build their own network. The TUM Community played a crucial role in our success. Having a direct line to TUM and its students is a privilege.”

OFF TO CONQUER THE WORLD

With their all-in-one platform they have succeeded in making the tedious process of becoming secure and compliant “as easy as ordering a pizza,” as Fabiola Munguia describes it. “We’re building a new way of automating compliance and security that no one has ever seen before.”

The fledgling company is in greater demand than ever before. The start-up has already grown up to ten employees, and recently raised a six-figure pre-seed round from renowned investors, including the founders of hotel.de. The passionate entrepreneur soon wants to conquer the markets in the USA and Israel, which are so important for cybersecurity.” In three years, we want to be the world’s leading marketplace for cybersecurity,” Fabiola Munguia says.” I love challenges, especially when they are really hard to overcome. They motivate me and help my personal growth.”

TUM Alumna Fabiola Munguia

Picture: Private.

Fabiola Munguia

Master Management & Technology 2020

 

After Fabiola Munguia completed her bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and Management at Hanover University of Applied Sciences and Arts in 2018, she wanted to consolidate her knowledge in Business Administration and supplement it with technological expertise. She moved to Munich to study Management & Technology at TUM. In 2020, she graduated here.

Just before that, she had already established the start-up Secfix with TUM Alumni Grigory Emelianov. The two entrepreneurs help companies automate IT security and compliance within weeks instead of months. In her free time, Fabiola Munguia enjoys surfing. To pursue her hobby, she sometimes works remotely on Fuerteventura.

TUM Alumni Fabiola Munguia und Grigory Emelianov.

Schon während ihrer Studienzeit arbeiteten die TUM Alumni Fabiola Munguia und Grigory Emelianov an gemeinsamen Projekten und erkannten, wie gut sie sich verstehen und ergänzen. So war es auch bei der Gründung ihres Start-ups. In drei Jahren wollen sie der weltweit führende Anbieter für Cybersicherheit und Compliance sein (Bild: Privat).

Alumni gründen
Gründerin Fabiola Munguia
„Ich liebe es, an Herausforderungen zu wachsen“
18. Okt 2021
Lesezeit ca. Min.
Gründen wollte Fabiola Munguia schon immer. Die TUM fungierte als Katalysator und Türöffner auf dem Weg zum Unternehmertum. Mit ihrem Start-up sagt die TUM Alumna der wachsenden Cyberkriminalität den Kampf an.
Fabiola Munguia stammt aus einer Unternehmerfamilie. Von klein auf konnte die gebürtige Salvadorianerin alle Phasen, positive wie negative, des elterlichen Unternehmens miterleben. „Das Unternehmertum liegt mir im Blut“, sagt sie. „Als ich die Möglichkeit hatte, selbst zu gründen, dachte ich nicht zweimal darüber nach.“

Noch bevor sie ihr Studium der Technologie- und Managementorientierten Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der TUM abschloss, gründete Fabiola Munguia das eigene Start-up. Ihre Marktplatz-Plattform für Cybersecurity kam genau zur richtigen Zeit. Denn die wachsende Kriminalität in diesem Bereich wächst rapide an, gerade in Zeiten der weltweiten Corona-Pandemie. Je mehr Unternehmensbereiche ins Digitale verlegt werden, desto größer wird das Bewusstsein für den Stellenwert einer sicheren technischen Infrastruktur.

TRANSPARENTER MARKTPLATZ FÜR HACKER

Allein in Deutschland richten Cyberattacken jährlich einen Schaden in Höhe von fünfzig Milliarden Euro an. Um kriminellen Hackern keine Chance zu bieten, müssen Unternehmen ethische Hacker, Pentester oder White-Hat-Hacker genannt, engagieren. Diese versuchen, sich in das IT-System einzuhacken. Gelingt dies nicht, funktioniert die Cybersecurity des Unternehmens. Gelingt dies, kann das Unternehmen die so identifizierte Sicherheitslücke in der App oder im Netzwerk schließen.

Die TUM Community trug entscheidend zu unserem Erfolg bei.

Fabiola Munguia

Unternehmen stehen vor dem Problem, von vornherein vertrauenswürdige White-Hat-Hacking-Unternehmen zu finden. Genau das wollten Fabiola Munguia und ihr Mitgründer und Fellow TUM Alumnus Grigory Emelianov (Master Management 2020) mit ihrem ersten Produkt lösen; einem Marktplatz für ethische Hacker (booking.com für gute Hacker).

Darüber hinaus erkannten die TUM Alumni, dass für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen weltweit ein viel größeres Problem besteht. Die üblichen Methoden zur Vorbereitung auf ein ISO 27001 Compliance Audit sind zeitaufwendig, kostenintensiv und fehleranfällig. So erweiterten Fabiola Munguia und Grigory Emelianov ihr aktuelles Produkt, um ihre eigene Software zu entwickeln, die Unternehmen helfen wird, in Wochen statt Monaten sicher und ISO 27001-konform zu werden.

KATALYSATOR UND TÜRÖFFNER

Den entscheidenden Impuls zur Gründung gab eine TechChallenge, ein Hackhathon der UnternehmerTUM, dem führenden Zentrum für Innovation und Gründen an der TUM, an dem Fabiola Munguia teilnahm. „Ich war so motiviert und inspiriert, Dinge zu bauen, und so begeistert davon, wie schnell man Lösungen für Probleme schaffen kann“, sagt sie. „Die TechChallenge hat mich motiviert, mein eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen.“

Im August 2019 war es dann soweit. Gemeinsam mit Grigory Emelianov gründete Fabiola Munguia das Start-up Requestee (heute: Secfix). Durch das Xpreneurs-Programm der UnternehmerTUM, dem führenden Zentrum für Innovation und Gründung der TUM, wurden den beiden jungen Unternehmern viele Türen geöffnet. Sie gewannen ihre ersten Kunden und ihre Berater, mit denen sie bis heute zusammenarbeiten. „München ist ein Startup-Ökosystem, in dem jeder jeden kennt“, sagt Fabiola Munguia. „Doch für ausländische Gründer ist es schwierig, sich ein eigenes Netzwerk aufzubauen. Die TUM Community trug entscheidend zu unserem Erfolg bei. Der direkte Draht zur TUM und ihren Studierenden ist ein Privileg.“

DIE WELT EROBERN

Mit ihrer All-in-One-Plattform ist es Fabiola Munguia und Grigory Emelianov gelungen, den mühsamen Prozess der Sicherheit und Compliance „so einfach wie die Bestellung einer Pizza“ zu machen, wie Fabiola Munguia es beschreibt. „Wir entwickeln eine neue Art der Automatisierung von Compliance und Sicherheit, die noch niemand zuvor gesehen hat.“

Das junge Unternehmen ist so gefragt wie nie zuvor. Auf zehn Mitarbeitende ist das Start-up bereits angewachsen. Und kürzlich wurde eine sechsstellige Pre-Seed-Runde von namhaften Investoren, darunter die Gründer von hotel.de, eingeworben. In großen Schritten will die leidenschaftliche Unternehmerin bald auch die für Cybersecurity so wichtigen Märkte in den USA und in Israel erobern. „In drei Jahren wollen wir der weltweit führende Marktplatz für Cybersicherheit sein“, sagt Fabiola Munguia. „Ich liebe Herausforderungen, besonders wenn sie wirklich schwer zu bewältigen sind. Sie motivieren mich und helfen mir, persönlich zu wachsen.“

TUM Alumna Fabiola Munguia.

Bild: Privat

Fabiola Munguia

Master Management & Technology 2020

 

Nachdem Fabiola Munguia 2018 an der Hochschule Hannover ihren Bachelor in Business Administration and Management abgeschlossen hatte, wollte sie ihr betriebswirtschaftliches Wissen vertiefen und um Technologiekenntnisse erweitern. Sie zog nach München, um an der TUM Management and Technology zu studieren. 2020 schloss sie hier ihr Studium ab.

Kurz zuvor hatte sie mit TUM Alumnus Grigory Emelianov bereits das Start-up Secfix gegründet. Die beiden Gründer helfen Unternehmen dabei, IT-Sicherheit und Compliance innerhalb von Wochen statt Monaten zu automatisieren. In ihrer Freizeit geht Fabiola Munguia gerne surfen. Für ihr Hobby arbeitet sie auch mal von Fuerteventura aus.